Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender von The University of Melbourne

4.6
271 Bewertungen
58 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Top-Bewertungen

E

Sep 12, 2019

I'm really enthused with the lesson cause I feel I had a general view before about this subject and now I m approaching the core. It;s been an issue that I was thinking a lot the last 2 years.

NM

Aug 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Gives you insights on how gender played an important role in the arts. Also how to differentiate and read work on sexuality and gender.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 58 Bewertungen für Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

von Catherine H

Dec 23, 2018

What a unique and interesting class!! I'm extremely happy that I took this class. Would highly recommend it!

von Nataliya

Dec 22, 2018

Very interesting course. I begin to understand art in another way.

von Carol G

Feb 03, 2019

Absolutely loved this course. It fed my soul to be guided through so many wonderful works of art.

Thank you

von Florie L

Feb 21, 2019

Rich, rigorous and sensitive artistic insight.

von Ana F

Oct 23, 2018

Excellent course!

von JOHN Q

Apr 20, 2016

Great Course! I loved looking at the art presented with a different context and understanding. Thanks so much.

von Elizabeth S

Jun 06, 2018

Getting the chance to participate in this interesting course was definitely one of the highlights of 2018! All professors were great speakers sharing their important knowledge on the subject in the most conceivable way for the audience. The Greek subtitles was a huge surprise for me since I am Greek :)

Thank you for this course!

von aybige t

Jul 06, 2016

E

von Liliana

May 20, 2017

I think this course is really important for people interested in art with a feminist view or in the sight of gender studies. You learn how to look at a painting from another point of view. The material is really interesting.

von Stella S

Jan 04, 2018

Fantastic! A great range of images and artists have been selected for study, and the concepts are fascinating.

von Rose S

Mar 26, 2017

A brilliant course, full of surprises and challenging ideas. I can't recommend it highly enough.

von Nikita M

Aug 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Gives you insights on how gender played an important role in the arts. Also how to differentiate and read work on sexuality and gender.

von Laura F

Apr 24, 2016

Mind-blowing !!! Thank you from the heart !!!!

von HUANG S

Jun 17, 2017

wonderful interpretation of masterpiece and art movement, help to deeply appreciate famous art works. Wish to attend more courses from Melbourne University

von Mohamed G

Aug 25, 2016

So good course with an excellent Staff,so thanks for all and specially for University of Melbourne to give me that chance.

von Bart S

Jun 27, 2016

outstanding, do it again!

von Alexandra M

Jan 06, 2018

Really enjoyed participating in this course! It gives a great introduction to gender theories in relation to their representation in famous works of art and shows changes in understanding of gender and sexuality through the art history. I also really liked more open dialogically-structured lectures offered in the weeks 8 materials.

I can recommend this to those who wants to start with gender studies or increase understanding of art works and especially to those who enjoys good mixed-discipline classes.

von Rosangela B

Aug 24, 2016

Thank you! Beautiful course.

von abigail c

Mar 17, 2018

Very interesting and high level of explanations

von María C T

Oct 03, 2017

Great teachers! Good select of artists for the course and definitely interesting gender emphasis!

von Natalie W

Jun 19, 2017

Great course! It has changed the way I view art. The lecturers make complex material accessible and interesting.

von Petra S

Apr 27, 2018

I am at week 7 in this course and am thoroughly enjoying it. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the history of art and the status quo for men and women throughout history, and how that influenced artists' careers and styles as painters,especially women. The mini video lectures are interesting well presented, the accessibility and information about paintings here in various galleries in Australia, in America and the UK is invaluable. It has convinced me further of the importance of art and how artists past and present can not only give us pieces of great beauty and amazing skill, but a window into a world that may have passed, be present or be otherwise not part of our world. It is refreshing also to be introduced to works where female subjects/sitters have agency, or to artists who went against the usual conventions of the time in their subject matter. A great course.

von Armin D

May 29, 2018

Thank you from Armenia !!!!

von Patricia M C

May 31, 2017

Sorry to be so insistent, but put subtitles in Spanish and added some Latin American art to your course, I think there are good contributions so you can take advantage of the subject.

von Tijana V

May 17, 2017

Excellent course for everyone who is interested in Art, Art History and Gender studies