Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Fundamentals of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
15,123 Bewertungen
3,916 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top-Bewertungen

TJ

5. Sep. 2021

I had a lot of fun in this course. I learnt some extra bits of information related to graphic design and I think it's a great start for beginners as well as good practice for intermediate and experts!

AR

17. Apr. 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 3,897 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Graphic Design

von Emily G R

25. Mai 2022

This course helped me to develop some of the fundamental skills to introduce myself to the graphic design's world with excellence in perspective, in observation - and that's priceless, that's what makes the point and brings hummanity to science, to knolowege. I'll be always thankfull for what I've learned here.

von Pratik R K

21. Juni 2020

Great way to start learning about Graphic Designing if you are a beginner or even have any level of experience in this field. This course covers all the basics which will serve as a great foundation for your future endeavour in this field. I highly recommend you all to join and take the most out of this course.

von Tripti S

9. Okt. 2018

Amazing Course, such great insight and yet so simple. When I took this course I knew only the words Graphic Design and that I have to know a few creative suite softwares to learn graphic design. But this course has cleared my thoughs on the subject.

A must taka course for any one wanting to learn graphic design

von Morgan G

22. Juli 2020

This course was amazing! I love the ability to work at my own pace, it allowed me to learn so fast! I went from never having used a single digital design application to being very confident in three weeks!

The instructor was extremely clear and knowledgeable, the course assignments were clear cut and focused.

von Akshaya R

7. Juli 2020

I had a lot of fun learning basic Design Thinking, how to approach Design, Typography, Basics of Image Making and how to ideate and visualise different shapes and forms. I would recommend this course to anyone who is looking to unlearn what they know about design or art and learn a brand new way of thinking.

von Fernando J

20. Mai 2022

Awesome course for learing the fundamentals of graphic design. Recommended for beginners, or self-taught designers looking to refresh and improve their critical thinking. Peer review is a little bit of problem because not everyone has the same comitmnet to the course, but the content in the course is great!

von Marta H H

20. März 2022

Fundamentals of Graphic Design is really an amazing course! It motivated me so much to keep going in this journey towards the Specialization! I would just say it is a bit of a shame that there is content after the last compulsory exercise, since motivation to continue is lost once you receive your diploma!

von Ushakiran S

17. Dez. 2021

It was my first course in graphic design. I was quite unsure of how much I could learn from an online course but I am really happy and satisfied now that I have completed the course. I love the assignments and the peer review thing here which helped me learn so much. Finally thanks a lot to our instructor.

von Laura A J

25. Juli 2018

i highly recommend this course for those who want to start their journey in Graphic Design and they don't know how to start. i love how the tutor tries to encourage us to experiment and try something new and not to be afraid of that. the assignments were fun and useful i am very glad for taking this course.

von Olga P

14. Dez. 2019

An excellent class that teaches you the basics of graphic design!!! Very thorough videos and exercises that get your creative mind evolving! The exercises are very fun to complete as the videos give you all the instructions needed to complete them. You will learn form, typography composition and much more!

von Madison R

26. Apr. 2022

This is a great course for understanding the fundamentals of graphic design. My only issue is that most of the time the feedback I received from other students wasnt that constructive, it was something along the lines of "looks good" which isnt particularly helpful. Otherwise, the course itself is great!

von Ezugwu L

17. Nov. 2021

I really loved taking this course, it opened my eyes on the fundamentals of graphics design and i hope that in the near future, i will be able to continue with the other specialization course attached to this one. Thank you Michael Worthington for this thoughtfully drafted training videos and guidelines.

von Je _

23. Feb. 2021

Very interesting! Informs in a very detailed way the ABC of Graphic Design. The interesting thing about the course is the feedback sent by the students themselves, the exchange of information and references. Like any course, it also depends on the student's dedication, but I would definitely do it again.

von Luisa M

27. Juli 2020

The course is very interesting. It really teaches you the basics of Graphic Design, stimulates you to explore your creativity. I just wished our exercises were evaluated for at least one professional or more knowledgeable person instead of only our course colleagues. Overall I would highly recommend it!

von Lorna W

30. Mai 2017

Really enjoyable course that was really easy to follow. The videos are great for visual learners, with transcripts that help with note taking, and the practical assignments help you learn by doing. Would definitely recommend as a starting point for anyone wanting to get into the graphic design industry!

von Eduardo G

15. Mai 2020

Very well structured, lessons were clear, concise and very engaging and interesting. You build up on the assignments little by little but the concepts are powerful I recomment doing all the optional assignments since they are very fun to make and you learn and practice a lot. Thank you for this course.

von Nikola J

28. Aug. 2018

Being a self-learner in graphic design (photoshop, illustrator and so on) for more than a year, this course provided me with the necessary knowledge of design fundamentals, which I was lacking before. I am more confident to experiment and to think about my work from the theoretical perspective as well.

von John M T

20. Nov. 2021

I expected the course to just be a tip of an iceberg but, it is more than just a tip of an iceberg. This course is absolutely a very helpful tool in my preparation in Graphic Design journey. I will absolutely apply everything I learned from small to bigger principles if be needed. Thank you very much!

von Steven C

22. Juni 2020

I found this course really useful for learning the basics of graphics design. The assignments helped me to think deeply about many of the design elements, e.g. typography, shapes, colors, textures & composition, which I don't usually do. It has given me a better understanding & appreciation of design.

von Ruthwik

4. Okt. 2020

Learned a lot from this course about Graphic Design. Never really thought about the diversity of this course but now I'm glad to know what Graphic Design is!. Enrol this course to get a clear understanding of how Designing is to be done to please the audience. I absolutely loved learning this course.

von Jenny R R

27. Mai 2020

I learned from zero this course. I am glad that at the end I got at least a piece of knowledge in Design. This is definitely my first motivation to keep going deeper into this wonderful world of Design. congratulations to Michael Worthington to be a nice and very clear in his videos, I learned a lot.

von Tracy B

27. Apr. 2017

Really enjoyed this course - very glad I saw it through to the end. Got a bit discouraged around week 3 because I don't have any experience with Illustrator or Photoshop yet, so I couldn't do those optional assignments. That's just a heads-up though, not a complaint. Would fully recommend the course.

von Henry M L

26. Jan. 2016

Not so long ago i decided that I no longer wanted to practice the art of graphic design hazily since i was self taught. I wanted to know everything about it and this course has been quite helpful. For once i can now speak fluently about the fundamentals of graphic design. Thanks to the Coursera team.

von Валентина М

29. März 2021

The course gives an idea of the different areas of graphic design and gives you the opportunity to try each of them in practice. The tasks are interconnected and this helps to understand the process of creating projects in graphic design. I liked the course, some tasks require knowledge of software.

von Archie

31. Jan. 2020

Excellent graphic design course. It has the perfect balance of content and the way it tests you is very effective and memorable. The way it is structured makes it an ideal starting point for any graphic designer, whether they already have some design experience, or if they are starting from scratch.