Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
10,108 Bewertungen
2,883 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filtern nach:

2251 - 2275 von 2,840 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Iuliia K

Apr 26, 2017

The course is easy to listen and comprehend, and all material is pretty practical. However, it is rather superficial. I myself maintain a healthy lifestyle, and I didn't learn almost anything new from it (i'd say, around 5% of the information was new to me). I expected more. On the other hand, it's a good course for people with weight&lifestyle problems to figure out first steps towards a healthier lifestyle.

von Lauren C

Dec 05, 2017

Great information for beginners and an easy refresher for already health-conscious individuals.

von Patrice L W

Dec 18, 2016

I found the information useful, good introductory course. However, not as challenging as I had hoped.

von Nerissa A

Mar 07, 2017

This course was informative with great tips for healthy eating.

von John C

Mar 01, 2016

Basic information useful for those without much knowledge of nutrition or want a review about healthy eating

von Marwa E

Mar 11, 2017

Simple and practical

I really enjoyed this course and how it managed to focus on the beauty and enjoyment of food as a main point in making healthier choices when it comes to diet. I only hope there is another follow up more in-depth course with more information on micro-nutrients and hormonal influence on obesity.

von Anne C

Feb 01, 2016

This is a great introductory and time efficient course that allows anyone to get a brief overview of a healthy life style. This course, aside from the first video, does not go into the nutritional value of food or micro nutrient variables. So, if you'd like to get more information on how to cultivate your own healthy life style this is a great choice. However, if you'd like the more scientific side of things this course is not for you.

von Lulu

Apr 15, 2016

simple, easy to follow, for everyone. Not really a "course" per se. Not many real nutrition "courses" on Coursera. :(

von Yixuan J

Jun 19, 2017

For an introduction course this is very clear and easy to understand. Some of the action plans, such as sensible substitution are very practical to adopt. I would wish this course to be more comprehensive, for example, not just focused on battling most common health issues in the US, but also health benefits of different vitamins or nutrition planning for different demographies.

von Christian S

Aug 04, 2016

Good introducing regarding healthy eating and the dangers of highly processed food. I recommend this course for everyone interested in these topics!

von Monir B

Dec 11, 2016

Too easy. The biology, history and sociology of food was the part most beneficial to me. Since I am a vegan from Sweden I tend to cook food everyday. The course seems to be mostly for people born in the USA. In Sweden, there are some problems with obesity and people buying higly processed food. However, the problem seems to be more alarming in the USA. Discussing the differences between how the average person in the USA eats with how the average person in e.g. Sweden, Greece, Japan, Brazil and Ethopia eats, would, I think, make for an interesting additional lecture.

von Oscar L R

Apr 18, 2016

Very clear and well explained, but a little too basic.

von Constance B

Jan 24, 2016

Basic information but well presented.

von Gonzague P

Mar 09, 2016

Good introduction course

von Haysha S

Jul 24, 2017

This was a great introductory course. It gives you a good basic outline of nutrition, and some practical tips and recipes

von Jacob O

Nov 07, 2017

Very informative and easy to understand.

A few more practical suggestions/advice would make it a 5-star!

von Aiaze M

Feb 13, 2016

Good course, easy to follow and informative. I regret that the content was so basic, I would have loved more depth particularly when the instructor is so knowledgeable and such a good speaker!

von Jozef Z

Feb 09, 2016

Amazing content for beginners

von Barbara T

Feb 05, 2016

Well, I was raised by a home ec major and a librarian, so I already knew much of this. But for those who weren't, it's very valuable.

von Maria L Z

Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for offering "Introdution to Food and Health"! I learned new things, and also I appreciate the recipes.

von Cheng L

Apr 16, 2016

Very basic course with lots of common sense. But could be good for someone who never thought about their diet before.

von SARAH H A

Sep 06, 2016

Very informative course, which has encouraged me to research the topic further and to adopt a healthier lifestyle. Based on my research, however, I believe a mistake might have been made. According to the instructional material, the only group of essential fatty acids is omega-3. Based on my research, however, essential fatty acids include ALA, an omega-3 fatty acid, and LA, which is an omega-6 fatty acid.

von Natalia

Jun 16, 2017

a little too easy

von Maria R G

Nov 20, 2016

Very good course to learn the basics of nutrition and how it's related to health

von Marino E P D

Jan 24, 2017

It's a very nice course. I learn a lot thing related with how to improve my health and my eating habits.