Chevron Left
Zurück zu Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health von Stanford University

4.7
10,103 Bewertungen
2,880 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top-Bewertungen

AE

Jun 22, 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

TL

Oct 01, 2016

Extremely interesting course. I feel the material and videos were very easy to absorb and understand. I certainly would recommend this to anyone with an interest in food and how it affects our health.

Filtern nach:

2276 - 2300 von 2,840 Bewertungen für Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

von Jimmy S

Feb 09, 2016

Very good course overall. It gave me some good thought nuggets to keep in mind for the future. At times the course felt more like it was trying to sell the notion of home cooking rather than being about "food and health". Sometimes terms were hastily presented and maybe assumed to be common knowledge, which left me confused in one of the quizzes ("serum triglycerides", for instance).

The course touches on interesting topics that could've been elaborated more on, for instance how transfats are made.

von Leo D T

Jun 06, 2017

very good course,

i wish it also explained how diets should differ if you are very physically active.

von Irina N

Aug 01, 2017

Rather interesting but i don't understand the necessity of including recipes in the course body, a link to web site would be just enough.

von Amaury G M O

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and clear way to approach food, but it would be great if we could add more nutritional science and physiology based info

von Livnat B

Feb 27, 2016

The course was informative, condense to be easily understood, and was well done. I left the course eager to learn how to cook!

I think the course could have demanded / pushed the students a little more to think about this deeper.

I am excited to try out the recipes!

von Beth D

Mar 07, 2016

A good basic review of healthy eating habits.

von Sheryl W

Sep 16, 2017

It was an informative course and enjoyable. I would suggest that in the last two lessons recipes be added for vegans and those with dairy intolerance. It was good to see gluten free recipes but they need adapting for egg intolerance. I would recommend this course as it is informative and tries to put things forward in a helpful manner.

von Leo M

Jan 06, 2018

Great introduction to the topic! Would have liked to learn more, specifically about hard facts/scientific references.

von Mauricio D A C

Jan 29, 2016

Its a good and simple intro. the the very important world of eating healthy, ergo being happy.

I would complement it with Michael´s Pollan book "In Defense of Food".

Excited to continue my learning journey...

von ZebraRabbit

Sep 02, 2016

After taking this course, I know what the Nutrition Facts of food means and what type of food is good for health.

von Angela C

Jan 16, 2018

It i the course you need when you are looking into the basics of healthy eating habits.

von Ping Z

Sep 27, 2016

The course is short but very helpful.

von Víctor H C G

May 27, 2018

A nice review of good eating for good healte

von Bernard A D

Aug 05, 2017

Very good information consolidated from many of the sources I have seen or read previously. Very good production value as well.

von Marcie Z B

Sep 25, 2016

Very education, but short. I'd love to see more. Thank you for the recipes in week 5!

von Mitch B

Jan 30, 2016

Great information, but in some instances I would have liked to see the course delve a little deeper into the topic. This was a minor concern however, overall it provided the information that mattered, and did so in a simple and "easy to digest" manner. Well done!

von Saurabh P

Jun 04, 2016

Simplicity and good piece knowledge about fundamentals of food and related habits throughout the course keeps the person bound with the course.

von David M

Nov 18, 2017

Lovely fundamental nutrition course. Easy to understand and put in the daily life.

von Pam L

Aug 10, 2016

Everything I learned or relearned fit with my knowledge of food and food systems with one glaring exception: I am a strong supporter of organic standards and regenerative agriculture. Therefore, I would be unable to recommend vegetables and fruits regardless of their pesticide residue.

von Elena T

May 17, 2018

The first week was the most interesting and helpful in order to understand the science behind all this issue. Thank you!

von Christine W

Jan 04, 2018

This course is a good starter course for people who are interested in making better dietary choices. It is not a band-wagon attempt to suade the student into following any one particular diet (i.e., Keto, Atkins, , Paleo, Weight Watchers, Mediterranean, Nordic, WFPB, vegan, vegetarian, etc.). The focus is on cooking at home, avoiding processed foods, using smaller plates, eating until satisfied (rather than "full" or "stuffed"), planning meals around vegetables first (instead of protein centered meals), and using better quality ingredients to be enjoyed by everyone.

von Olga O

Nov 12, 2017

Very informative. I learned what I was looking for. Thank you

von Sandra L

May 24, 2016

Interesting and engaging. My only con is that a few pieces of the information was out-of-date.

von Joshua D

Jan 22, 2016

I don't know what I expected. This course was quite pedestrian, but it *is* an introductory course.

von Tarik E A

May 02, 2017

Thank you Dr Maya and her team for this excellent course, covering the basics of a healthy food nutrition. I loved the chapter where you show how to evaluate labels on packaged products and the cooking tutorials. I really hope there will be an advanced course, exploring in-depth specific topics like food categories (nutrients and benefits), student diets (food for brain power), athlete diets, food lifestyles (vegetarian/vegan...), food and disease prevention (Alzheimer, aging...)