Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
24,412 Bewertungen
7,091 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

NK

24. Feb. 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

CN

13. Mai 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 7,131 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Adegoke I

26. Apr. 2022

I am grateful for the privilege given to me, to learn this course. I am a Chef, I knew I need to enhance my knowledge by knowing more about food. I don't just want to cook but I want to make a difference by incorporating healthy meals into my choice of food preparation and that of my clients.

I learnt about how food was modified as a result of more women moving into the labour force, hence the consumption of processed food is on the increase. I look forward to more courses related to health from this great platform.

Thank you Coursera! Thank you my instructor! Thank you stanford University!

von Holly H

29. Aug. 2020

Michael Pollan's 7 words: EAT FOOD, NOT TOO MUCH, MOSTLY PLANTS totally simplies the current confusion around what to eat and how to construct your diet: keto?, paleo?, vegetarian?, etc. This course take a complex subjects and simplifies it and presents the most basic stepping stones. I feel that by following those 7 simple words and seeing processed foods for wrihat they are: profit makers for large companies - I can avoid processed foods, focus on whole foods & NUTRITION and enjoy my food experiences. No more second guessing every food choice I make!!!

von Victor B M d S

25. Apr. 2022

I just love it! Easy to do in a fast routine, the videos are amazing, you really can learn even if you don't know to much about nutrition. The teachers made a great job in this course. Thanks so much, for all the information.

von Sneha G

5. Dez. 2019

This is really nice course and sach a amazing information about nutrition . This is one part of nutrition . Its a good knowledge about food and nutrition field . Thanks coursera for provide this course .

von Poch A E

19. Okt. 2021

This course taught me a lot about the components of food! Processed and non-processed food which was the best food of all. I will be happy to spread this healthy dietary ways to my family and friends!

von Raúl C C A

9. Dez. 2019

Me encantó es te curso, fue de gran ayuda, me ayudó a alimentarme mejor y nos es difícil de comprender, es muy importante tener conocimiento sobre este tema, definitivamente recomiendo el curso.

von zainab o k

30. Mai 2021

mostly people does not know the nutritional value of they eat, they just eat to fill their bellies . people should be educate on how to cook and eat right. this course was insightful

von Sumaiya i m

21. Apr. 2022

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to join with you.This course was highly beneficial for me.I request for giving me this opportunity again.And thanks again for the financial aid.

von Tran T K

6. Dez. 2019

Thank you, Doctor Maya, for this course. Every lesson is valuable and easy to practice. Everyone should join this course for better eating habits.

von Olya

25. Apr. 2022

​Im grateful to all the creators! Im lucky to have accomplished the course, now i feel more powerful and aware than i used to be!

von VAIBHAV G

26. Apr. 2022

USEFUL INFORMATION FOR BETTER LIFE !.........AND OF COURSE MARKETING GIMMICKS BY FOOD COMPANIES.

von Varsha S

25. Apr. 2022

The course was simple,intersting and informative

von Carolien V D B

27. Apr. 2022

This course was really helpful and informative.

von Umang T

22. Apr. 2022

simplified learning which anyone can understand

von Neil C

8. Dez. 2019

Very helpful and easy to understand.

von willem

27. Apr. 2022

Enjoyed the course

von Sounak S

26. Apr. 2022

The Course content is extremely good. Only one suggestion though, some of the data that was mentioned could have been shown through graphs, tables or other infographic means.

von Amrutha G

21. Apr. 2022

A very basic and simple guide to the practise of eating healthier and Developing a good relationship with food.

von Abhishek F

26. Apr. 2022

great course to start yor fitness career.

von Naung K

22. Apr. 2022

​good n helpful.

von Laura F

7. Juni 2020

The course itself is pretty basic, but well-rounded overall. I think it is confusing to present a general course and then have the recipe/cooking section gluten-free. It may leave some people with the false sense that gluten free is superior. I think it would have been better to have the recipes a little more general and with a stronger focus on fresh foods and modeling the plating suggested in the course. The first recipe offered - gluten free crepes - could have been served rolled around berries and bananas, or at least served with some fresh fruit, rather than serving with Nutella and mentioning maple syrup as an option. It would have made more sense to fill them with applesauce, which was also mentioned, and plate with some fresh fruit drizzled with plain yogurt or something. It was interesting to look at two of the recipe videos, both of which used butter and added sugar, when the class itself recommended unsaturated fats and reducing added sugars. While I thought the information overall was good, the recipe section for week 5 seemed to send a mixed message.

von Khalida

27. Apr. 2022

3.5 Stars for me.

It was a nice course. But very basic, even for an introduction. I expected a bit more advanced level of information. Overall, it is good for someone who would like to learn, but not to spend much time working on the contents of the course. I would say, it is rather entertaining than educational, but i mean it in a nice way ))

von JOHN-CHICHI, F N

27. Apr. 2022

food and health has taught me how i can eat healthy in the aspect of eating quality food in small quantity ,it also taught how to take in foods with nutritional values(less calories and fat)... am so glade am part of this class because my knowledge foe health has really increased.................

von Juan H C

4. Mai 2018

I expected more depth in the nutrition side, like meals and drink that prevent some nutrients absortion and shouldn't be mixed with the meals providing those nutrients. But I guess it's ok for introduction.

von Эдуард Ц

28. Sep. 2021

​unscientific - almost purely motivational videos without any scientific basis or theory behind them. Professor of journalism as an expert - even more questionable. Lack of specifics - even list of products that are compared by amino acids so it's clear how to get all 9 essential from plant-based food. Finally, glycemic index doesn't lead to hunger - there are studies that prove that. Shouldn't be mentioned here.