Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Game Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Game Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
1,952 Bewertungen
581 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top-Bewertungen

TN

Apr 13, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG

Feb 13, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filtern nach:

526 - 550 von 566 Bewertungen für Introduction to Game Design

von Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

Good introduction to this specialization.

von Yumi O

May 30, 2016

Good. It could be better with more videos

von Zineb B

Jun 03, 2017

Really valuable and informative course.

von Deleted A

Dec 15, 2015

Good course! Can use more concepts

von Grace J

Jul 11, 2017

Have to pay to do assignments :(

von Joy S

Mar 07, 2016

Great basics for games!

von Ash j

Aug 24, 2017

just a ilttle short

von 肖毅晨

Dec 30, 2015

游戏设计的入门课程,对新手十分友好!

von Daniel O S

Oct 06, 2015

nice approach...

von Luiz F R

Nov 12, 2015

Good course!

von Amaranta G R

Jan 22, 2016

Really fun

von KATHERINE P F Q

Oct 11, 2020

educative

von Alexander R

May 03, 2016

g

von Gabriel A

Sep 28, 2015

M

von Alexis P C

May 28, 2020

The instructor showed a vast understanding on game design and the videos were useful resources to review when completing assignments. Because this course is based on my learning pace and dedication, I think I learned a good amount about game design and its basics. I personally enjoyed learning at my own pace and applying what I learned in the required weekly assignments. I also enjoyed interacting with others of the same interest and seeing what they created throughout this 4-weeks course.

However, there were times when reviewing videos weren't enough to answer my questions. As suggested by the course syllabus, I posted my question to the discussion forum where the course mentors would answer any questions. I was fortunate enough to complete all the assignments without any reply to my questions (it's been over a week) from any of the course mentors. An increase of course mentor(s) involvement would've been beneficial for many of the learners here including myself for any questions answers or feedback we might need. Perhaps decreasing the class size would benefit course mentor(s) to address questions or concerns from learners.

Although before taking this course there was a reminder that the professor wouldn't be involved in any of the grading or feedback on assignments, I wish there was a better feedback system that involved professional and more than 2 peers feedback required to complete assignments. Most of the feedback in the beginning were beneficial to my improvement in submitting future assignments but as the weeks progressed, the feedback weren't professional nor beneficial to my learning. Peer reviews could use a minimum text amount as well so that learners can gain a better understanding on a peer's feedback rather than reading a one word comment as feedback.

von Nicholas V

Oct 22, 2017

The information that is taught here is basic common knowledge that a five minute youtube video could teach you. I enjoyed the style and categorization of video lectures, moveover the instructor is easy to learn from and quite an entertaining fellow. On the other hand, like many courses on this site it suffers from anonomous 'peer-reviews' which can be very frustrating. I like to work at a quick pace, however I could not work how I wanted because peer feedback is required to build on your assignments. If I could make a suggestion to the course moderators I would say " Please increase the required amount of reviews you need to complete from three to at least five, because there are not enough willing people to review work. I had to post on the forms in order to recieve a grade on time" Over all this course left me with a bad taste in my mouth I am not sure if I will continue into the specialization if it will continue to be this frustrating.

von Meredith G

Apr 03, 2017

This is a great course due to the well designed and produced videos, peer feedback feature and structure of the course. However, I feel that the lack of input from CALARTS is the drawback. I have been in other courses in Coursera and have found the input from tutors really reassuring because I am getting expert feedback. If courses like this are to be continuously supported by Coursera clients/students, this kind of feedback is critical. If certificates achieved through Coursera are known to be only peer reviewed, such certificates will not carry weight and be recognised by other organisations/employers.

von Samya B

Sep 04, 2020

Too many assignments getting reviewed by the peers. The instructors should check a few to give some criticism which we can use because peers are not specific and just doing it for the sake of formality.

Other than this the content is very less the videos are hardly 5 mins maximum are below 3 mins and there are like 7-8 videos a week. For a specialization course, this is way too less. But the content is of good quality. I learnt a lot and it was an enjoyable experience.

von Juan D M

Feb 13, 2016

The course is fun and a very intresting approach to game design throug board game design. You get good tips for designing games and the different and important things to know. Though I think it could go deeper into some topics and explain a little more beyond just giving examples, videos are good but a little short, each week is roughly 20 minutes long each. Even though I really liked it and got the best of it .

von Carolyne E F

Jan 27, 2017

Although a neat idea, I was a little disappointing to find that over the course of 4 weeks we'd only be creating and adding to a small paper game. I was hoping for something a little more in depth. And although I don't disagree that this course provided some wonderful input to creating a game, I felt that it was something that could have been done in a single lesson.

von Tilemachos K

Jun 01, 2020

While I do appreciate the effort of the content creators, this course feels too simplistic. On top of that it seems that most of the "classmates" put minimum effort and when I have to grade assignments as part of my coursework, it felt more like a chore than a contribution.

von Cristobal H

Jan 16, 2016

I know that the title says "introduction", but I felt it was to basic...I liked the approach of the homeworks, but I missed more reading material or more sources to explore...also, being an introduction to game design, I think many issues froom game design were not touched.

von Ramon M L

Feb 19, 2016

It felt few content, i think there could be more content in this course. Though i have to say i learn new stuff, but i which it had more content to learn more.

von Deborah M M

Nov 19, 2015

A whimsical introduction to game design and the springboard for a Specialization Certificate, therefore important to take.

von Dimitris K

Aug 13, 2016

A quite simple beginning, might end up being a little bit too simple. The future looks promising, though!