Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Game Design

Introduction to Game Design, California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,418 Bewertungen
414 Bewertungen

Über diesen Kurs

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top-Bewertungen

von YX

Dec 06, 2015

This course inspire me a lot. It is not easy, but with tons of fun. I spent a long time to think out the idea and make it and improve it. I did progress in gaming making as a fresh man. Thank you!

von OO

Nov 07, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun designing and redesigning a game, as well as getting to play other people's games. I enjoyed the lectures and found the peer reviews very helpful.

Filtern nach:

398 Bewertungen

von Melissa Carmichael

May 23, 2019

I think this was a great course for a person like myself who wanted to start learning about Game Design but really had no experience. I enjoyed to class and love the flexibility with being able to take it all on

von Marek Jordan

May 20, 2019

Really liked the course - very important insights and excellent presentation of the content. By creating your own games and reviewing other actual games it's easier to learn teh content. Was fun, too!

von Garrett Ryan White

Apr 08, 2019

I really feel like I gained a lot from this course. The concepts are simple when you think about it, but the point is that we don't often think about these foundations. I am really happy to have taken this course, and I think it set me up well for the rest of the specialization.

von Juan Carlos León Rendón

Apr 04, 2019

It is an excellent introduction to be a game designer

von Махаури Хава Магомедовна

Mar 27, 2019

I liked this course a lot. Thank you for letting me study the GameDesign!

von sugam malviya

Mar 19, 2019

Good start to understand the game mechanics. Thanks

von Non Arkaraprasertkul

Mar 08, 2019

Great course!

von Liv

Mar 05, 2019

You can tell a lot of love was put into this course. Tons of fun. Really informative and entertaining videos!

von Christopher Ghilardi

Feb 12, 2019

You learn the basic concepts of game designing with interactive and funny week assessments, very useful and enjoyable!

von Shanna Sportelli

Feb 04, 2019

This was my first course on COURSERA and first course about game design. It has really opened my mind to many characteristics of game design. It a super helpful course if your starting in game design(which I am!). You'll have the opportunity to review others and be reviewed, which is very important! The feedback I got really helped me to go forward, and reviewing others gave me the opportunity to see many different designs and ways to build game mechanics. It's very great.