Chevron Left
Zurück zu Game Design and Development Capstone

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Game Design and Development Capstone von Michigan State University

4.7
Sterne
185 Bewertungen
43 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In the game design and development capstone, you will create an original game from initial concept through implementation and then launch it to the world! Along the way, you will have the opportunity to put your game ideas in front of your peers and for the best-of-the-best you will have the chance to get feedback from game industry professionals. The capstone experience gives you the opportunity to push your skills further and demonstrate your newfound skills as a game developer. The capstone also contains guest talks from game industry professionals at Riot Games, Deep Silver Volition, Iron Galaxy, Radiant Entertainment, Goodgame Studios, Stardock, GREE, Heart Shaped Games, Kongregate, and more....

Top-Bewertungen

JT
3. Okt. 2016

Really enjoyed this Capstone! It was a nice challenge, and it really pushed me to create a game out of my own imagination! It was definitely a great experience that I enjoyed journeying through!

JN
18. Juni 2016

Going through this whole Specialization has been a great journey. Thanks to this final project we were able to use everything we learned.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 43 Bewertungen für Game Design and Development Capstone

von Leon S

13. Aug. 2017

I really enjoyed doing my project - but I cannot in good conscience give any real credit to this course for that. The course contains almost no useful information, and is instead littered with half-hearted webcam footage from people "in the industry".

Basically Courseras idea of exclusive paywall capstone content is to outsource the whole job to a bunch Windows Movie Maker-wielding twentysomethings and ask them to talk about their jobs. While a couple of these videos do seem genuinely motivated to be useful, none of them manage to say anything beyond the usual "work hard and be passionate" platitudes that you've heard a million times before.

If you're wondering whether the contents of this capstone are worth the price of admission, the answer is a resounding "absolutely not".

von Andrew C W

19. Juni 2019

This was a great course where you create a game from scratch and publish it to the world. There are mostly progress reports and builds to submit. It builds on the prior courses in the specialization and has a wealth of information to the student to guide them on their game development journey. At first I was terrified about being able to develop a whole functional game in 8 weeks but managed to pull it off and I'm very proud I did! It's also very fun to play your peers' developing games and give them feedback. Who knows who will make the next hugely popular game!?

von Sergii Z

25. März 2016

This Capstone summarizes all you've learned in Game Design and Development Specialization. The final task is "simple" and clear - make a game and release it ("if it's not released - you don't have a game!") and you have 2 month for it. Can you make The Game Of Your Dreams in 2 month? That's the challenge!

Also there are lots of material from game industry super-stars, which gives you a very nice perspective on how things are going in Big Guys World.

And you will not see professor Winn or professor O'Donnel, right? But they always be watching you!

von Daniel M

13. Sep. 2016

It was actually easier/flexible than what I thought. In this course/final project they give you a lot of flexibility and you can create whatever you want in the time given. For example for my self I worked really hard to have a polished product at the end that I could use as portfolio, but I've seen really basic projects while correcting my course mates. And I also saw amazing games with professional designs and even announced in Kickstater. So I guess this course adapts to your level and necessities.

von Jordan W

31. März 2016

This was a great learning experience, this particular course was interesting as it didn't teach you too much about what you're doing immediately, instead people in the industry taught on a much broader sense.

I completely recommend grouping up with a couple of other developers, even 1 other will greatly help you learn a variety of additional skills you wouldn't learn by being on your own.

von Johnny N

18. Juni 2016

Going through this whole Specialization has been a great journey. Thanks to this final project we were able to use everything we learned.

von Danish S

14. Sep. 2016

Awesome! Best for Game Development! Explained everything important !

von Robert B

8. Dez. 2016

Great course series that forced me to take some steps (design docs) that I'd normally skimp on, and in doing so, realizing their true value.

Throughout Coursera I'd love to see more instructor involvement in the courses. The 100% peer review system is a double edge sword. On one hand, I never felt I had an instructor looking at my work, but on the other hand, where else can you get constructive critiques on the internet ;-)

Overall, great experience. Star-- for feeling a little bit on rails, and not feeling the instructor involvement.

von SFUA

20. Juni 2016

Excellent capstones. But it would be mush better if there would be some lectures on Kongregate with example and exercises.

von Tobias W

22. Apr. 2018

Overall it's a great course. In this capstone project you're mostly on your own, utilizing what you've learned in the first four courses. The additional videos aren't directly helpful for your project, but motivating to keep working on the project. 8 weeks might not be much, especially for beginner developers, but if you don't overextend yourself when setting the scope for the game, it's doable.

The peer reviews worked fine for me, but other people had less than stellar experiences and I can see how it might not always be the best way to grade projects.

But at the end of this course you'll definitely have your own published game online for the world to see, which goes great with the certificate.

von Peter C

30. Mai 2017

This capstone project was a perfect way to build my skills and confidence as a developer. The previous classes provided a robust knowledge base that this class capitalized on. Focus was given to completing and publishing the project, making for a full overview of the development process. I highly recommend it.

von Jeffery S

26. Feb. 2017

I learn a lot from this course. Instructor is good. The last part is the guest lecture from the REAL developer, engineer, designer and etc. With the sharing of their experience make me understand better how to become a game developer. Other than that i also learn the pro and cons to become a game developer.

von Gabriel C

7. Nov. 2017

One of the best courses of game development ever! You go from the idea of a game, to create a game and finally publishing a game. The lectures are very helpful because the professionals come from different areas to give you a better understanding of the areas of game development.

von Youssouf I C

6. Sep. 2016

I would proudly say that is like the best game development course ever. it helped understand how the gaming industry work, how to make games and how to design And thanks to this specialization i've developed several games that i'm proud.

von Mohamed A E

6. Aug. 2017

u will get a real experince about making a game from scratch starting from game idea untill u shipping it , u will face some problems but u will handle it , u will improve your programming skills using c# according to your game

von Johan R

27. März 2016

It was awesome making my own game from start to finish, using all the knowledge I learned throughout all the courses in this specialisation, and also, seeing all the great content and ideas created by my classmates :)

von Jayanth T

4. Okt. 2016

Really enjoyed this Capstone! It was a nice challenge, and it really pushed me to create a game out of my own imagination! It was definitely a great experience that I enjoyed journeying through!

von Evert G

5. Dez. 2016

Really good course. I have learned a lot. The hardest part is realistic scoping and design for the little time available.

von nii n

29. Okt. 2020

beautiful milestone. would love the professors to be much involved in grading and analysis of project works

von W M C B

1. Nov. 2020

Highly recommend taking this course. I've actually made a game and published and really happy about it.

von Chai S

14. Aug. 2017

Tight schedule, but it's really pushing you move forward to next stage and finally ship you game.

von Gustavo P

13. Sep. 2016

Excellent, I hope this will help me kick-off my Game design career!

von tothetop23

5. Dez. 2016

Thanks for all the knowledge of Unity :). Good Instructor though.

von Victor F P S

19. Juni 2016

Really awesome, the best part of all the course, I learned a lot.

von Ευτύχης Γ

1. Dez. 2016

Perfect cource, build your game idea from scrath and publish it!