Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
18,699 Bewertungen
5,658 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

SD
6. Aug. 2020

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

CS
26. Aug. 2019

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 5,603 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Rafaela P d A

24. Aug. 2017

Even that I haven't paid for it and that I won't have any certificate showing that I took this course, I would spraid the knowledge that I've learnt. Everything that I listen to in this course has made an impact on me and I would like to share with eveyone I know all the tips and advices about healthy food. I got now a different point of view about food. Food isn't just a thing that we eat in order to get energy, it is a delightful way of enjoying life. I'm looking forward to cook one of the Maya's recipes. Finally, I just want to thank the Stanford Univertisty and Course for letting me takes this course from my own house, in Spain.

von Shradha R

18. Jan. 2019

I think this is one course which is absolutely essential for everybody and even more so for people who intend to be more aware of the food that they are putting in their body. As a food blogger, I always share recipes and suggest to people what they should eat and therefore for me, this course has been so helpful and constructive. I love the fact that this course shares all the vital information in a very crisp, clear and simple way. The fact that they are empowering and encouraging people to cook at home and providing helpful guidelines and tips to help them is commendable. Maya and Micheal have done a great job. Thanks a lot!

von Chinmoy C

22. Okt. 2019

it is a beautiful course, I stopped myself from buying a pack of kurkure (indian version of cheetos) and my wife will attest to what a great feat this is... but I expected something more in terms of chemistry and may be little equations and more medical terms that I needed to google at the end of the video. but then this was a beginner level course. However I am grateful to the team for setting up such an easy going course which is plenty in information and yet not too heavy to grasp. and kudos to Michael Pollan for writing food rules, apart from 'twinkle twinkle little star', my 2 year old is going to be reciting

von Stephen H

27. Feb. 2016

Very well presented course.

To certain degree, the concepts are basic. If you're looking for a course that explains the physiological effects of sodium or the chemical reaction of glucose, this is not it. However, it gives sensible advice about how to eat well for a healthy life.

I took away a number of good ideas. Also, the course helped me put into a wider context some things I already knew in a disjointed manner, which helped me to understand them better.

Good structure, script, presentation (including interaction between the presenters), visuals...

In summary, I feel following this course was time well spent.

von Fabio L A

4. Mai 2020

Excelente curso que fue orientado de de una manera muy especial por MAYA ADAMS, quien inspira a sus estudiantes con su compromiso y su maravillosa forma de hablar, caracterizada por la claridad en la pronunciación, presentando ideas claras y concisas que permite una asimilación por parte del estudiante, de cada tema, muy bien planeado el curso en cuanto se puede desarrollar de una manera que no sea demasiado exigente en tiempo pero a su vez permite aprendizajes muy valiosos que nos permiten cambiar nuestros hábitos alimenticios y nos llevan a tomar medidas para lograr unos habitos nutriciones saludables.

von Soña B

29. Okt. 2020

Dentro del programa que plantea,que parece sencillo,realmente destaca de forma brillante la relación entre la nutrición y la salud;sin dejar de ver los aspectos sociológicos,familiares y hasta emocionales del buen comer en todo su significado.

Ademas de lo maravilloso de las recetas que van a impulsar a mucha gente a realizarlas.

Yo ya hago muchas recetas y amo la cocina;aunque no es mi ocupación.

Y realmente tuvieron mucho que que ver mis padres y mis abuelos.

¡¡¡FELICITACIONES A POR ESTA MARAVILLOSA INICIATIVA ,Y MUY ESPECIALMENTE A PROFESORES Y A TODOS QUIENES PARTICIPARON EN LA REALIZACION DEL MISMO!!!

von Joris B

9. Aug. 2020

Hello, Many thanks for this excellent course. I was already extremely health conscious and aged 66 I have the same weight as when I was 25. I knew most of the common sense approach -Martin’s mantra- and never use processed foods but have learned much about sugar and the different types of fats, notably about trans fats and also that, in limited quantities, some saturated fats are acceptable. More info on cheese, potatoes and alcohol would have been welcome. Perhaps also whether deep frozen vegetables are more /less healthy than fresh ones. In any case, I greatly enjoyed this course. Many thanks, Joris

von Deepank D

12. Jan. 2021

Definitely made me switch to healthier alternatives of foods we generally consume. I have started eating an apple (without worrying about the sugar in it), a carrot (all that fibre really aids in maintaining my gut healthy), and a tomato every day. I'm no longer worried about overconsumption of healthy carbs (mainly homemade wheat chapati), which also keeps me satiated for a longer time. My food cravings have definitely reduced, and no kidding when I say I experience a little higher energy levels than before. A BIG thank you to Mike Pollans and Maya Adam for presenting this great course for us!!

von Tonya R

18. März 2020

Good basic course. Easy to understand.

Allowing us to self pace is critical for me. I started course before it was all opened and available so I had to stop and wait a week or two for subsequent sections to open. I'd rather have full course available from start and let me take it at my pace but within a specified period of time. Usually I can complete more in one setting and other times life means you have to start and stop and return a week later. For example the 2020 pandemic also impacted when I could finish this course. But as we isolate I will be able to take more courses Amen!

von Jovana D

7. Nov. 2016

This is a great course for someone who is just getting into the whole healthy eating thing. As someone who is familiar with Michael Pollan, (I'm a huge fan!), I didn't hear too many new things. Nevertheless, the course has a fantastic flow, it's a pleasure to listen to, and even though most of the things I was already familiar with, the course is so beautifully designed that it was great going through it again and again. Thank you Stanford University, I wish you had more courses like this, just with a bit higher level of difficulty. All the best, and good luck to the future students!

von Kameeka S

9. Juli 2018

This course was incredibly informational. The facts and information are easy to digest (pun intended :) and share. I am so excited to share what I learned with my family and friends. I love that they give you simple, actionable items and do not suggest any extreme dietary measures. I also appreciate that they do not include senseless activities, but rather simple quizzes at the end of each unit that actually challenge your understanding. The videos are very quick and easy to consume and understand. My only regret was that the course was so short and I could not learn more from them!

von Lucille C

27. Sep. 2019

In this course, I've learned about making wise and healthy decision in taking, buying, making food that is beneficial for my family and my own health. I learned that it's important to have moderation in eating, that planning is essential when buying and consuming food that will have nutritional effects on your body. I've learned that buying organic food or food with less nutritional facts is a wiser decision than opting for processed food. Most of all, preferring plant-based diet has long-term health benefits on our body, mind, and soul. Thank you Coursera and Stanford University.

von Jessica A

5. Mai 2020

I am a sophomore in high school, due to the social distancing because of coronavirus I have had more time at home. I decided to take this free course and I am so glad I did. I learned so much without feeling like it was a burden, it was very simple and easy to understand. The videos are short and I especially loe that I can complete the course at my own pace meaning I don't have to worry too much about due dates. I would totally recommend this to anyone simply interested in learning more about food and health and how to make healthier decisions when it comes to our food intake.

von Brandon C

18. Okt. 2017

loved this course, as a chiropractic assistant, who works in a naturopathic facility treating neuropathy, this course has enlightened me to the many natural and fresh foods, our patients can eat happily, while enjoying the same great tasting foods as before. Many of our patients are diabetic and we encourage a natural, fresh palio diet, low in sugar and dairy / grain consumption. I loved the idea of cooking and sharing recipes with us, toward the end of this course. Thank you very much, I am sure hundreds of thousands of others can benefit from this course, as I surely have.

von Alison L

20. Apr. 2020

This course is fantastic! I really appreciated the instructor’s passion and kindness as she teaches these the subjects. I also really enjoyed her family’s involvement in the making of the videos! It was a personal touch that made a big impact on me. I have two sons, we are pretty healthy with our eating and we make working out a priority, but we can always do better, so one of the reasons I took this course is to make sure that I am doing the best I can for them, for my husband and for myself. Thank you for putting all this together, it really helped me clarify some things!

von Inga K

14. Jan. 2020

I have immensely enjoyed this course. It is a well structured and easy-to-follow course that offers basic information needed to make more informed choices about food.

Maya Adams, M.D. is a wonderful and engaging speaker - her presetations as well as her conversations with Mr. Michael Pollan kept my attention from the beginning until the very end. The selection of recipes at the end of the course was a nice bonus.

Thank you for providing this course. I sincerely hope there will be other more in-depth courses regarding this topic.

Kind regards from Bosnia and Herzegovina,

Inga

von JOURDIN W

21. Juli 2019

Ce cours sur la santé et la nutrition me permet de savoir que la santé passe par l’assiette et l’activité physique. Avec l'acquisition de nouvelles connaissances en ce domaine j'ai fini par réaliser que les liens entre nutrition et santé sont de mieux en mieux connus, et le risque de développer de nombreuses maladies telles que: cancer, maladies cardiovasculaires, obésité ou encore de diabète de type 2, si on n'a pas équilibré et mesuré ce que nous mengeons. Ce cours me procure également des connaissances techniques, sécuritaires de préparation et de cuisson des aliments.

von Salome N L

2. Mai 2020

I think this course is a very comprehensive course on introduction to food and healthy eating. It has fantastic videos were watching one of them you can learn many things, but the fantastic thing about this course is that it teaches you the wonders of the food when you know how to take advantage of it; it teaches you that there are no excuses for an excellent diet and that isn't difficult to achieve only whit an adequate consumption of vegetables and fruits you have everything. The phrase that I like the most about this course was "Eat Food, Not too much; Mostly Plants".

von Ines A

21. Jan. 2020

I really loved the course. By the way, I am thinking of attending Standford University for more options to continue learning and studying this nutrition science. I have learned skills I have not done before. I am so happy with the job I did and the way my teacher taught the subject. I also emphasize the fact that the Doctor who is interviewed geves really interesting info for the teacher to use his knowledge as a backbone to support what she is explaining. Awesome!! Congratulations for this incredible course Standford. I would like you to have more of these in this app.

von bharathi S

8. Jan. 2021

I was always yo yo ing all the fad diets in the market. This course really helped me understand nutrition, healthy eating and how to build those healthy habits. After completing the course, I understood how easy, quick, tasty a homemade meal can be. I have started to cook and eat healthy meals because of this course. I am finally able to lose around 3kgs of weight and lost 4 inches around waist in one month of following the advice in the course. Thanks a lot for bringing this course. I am determined to be in healthy BMI by following the suggestions from this course

von Marco

8. Jan. 2019

Very well done beginner course on food and nutrition. It has four main parts. The first part does high level introduction of key scientific concepts. It is however just to give a better understanding of the topic. The other 3 parts talk a lot about practical aspects of food and nutrition including what to eat.

I definitely recommend this course as a primer for whoever is interested in the topic. As recommended in the course as follow up i also watched two moovies Fed Up and in defense of food.

To Course and instructors, thanks for letting me learn more about the topic

von Eashwar M

11. Feb. 2021

Most of it i have already heard or read in some or the other website when i was planning to loos my weight. But what i liked in it is way they are explaining the stuff, i didn't feel like attending a lecture or class, i felt like i am just listing or talking to or observing a casual conversation among people, which helped to concentrate and understand more of what they are actually talking. Finally the slow and soft background music which made the video lively and calm and stressful. Thankyou very much for this knowledge and i look forward for more courses. :)

von Blanca I M R

30. Juni 2017

I think this course is great. With simple videos and explanations we can learn about our metabolism and the right way to eat. I have just studied a course here in Mexico about Applied nutrition and this course was very helpful for explaining concepts in a simple and easy way. Is the third course I take with her and I really admire her manner, and the way she make us understand concepts. I just hope that you can offer the course with subtitles in Spanish because not everybody, specally many that could appreciate the content of the course can understand English.

von Katie M

4. Dez. 2020

I would’ve liked to learn more specifically about the different macros and the nutritional side of food but I understand it is an intro course. In that sense I feel it covered a good array of topics. The recipe videos at the end were a nice touch. Dr. Adam is a good speaker, easy to follow and listen to. I appreciated the guest speaker and what he had to share. Videos were short enough to hold your attention without getting bored and drifting off into space. I would recommend this course and would definitely watch more on this topic and with this instructor!

von Ana S A M

28. Apr. 2020

I reeeally loved that, as you said, sometimes nutritionists go with super hard and big words about nutrition, and their patients or beginners like me end up like "what?", but you, mostly at the end, talk about how to shop wisely, how to read the labels, how to choose the right food and how to cook such simple and easy and totally delicious meals... you make it look even easier. and you talk about easy and simple but useful tips that I never saw coming haha. but for sure it was also really necessary the technical part as well. definitely an awesome course ;)