Chevron Left
Zurück zu Character Design for Video Games

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Character Design for Video Games von California Institute of the Arts

4.6
Sterne
705 Bewertungen
193 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

Top-Bewertungen

JM

Dec 22, 2016

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM

Nov 06, 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

Filtern nach:

176 - 186 von 186 Bewertungen für Character Design for Video Games

von Juan C D M

Jan 21, 2016

It is cool. but it does not give any certificate of completion at the end as other courses do.

von Yomna B

Jul 29, 2020

It was really fun and beneficial, hoped the method of grading was a bit different though.

von Benjamin H

Sep 13, 2016

Instruction was through watching other characters designers talk about their process.

von Viola B

Sep 27, 2016

It was a fun course, not sure about the educational content, but it was fun.

von Luca L

Jul 26, 2017

Good course, fun to do, but the video quality is terrible.

von David H

Jan 29, 2016

there was 1 concept taught in the first lesson that of density. then it was loads of videos of other people drawing characters, not actually going through a design process. and then a few assignments designing a few characters . I was hoping to learn more about some of the principles of character design- wasnt blown away by this course wont be taking any more of these

von レヷブレート サ

May 16, 2016

great first week, I like Fran's First week video, with the puppets and very engaging interaction,

the next following 3 weeks are total bummer, It does give some tips for character design (such as what is tangent, or some other design tips), but it feels like a bloated interview and not a class-like experience. Great first week, terrible following week

von Cassandra W

Oct 04, 2018

I thought these class could have been elevated with the professor actually teaching. I enjoyed the the animators thought process walk-through, but I didn't think that was sufficient as an actual course.

von Ruaan G

Nov 30, 2018

Incredibly rudimentary

von André M

Mar 31, 2016

Feels like a money grabber rather than teaching anything useful, when designing character for video games is also important the skill you have or obtain while doing it and this doesn't place any emphasis into it. So for the price the charge in the certificate it really feels like a money grabber rather than teaching anything useful at all. Other schools like Gnomon WorkShop and DVDs like "Eat3D" and many others out there, which gives e more content for a fraction of the price they charging here! It needs to be deeper and more robust if this course wants to stand out, right now is not.

von Maria K

May 21, 2020

I expected to get some structurized practical knowledge but the course consists simply of the interviews with designers. All the assignments are peer graded so you cannot receive any valuable feedback of the professsional. Such a disappointment.