Chevron Left
Zurück zu Character Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Character Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.6
610 Bewertungen
160 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

Top-Bewertungen

JM

Dec 22, 2016

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM

Nov 06, 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 153 Bewertungen für Character Design for Video Games

von Iryna M

Mar 18, 2016

The best course that I have passed!

von Wallace N O

Jan 16, 2016

One of the best courses I've ever taken on-line. Good explanations and artist's examples, and the assignments were awesome. Thanks!

von Carmen C

Jan 31, 2016

I really enjoyed this class a lot! Taught me a few things about designing a character, for sure

von Barnabás N

Mar 03, 2016

Really fun course. The different artists have pretty interesting tricks and tips, which can significantly improve your character design skills.

von Andre B

Oct 18, 2016

loved it

von Pamela P

Apr 26, 2016

Very well organized. Awesome interviews with character artists. Super videos!

von Angelo B

Feb 02, 2016

A very good experience, but if it could've helped me to find a job it would have been even better.

von Omar J C R

Mar 01, 2016

Great course! Great teacher! Fun, engaging and very useful. I've been using the first four courses from CalArts Game Development Specialization to develop a game idea I've had jotted down some time ago and I've found them to be the best thing I could've done to get my game going on the Narrative and Visual fronts. I've been doing the first four courses in the five course specialization as an unpaid observer, but after taking these courses, I'm signing up for the full specialization. If the quality holds true, the project driven fifth course will be amazing and well worth the money. The teacher in this particular course (Same teacher as in the Introduction to Game design class) is funny and entertaining to watch. Definitely goes the extra mile, doing interviews with great character designers and exploring their unique processes. Highly recommended!

von Akif K

Jan 24, 2016

This course teaches a lot by talking professionals, each one gives something unique and that's great!

von Rhonda S H

Sep 24, 2016

Fun class, enjoy it

von sean o

Aug 14, 2017

Awesome. Learnt loads directly from top industry fellows. The assignments were fun and challenging.

von Melissa A

Dec 28, 2015

I love the set up of this course - the fact that we get to sit in on artists as they draw and talk about the design/decision making process out loud. I wish the world design course was set up this way.

von daniel g

Feb 09, 2016

Lots of useful information.

von Emil E

Feb 13, 2018

The best dude.

von Alejandro M G M

Nov 06, 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

von Carol B

Jul 15, 2017

Very in depth, and it was indeed wonderful to draw my own characters for more of a defining purpose than just for fun! I really appreciated the time to truly figure out what, and who, the characters are. Not only that, but learning how to make them more interesting to someone who knows everything about them, and seem more human. Thanks, Coursera, for the best course ever! (Well, so far. I say that 'cause it has helped tremendously.)

von bruno m

Sep 21, 2017

Excellent course! I just have no words to explain how much I've learned here. Of course it's just the beginning and we should keep practising a lot after this course, but it's definitely be kept as reference for future projects.

von Jesus C

Jan 13, 2016

The 3 masterclasses are so awesome... You will not only learn a ton about character design, but also about professional work, design, communication... These 3 artists are so inspiring!

von Samaa M S

Apr 10, 2016

Thank you

von Antonio B M

Jan 19, 2016

Great course I really enjoy it

von David H

Oct 26, 2016

Top knotch! Great professor, great interviews! Great material.

von Thomas S

Nov 14, 2016

Very good and helpful course.

von José J

Jan 19, 2016

Excellent course, learned a lot

von Christina C

Feb 23, 2016

As a complete beginner to character design (and game design in general), I found this course very easy to understand with many great assignments to reinforce learning! I especially liked watching other designers create characters from scratch - seeing and hearing about the process other designers use to turn their ideas into a character they can use in a game - even animated characters - was particularly helpful. After completing this course, I now have many different character designs I can potentially use in my own games, along with awesome feedback from peers to make my character designs even better! I recommend this course to anyone interested in getting into game design and development.

von Nilson R C D

Dec 20, 2016

Best teacher in the Calarts courses!