Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Fundamentals of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
15,142 Bewertungen
3,921 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top-Bewertungen

FS

13. Juli 2020

Excellent course to learn and refresh about fundamentals of design....It applies to all spheres of MULTIMEDIA..Highly recommended... As a suggestion course and notes should be available in PDF format.

AR

17. Apr. 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filtern nach:

3851 - 3875 von 3,902 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of Graphic Design

von Semih S

28. Dez. 2020

For 4 week course its ok.

von Kenneth D D

26. Juli 2020

Only very basic concepts.

von Afia T 2

31. Aug. 2020

A enjoyable course😃

von German G S

8. Mai 2020

Pretty Interesting

von Muhammad F K

26. Juni 2020

Good. not deep.

von Dongqi L

30. Mai 2019

too fundamental

von radhvi k

24. Juni 2019

simply.. Wow.!

von Geffania G G

30. Juli 2020

It was Good.

von Nusanta S A

28. Sep. 2020

good

von Silvana L A C

14. Juni 2020

Good

von Richard L

5. Aug. 2020

The course itself was very good. I studied for many more hours than the recommended times and I learned a lot. I read books about Bauhaus, color, and typography. I watched a film about Bauhaus and did an online course by Pantone about color perception. The thing that lets the course down is the peer reviews, which are mostly useless. I've tried hard to write thoughtful reviews and I've done more than the minimum number for every assignment. In return I've received reviews like "ok" and "good". These people are just taking the mickey and CalArts and Coursera are responsible by neglect. It would be easy to automatically check for a minimum number of words in reviews. I notice that Gail Swanlund gives guidance about how to review in the Imagemaking course, but shouldn't this be in the first course so people know how to review? There ought to be a way to report these non-reviews and the people should be stripped of their course marks.

von Lisa T

7. März 2016

This course does go over some of the basics of graphic design, but I expected it to be a lot more rigorous. The assignments are incredibly simple, and I think that there should be no optional assignments in the class. The reason I'm taking this class is because I have a hard time motivating myself to learn on my own, so I need something that will really push me. I only spent about an hour a week completing this course, and I believe that you can't learn something by only spending an hour a week on it. Also what's the point of having mentors if they don't engage with you? I know I could have contacted them if I had a question, but I didn't because it was so easy. I wouldn't mind getting feedback from a professional graphic designer though if they're available. Also seeing how many students misinterpret the assignments, it makes me nervous that they are the ones grading mine.

von Teresa S

28. Aug. 2021

At one tine a enjoyed this class and now I don't. I Have been treated unfairly for the last couple months to turn in one assignment so I can complete this coursed. Every time I turned in assignment you always finds something wrong. Is this how Coursera teach and grade their student.

von Sarah F

3. Feb. 2016

"Let's try and draw a very basic, simple apple." I had to stop watching this course there. Sorry, but this is less than "fundamentals". I'm trying a new course on graphic design now...

von Nissam F F

16. Mai 2021

A lot of Theory, but having already worked a bit in the graphic design I don't think this is very useful when you start working. But maybe good to initiate a complete beginner.

von Deleted A

15. Juni 2020

Super basic stuff. I think it could be condensed. Not sure I learned more than a couple concepts, which could have been summarized on 1-2 slides.

von Pamela G

1. Jan. 2020

Very boring video lectures, especially dry if this is your first exposure to graphic design or design in general. It does not motivate.

von Avyudaya A

5. Apr. 2020

This was too basic for me. I think that I joined the wrong course unknowingly. This course might be good for actual beginners.

von Heather W L

15. Okt. 2021

E​very screen was black and I lost interest in the course right away, it felt very juvenile. I was hoping for more substance.

von Mia M

18. Feb. 2021

This course is really only for complete beginners. Great instructions for people who have never finished a creative project.

von Julliette G

29. Jan. 2021

a bit boring? even though graphic design is really not? and had to play it 1.50 speed too!

von Deleted A

30. Dez. 2020

not find that course that much beneficial that i think before enroll

von Priscila A d S

15. Jan. 2019

Não gostei muito que meus exercícios são avaliados por colegas.

von Azeem A

12. Jan. 2016

I joined to learn outstanding experience but ... disappointed

von Angie F

22. Okt. 2021

Seemed kind of old, like from the early 10's