Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health von Johns Hopkins University

4.7
Sterne
113 Bewertungen
26 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

A food system encompasses the activities, people and resources involved in getting food from field to plate. Along the way, it intersects with aspects of public health, equity and the environment. In this course, we will provide a brief introduction to the U.S. food system and how food production practices and what we choose to eat impacts the world in which we live. We will discuss some key historical and political factors that have helped shape the current food system and consider alternative approaches from farm to fork. The course will be led by a team of faculty and staff from the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future. Guest lecturers will include experts from a variety of disciplines, including public health, policy and agriculture....

Top-Bewertungen

RD
28. Apr. 2018

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

YF
27. Aug. 2017

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 26 Bewertungen für An Introduction to the U.S. Food System: Perspectives from Public Health

von Andrea B

31. Dez. 2017

This was an interesting course and wasn't what I expected when I first signed up. I think I was expecting a more dry course on the US food system, but it actually ended up being quite interesting and focused a lot on different aspects of the food system which are problematic. For an introductory course into the food system it covered many different topics without getting too focused on any one thing, and I hope they decide to add more courses that focus on these different topics so we can learn about them on a deeper level.

von Milonee

15. März 2018

Excellent primer into the history of the U.S. Food System, the problems associated with industrial agriculture, and the efforts which are currently underway to address these problems. Highly recommend for someone who has little experience in this field and wants to learn more. Lectures are engaging and taught by a variety of experienced professionals, many of whom have books/essays which you can follow up with if you find their lectures engaging.

von Nehleen A

28. Nov. 2017

One of the best classes I have taken in Coursera. Amazingly informative and comprehensive lectures, yet understandable to the lay person. I learned a lot and grateful for all the information about our food systems. This class gave me a broad perspective and understanding of our food system, something that I need

von Reshama D

28. Apr. 2018

Loved it! I recommend it to anyone new to public health, horticulture, agriculture, farming, agroecology and the like. I wish I took this course sooner. A+

von Beatriz E

14. Juli 2020

This has been one of the best courses that I have encountered as it provides a lot of information. And this information would help me apply the concepts to my field, as well as raising awareness to positive and negative impacts of food to nutrition, public health, agriculture, aquaculture, economics, society, and the environment.

Thank you to this course! I am hoping for more courses relating to food.

von Matthew L

31. Okt. 2020

This course is an excellent series of lectures that provide essential information to anyone who is interested in understanding how our national food system developed over time. Moreover, the instructors provide recommendations for how we can thwart further harm and rebuild our food system into a more resilient one.

von Ava R

13. Jan. 2018

This course contains a wealth of information concerning the U.S. food policies from the history of the Farm Bill to cultural and subjective norms that determine our food choices. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in environmental sustainability,

von Claude C

9. Jan. 2020

Excellent course for both the uninformed and those familiar with food system work. Highly recommend to anyone seeking to deepen their understanding of the relationship between food and health, climate and equity.

von Yotam F

27. Aug. 2017

I really enjoyed learning about all the different aspect surrounding the U.S. food system. The video lectures were very clear and informative!

von Nancy Y M

11. Aug. 2020

Thank you for the insight into the present state of our food system and for showing me the opportunities for advocacy. I loved the course !

von TIgba T C

10. Nov. 2020

Wonderful experience. Impactful and so exposing to importance of a transformed global food system inferred from the US food policy

von Eleonora N

20. Apr. 2019

Great course full of deep, provocative and sometimes even shocking insights about the subject. We all should now these things!

von Biswajit D

18. Apr. 2018

The learnings from this course will me more healthier and I will apply these concept to my family members .

von Gedaliah R

11. Apr. 2018

life changing subject matter - excellently presented. highly recommended

von Josh L

7. Sep. 2018

Great introduction to an extremely complicated topic

von Rachel B

21. Nov. 2017

A great foundation for thinking about food systems.

von Candace T

20. Apr. 2020

So very interesting.. particularly the Farm Bill

von Milan S

1. Feb. 2018

Thank you -I learned a lot

von Besto J 5

6. Okt. 2020

Loved the course

von Emanuelle L

30. Mai 2017

Very good!

von Mona A A

1. Juli 2020

good

von Javier M

1. Aug. 2017

The course was comprehensive and interesting overall. I do have some criticisms: genetic engineering is viewed in a very negative light as well as conventional farming. The arguments that were presented resemble rhetoric from certain consumer groups, instead of sound science. I think it's important to get rid of this false dichotomy between scientific innovation and sustainability as these can come together to provide actual solutions to the problems facing the food system today.

von Maria C Z

25. Jan. 2018

I enjoy the lectures. Although, the information in some cases are not very up to date. Some of the slides are more that 5 years old. i don´t know if it is becuase new data has not been updated. Great for introduction to beginners.

von Jonathan G

2. Feb. 2018

Great course. I learned a lot although I found the last module to be somewhat redundant and philosophical and had nothing to do with the running and operation of a farm

von Ajeeth A

21. Sep. 2019

Good, basic course for someone not familiar with the US food system. Very fact-based with easy to understand discussion of scientific and economic topics.