Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Game Design

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Game Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
1,940 Bewertungen
580 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Top-Bewertungen

TN

Apr 13, 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG

Feb 13, 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filtern nach:

551 - 565 von 565 Bewertungen für Introduction to Game Design

von Jeffrey B

Dec 09, 2016

Good introduction course. Perhaps a bit light on material... reviews from others are very helpful!

von Sergey F

Jul 19, 2017

very simple, only some basics and a lot of "water" material. I don't see reasons to pay for this

von Daniel

Feb 24, 2016

Very little content. Most of the value comes from working on games for the assignments.

von Dr. M N

Jul 15, 2020

I was not able to unenroll it

von Paul B

Oct 28, 2015

Fun course, not much depth.

von Maeve B

Feb 16, 2016

This course, though fun, was not intensive at all. The main issue I have is probably with the Coursera structure itself. Many of your homework assignments are based off of if people can understand the instructions of the game- which, if you have mostly non-English speakers, sort of takes the homework from being "be creative and challenge yourself" to "make sure everything you write down is 3 words max or else the people GRADING you won't understand it". This is also true when looking at these students' games- when half of your grade depends on your clarity, these kids are ultimately at a disadvantage. I'm sure there were amazing games made by some of the non-English speaking students, but I wasn't able to understand and play many of them. It is fantastic that Coursera is open to everyone, but when your grades are based off of clarity of language, it gets tricky.

von Varsha A V

Jan 31, 2016

The lectures tend to be a bit boring. However the hands on assignments give great insight into understanding the basic concepts of game design and narration.

von Rebekah c

Oct 05, 2015

idk its not what i expected. i really want to start with actually making a computer game not a paper game

von Richard H

Oct 21, 2015

The instructor is good but the amount of content is severely lacking compared to alternatives.

von Alexander P

Oct 19, 2017

Not enough content for a paid course

von Keone M

Feb 09, 2016

Enjoyable but limited content

von Emi S

Sep 09, 2020

Feedback was very poor. Instruction is generally minimal and there is not a lot to learn from this course. The reason why this course works so poorly is the reliance on other enrolled individuals to provide important feedback. An alarming amount of student work I peer reviewed showed very little consideration for the project goals and one sentence descriptions. In addition, my work would sometimes receive one sentence feedback. There was absolutely no assurance that I would get constructive feedback. It's also possible to resubmit my work for a regrade, which can very easily be exploited. The worst students could complete this course in a single afternoon. This course needs an overhaul on evaluation.

von Benjamin B

Sep 24, 2019

The content of the course was great, but forcing people to wait for peers to grade (which in my case took a week per assignment) is ridiculous and clearly just drags out time to make you pay more for the monthly subscription. Remove this feature or require fewer peers.

von Ivan D

Dec 01, 2015

I went in this course with high expectations. After I watched all of the videos for the first week and saw the hilarious homework I quickly checked what this is about.

LESS THAN 3 HOURS OF VIDEOS! Not to mention paying, you will be better off with Extra Credits...

von Anton B

Mar 21, 2016

Primitive and useless