Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
28,272 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

CN

13. Mai 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

VI

18. Jan. 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 8,073 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Jen S

9. Juli 2017

This is an excellent introductory course on food and health. I learned quite a bit about nutrients that I didn't know and was reminded of things that had learnt in the past and forgotten. It was an excellent companion to a lifestyle transformation I'm trying to do. It's nice having a reminder each week (by going through the course material) of why you are doing what you are doing (healthy food choices) and what you can improve. The course was not very time consuming and just easy to understand and follow. It's perfect, if you have a busy schedule and can't devote too much time on an online course. I'm now looking forward to further improving my knowledge on nutrition by attending another course on a similar topic. Perhaps another course that delves more into behaviour science and healthy eating would be a great next step after this course. Or a nutrition specialisation... Just putting it out there...

von Xin S

5. Sep. 2017

I really appreciate this course! It took me about a month to finish it and I have learned. As a Chinese, I am not really a big fan of North American's fast food and diet, but now I am living in Canada, and the eating culture does affect my life style. I do notice that usually how little vegetables in a Canadian's meal after staying here for a few years. Thanks for this course that I have a clue that how bad fast foods are, the importance of plant-based food and the negative impact of unbalanced food structure to one's life. I hope more and more people can realize the truth of processed food. The most that I have learned from this course is the golden rule: 1/2 plant-based food, 1/4 protein and 1/4 rice or noodle. I have tried it for probably two weeks and it works for me. I have lost some weights and feeling better:) I have also learned how to cook some great dishes! Thanks Maya.

von Loyce B

16. Aug. 2021

I learned a lot in this class. I took it to see if this is going to be the right new post retirement career path for me. Yes, I am retired but it's in my DNA to help others through volunteerism. I teach diabetes classes at the community women's center in my neighborhood and I want to include the importance of making healthy food choices. If I am better equipped with food and nutrition knowledge and information, I can share accurate and current ways to make healthier choices which can ultimately lead to better controlled diabetes numbers. I do know that eating healthier is just one of many things that diabetics need to do to control diabetes. I am also a diabetic. Thanks again for this class. I will definitely be looking at the food and health curriculum to start planning the classes I need to take to be successful as a nutrition and community healthcare advocate.

von dongmei d

13. Apr. 2022

This is the very first online course that I have completed. In the past couple of years, I started a few courses on Coursear but not able to finish them for this or that reasons. So from this course, I've learned something important in choosing online courses. First it should be something you are really interested, something you want to know more instead of that you think you should know more. Secondly it should be fun and easy while carrying important yet straightforward messages. Luckily I found this course that fits the criteria almost oerfectly. I enjoyed it so much that I finished the whole course in less than a week. More importantly, what I learned in this course changed the way I think about food and health. I have not only talked about the 7-word principles of healthy eating with my friends and family members, but also started to practise it in my kitchen.

von Kevin C

16. Mai 2016

This course is extremely well made! I am enjoying it very much! I'm personally using it for a review of nutritional principles and basics and this course is FILLED with wonderfully clear and visually captivating video lectures cut into shorter 4-5 minute lectures! This course is probably meant to be taken over a months time, but It's SO Captivating that I can't get enough and be through it in a few days at most! Thank you for putting this course online for everyone to take, learn and enjoy! I'm going to recommend it to my whole online nutrition course at my university for an excellent review of basic and key nutritional concepts! It will certainly leave a lasting impression on my further nutritional studies.

von Carmen C

23. Juni 2020

First and foremost, although it might seem simplistic, this course is so well taught and so informative that I have found again my love for real food. Since losing weight has been a primary goal for a few years now, I tried the “all or nothing” sort of diet. I had joined a gym where I was given a diet that was so strict where all I could eat were certain types of food, etc. I soon realized that I had no fun eating and I would dread the next bland meal. Having taken this course has taught me the value and importance of having a nutritious meal. I am so happy to have found Coursera. I cannot thank you enough for putting this information together. It is so worth every second of my time spent.

von Adegoke I

26. Apr. 2022

I am grateful for the privilege given to me, to learn this course. I am a Chef, I knew I need to enhance my knowledge by knowing more about food. I don't just want to cook but I want to make a difference by incorporating healthy meals into my choice of food preparation and that of my clients.

I learnt about how food was modified as a result of more women moving into the labour force, hence the consumption of processed food is on the increase. I look forward to more courses related to health from this great platform.

Thank you Coursera! Thank you my instructor! Thank you stanford University!

von Holly H

29. Aug. 2020

Michael Pollan's 7 words: EAT FOOD, NOT TOO MUCH, MOSTLY PLANTS totally simplies the current confusion around what to eat and how to construct your diet: keto?, paleo?, vegetarian?, etc. This course take a complex subjects and simplifies it and presents the most basic stepping stones. I feel that by following those 7 simple words and seeing processed foods for wrihat they are: profit makers for large companies - I can avoid processed foods, focus on whole foods & NUTRITION and enjoy my food experiences. No more second guessing every food choice I make!!!

von Victor B M d S

25. Apr. 2022

I just love it! Easy to do in a fast routine, the videos are amazing, you really can learn even if you don't know to much about nutrition. The teachers made a great job in this course. Thanks so much, for all the information.

von Rocks L

5. Dez. 2019

This is really nice course and sach a amazing information about nutrition . This is one part of nutrition . Its a good knowledge about food and nutrition field . Thanks coursera for provide this course .

von Sharon R

13. Juli 2022

learned alot on this course. Very knowledgeable and full of healthy recipes. Great way to start your goal. Along with excersice and healthy eating you are on your way to a great healthy mind and body.

von RAUL C

9. Dez. 2019

Me encantó es te curso, fue de gran ayuda, me ayudó a alimentarme mejor y nos es difícil de comprender, es muy importante tener conocimiento sobre este tema, definitivamente recomiendo el curso.

von zainab o k

30. Mai 2021

mostly people does not know the nutritional value of they eat, they just eat to fill their bellies . people should be educate on how to cook and eat right. this course was insightful

von Sumaiya i m

21. Apr. 2022

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to join with you.This course was highly beneficial for me.I request for giving me this opportunity again.And thanks again for the financial aid.

von Tran T K

6. Dez. 2019

Thank you, Doctor Maya, for this course. Every lesson is valuable and easy to practice. Everyone should join this course for better eating habits.

von Olya

25. Apr. 2022

Im grateful to all the creators! Im lucky to have accomplished the course, now i feel more powerful and aware than i used to be!

von VAIBHAV G

26. Apr. 2022

USEFUL INFORMATION FOR BETTER LIFE !.........AND OF COURSE MARKETING GIMMICKS BY FOOD COMPANIES.

von Varsha S

25. Apr. 2022

The course was simple,intersting and informative

von Carolien d P

27. Apr. 2022

This course was really helpful and informative.

von Umang T

22. Apr. 2022

simplified learning which anyone can understand

von Neil C

8. Dez. 2019

Very helpful and easy to understand.

von willem

27. Apr. 2022

Enjoyed the course

von Amrutha G

21. Apr. 2022

A very basic and simple guide to the practise of eating healthier and Developing a good relationship with food.

von Denise H

5. Okt. 2020

This class is an entry level course about nutrition, however, I was disappointed that it focused so much on moderation. I don't feel the moderation message works for people with food addiction and while I appreciate the message of avoiding processed foods, eating meals prepared with salt, sugar and oil is highly addictive. The "healthy" recipes provided featured these addictive components, with one being Nutella crepes as a breakfast for kids. The information on reading labels and buying food without labels was solid. Also, the message to make half of your smaller plate filled with vegetables was great! Why not provide recipes that support that message? Almost all the recipes were heavy on dairy, eggs, and oil with only 1 recipe having a green veggie: peas (but again topped with dairy and oil). It's well known that a diet low in fat with little to no animal protein is the diet that reduces risks of cancer, heart disease, strokes and diabetes.

von Khalida

27. Apr. 2022

3.5 Stars for me.

It was a nice course. But very basic, even for an introduction. I expected a bit more advanced level of information. Overall, it is good for someone who would like to learn, but not to spend much time working on the contents of the course. I would say, it is rather entertaining than educational, but i mean it in a nice way ))