Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
Sterne
28,272 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

CN

13. Mai 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

VI

18. Jan. 2021

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 8,073 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Eduard R

8. Mai 2020

Expected much more from Stanford University. The course content is more likely life-coaching, rather than scientific. My personal impression that the course content for 2020 is a matter of general knowledge and the best target auditory for the course would be the middle school. The course is nicely constructed and presented, easy to read and follow... however basically, nothing to learn about food and health.

von Sandrine R

13. Apr. 2020

Very disappointing. I do agree with the other comments mentioning that this is very surprising for Stanford and Coursera. This is really basic, basic, basic. I thought I was going to learn much more on the nutrition aspects, various vitamins, minerals, how to absorb them, how can they be fixed in the body etc. This is just very basic healthy habits probably for people living in the USA from a junk food diet.

von Jessica C

13. Juni 2020

Unfortunately, this course did not live up to my expectations. Although I did not expect the course to be challenging, since it is presented as a simple introduction to food and health, the facts and learning materials presented were inexplicably basic. This course was neither informative or engaging, and was quite frankly, a disappointing experience.

von Shradha M

28. Sep. 2020

The course is extremely basic, something which could be covered in 6th to 8th grade in school or even by a simple YouTube video. The focus is entirely on obesity, avoidance of processed and sugary foods, and a shift to home cooked meals. I had joined hoping to learn more in detail on nutrition.

von Pablo S F d S

8. Mai 2020

This course is pretty much a big comercial about eating healthy, that is actually something that maybe the world needs but certanly no with formational porpuses.

There is preatty much no information that would not be seen in the news or googleling how to eat healthy.

von Joseph L

9. Apr. 2022

This course should not be labled as nutrition. Passed the first few lessons, it's all about cooking, while it should be focused on bioenergetics and how the digestive system works.

von Deli R

12. Okt. 2020

watching this was like having teeth pulled. It is produced like a bad netflix documentary and comes across as propagandistic rather than scientific learning.

von Leyla B

23. Juni 2020

I found it to be too basic. I was expecting to go deeper and it to be more of a university level course.

von Lucy S

12. Mai 2019

Very biased view on nutrition, and not in line with latest research on sugar danger.

von Neha K

19. Okt. 2020

Ater completing the course i didn't received my certificate of course completion

von graham f

28. Nov. 2016

This has ruined my life.

von Dri

24. Apr. 2020

extremely basic

von Mercedes C

28. Aug. 2022

Quisiera felicitar a los maestros, la doctora explica muy bien y tiene una magnífica dicción y el doctor también es muy didáctico.

Creo que este curso ofrece un apoyo a nuestros conocimientos sobre la salud, la importancia de la alimentación correcta, la elección de los mejores alimentos, el reto de volver a la cocina casera, en mi país cocinar en casa es lo normal, pero hay un exceso de consumo de refrescos.

Algo que me parece que se omitió es el concepto de la pirámide alimentaria con los diferentes grupos de alimentos que debieran consumirse diariamente para estar saludables.

Se destaca el consumo de vegetales por encima de las proteínas animales y desde luego evitar los alimentos procesados.

Todo ello ayuda a crear conciencia de la importancia de una alimentación correcta.

Aunque siento que no valora otro tipo de alimentación, aquella que se elabora con alimentos de origen natural  como por ejemplo un potaje de garbanzos muy español, elaborado con alubias o garbanzos o un caldo tlalpeño muy mexicano o una tortilla de papas que lleva aceite ¿Hasta donde resultan una comida “sana” según sus parámetros establecidos?

Creo que lo que hemos visto en este curso es una comida muy plana vegetales, pollo, pasta y, para de contar, ok hay que evitar los alimentos procesados, hay que comer muchas verduras pero eso así es muy aburrido, carece de todo interés, yo creo que hay que darle variedad a la comida y que esta reúna todo lo que se requiere en cuanto a su origen natural, pero no centrarse en un plato de pasta, ensalada y carne.

von VERONICA C C

16. Juli 2022

I learned to make a balanced dish avoiding trans fats in processed foods because they add dyes, artificial and unnatural vitamins to them so that they last longer on the market and this causes damage to our health, they usually have a lot of sugar, sodium, it is better to look for products natural as avocado, nuts, vegetables, proteins. It will always be better to seek to prepare the food at home, in advance where we can control the quantity and quality of oils and quantities to be prepared, and when serving, use larger amounts of vegetables than protein. Of course we must involve the family, as well as teach us to drink enough water.

Aprendí a hacer un plato balanceado evitando grasas trans en alimentos procesados por que les añaden colorantes, vitaminasartificiaes y no naturales para que duren mas en el mercado y esto causa daños en nuestra salud, por lo general tienen muchas azucares, sodio, es mejor procurar productos naturales como aguacate, nueces, verduras, proteinas.

Siempre será mejor buscar elaborar la comida en casa, anticipadamente donde podemos controlar la cantidad y calidad de aeites y cantidades a elaborar, y al servir usar cantidades mayores de vegetales que de proteina.

Por supuesto que debemos involucrar a la familia, asi como enseñarnos a tomar sufucuente agua.

von Ron B

27. Aug. 2022

Glad to see an MD open to nutritional health as treatment for obesity and diabetes. Not to many MDs are like that and are unhealthy "Physician heal thyself." Good job Dr. Maya on your open mindedness because that is a sign of wisdom in knowing that no Physician knows everything about health. We must glean wisdom and knowledge from others who have insight into nutrition and foods. After all, all humans need food to survive and it's a matter of which foods to eat. Thank you for your recipes also. You should consider having a cooking show because people will appreciate that you are an MD practicing healthy eating. God gave us everything we needed to eat and survive, but somehow man thought we can do better, and we see the results when mankind rejects Gods grace and kindness in favor of man-made alternatives!!

von Leo f C

26. Dez. 2022

A well-designed course that makes often boring topics from high school level health and makes them interesting. It features extensive interviews with food journalist Michael Polan, and in many ways, the course is fleshing out of his excellent book "In Defense Of Food." Regardless, it's helped us shift towards a more whole food diest (except for processed whole wheat bread, pasta, and occasional cookies).

PS. I'm male. Having worked my way through college in ritzy restaurants, specializing in French and Italian cuisines, I have kitchen skills. So I do the cooking. This gave me an advantage most contemporary westerners, including my ex-wife and current GF, don't have. And fellas, trust me on this: The ladies (or whatever gender you prefer) love a dude who can wow them with a restaurance-quality home-cooked meal.

von Carmina F

28. Nov. 2020

Hello I am Carmina. I almost ignore this course completely due to the bad reviews was given for this. I am glad I did enroll it and did not listen to them. It was not basic for ordinary people, but was for nutritionist or who are into food learning. It says that it is extremely easy and basic but I found it challenging, informative, entertaining and helpful. Almost everyone can pass this course, but it doesn't mean you're not going to learn anything new. Well it is really basic, BUT I LEARN A LOT in just week 1 already. It is mix with scientific terms. I love this course and willing to complete it!

...

Please make a fair review not because it is your experience or opinion, but for someone who are planning to take it. BELIEVE ME, it's a good course not that basic enough to say don't eat that or eat this.

von Meagan P M

15. Aug. 2018

A good introduction to food and nutrition that is readily digestible for anyone. Some historical background without going into potential food industry conspiracies (marketing strategies aren't conspiracy, they are fact) is lightly covered to provide context for the Western diet and food experiences. The tone of the course does not demonize food choices and stays on point to promote eating more whole foods and eating in moderation in general. The basic science behind how humans process food into energy is covered well with simple diagrams and does a good job of using both scientific words as well as layman's terms together to make the information more easily understood. Overall, the course promotes taking an active role in the food we eat in order to support our health.

von Nikita K

23. Sep. 2018

This course isn't that much of a "course" where you need to study and work a lot, but more of an interactive guide to how we can improve our day-to-day approach to eating and preparing food. For me, many of the things outlined during the course were eye-opening. I've already started applying some of the ideas in real life e.g. substituting processed foods with the natural equivalents, started cooking at home more often. I really loved how the concepts were described in this course - in a comprehensible and actionable way. I will now try to dig deeper some of the topics like nutrients, calories consumption to balance my diet considering that I'm also doing sports. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants treat eating consciously and not as some routine stuff.

von Jon M C

14. Feb. 2016

Extremely well produced. I would have liked a little more bit information but for a Free Intro class it's well worth it. Being a food professional in the industry over 20 years the challenge is getting others to change their eating habits. Stopping the super sized highly processed food consumed here in America is difficult when many of the people think that is their only choice and for some of the poorest it is. But all of us can and should pass this message on to others.

On a side note, lose the animation of the overweight guy with the flannel shirt and the cutoff sleeves. You've just alienated a demographic you would like to see change in. Kind of elitist in my opinion. Not that I own any flannel shirts :)

Thank you for a great course!

Jon M. Costedoat

Los Gatos, CA

von Will Z

8. Juni 2016

Excellent course loved the info and the way it was presented. Quick to the point and on par. I wouldn't mind seeing a little more info on seafood and fish in general I've read a few studies and as far as i can tell at this point in the game we've poisoned our oceans tremendously and theres been scientific studies that have found large quantities of highly toxic chemicals in the fish's blood and meat. so thats about the only thing id like to see is going a little deeper into the actual health risks associated with the damage humans have caused to the food we eat from the oceans to GMO's. These seem like hot topics in todays day and age. But like i said i really enjoyed the course and look forward to taking additional courses on nutrition and food prep.

von Ярославна П

21. Okt. 2020

Первое, что хотелось бы отметить, это невероятно приятные рассказчики. Небольшие видео по 3-5 минут, в которых без воды выжали всю основу нутрициологии, подача материала идёт легко, поймёт АБСОЛЮТНО каждый, вне зависимости от возраста.

Конечно, те, кто хоть немного интересуется питанием, нутрициологией, 50% материала точно знает, но это ни в коем случае не отменяет его полезности. Повторение и ознакомление с деталями никогда не бывает лишним.

Я считаю, с этим курсом необходимо ознакомиться каждому человеку, кого интересует как минимум его здоровье. А также неплохо бы посоветовать это людям, которые ещё не осознали ценность питания в их физическом здоровье.

Коротко, информационно, интересно.

Спасибо большое Coursera за предоставленную возможность.

von Xuan L

8. Juni 2019

There are plenty of important and useful information of food and health. By studying this course, I have learned the value of food, how to choose the right food and how to enjoy the real food. Such are truly helpful for me to spend my food budget wisely on food that will both support my good health and enjoyment. The examples raised in the courses are very vivid and easily understood. The explanations are friendly and easy to grasp. I can't agree more with the propose and solution inside this course: make time to cook at home and maximize the value of food. I've started to take time to cook at home and even track my homemade food by using online food blog since last month. Food is essential and I sincerely recommend this course to everyone.

von Sarai S T

2. Feb. 2020

This course is very useful because brings good and interesting information in a simple way, so, you can learn and remember the tips easily. In a short period of time, you have meaningful information that you can use in your daily live to improve your habits and the habits of people around you. I think that if you apply this knowledge your health will improve for sure. Este curso es muy útil porque te brinda información buena e interesante, así que, puedes aprender y recordar los consejos fácilmente. En un corto periodo de tiempo, tienes información significativa que puedes usar en tu vida diaria para mejorar tus hábitos y los hábitos de las persona que te rodean. Creo que si aplicas este conocimiento tu salud mejorará con seguridad.

von Sujata B P

6. Juli 2020

From this course I came to know about effects of highly processed foods how they are harmful to our health.I got an idea that cooking is one of the best way of refreshing our mind.It gathers whole family members while eating.It is beneficial for consuming green leafy fresh frozen vegetables rather than meat in our meal.This course gives the knowledge about healthy eating habits.This course is not only essential for students, it is also essential for whole people in the world.It encourage people about limiting food quantity while eating, about healthy diet.The whole course explain the topic in a easy way.I encourage my other friends to gain the knowledge from this course which is essential for our entire life.