Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender von The University of Melbourne

4.6
Sterne
314 Bewertungen
70 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Top-Bewertungen

E

Sep 12, 2019

I'm really enthused with the lesson cause I feel I had a general view before about this subject and now I m approaching the core. It;s been an issue that I was thinking a lot the last 2 years.

IC

May 30, 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 71 Bewertungen für Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

von Tracey L

Jul 07, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting and I am now looking at paintings from new perspectives and with greater depth.

von Mohamed G

Aug 25, 2016

So good course with an excellent Staff,so thanks for all and specially for University of Melbourne to give me that chance.

von Haleigh B

May 03, 2020

I very much enjoyed this course. It was full of interesting facts and stories and was easy to digest on a busy schedule.

von Natalie W

Jun 19, 2017

Great course! It has changed the way I view art. The lecturers make complex material accessible and interesting.

von JOHN Q

Apr 20, 2016

Great Course! I loved looking at the art presented with a different context and understanding. Thanks so much.

von Stella S

Jan 04, 2018

Fantastic! A great range of images and artists have been selected for study, and the concepts are fascinating.

von Catherine H

Dec 23, 2018

What a unique and interesting class!! I'm extremely happy that I took this class. Would highly recommend it!

von Carol G

Feb 03, 2019

Absolutely loved this course. It fed my soul to be guided through so many wonderful works of art.

Thank you

von María C T

Oct 03, 2017

Great teachers! Good select of artists for the course and definitely interesting gender emphasis!

von Rose S

Mar 26, 2017

A brilliant course, full of surprises and challenging ideas. I can't recommend it highly enough.

von Tijana V

May 17, 2017

Excellent course for everyone who is interested in Art, Art History and Gender studies

von sara

Dec 16, 2017

Great academic approach to the Gender discussion widening my horizon.

von Nataliya

Dec 22, 2018

Very interesting course. I begin to understand art in another way.

von Anne D

Jun 24, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it.

von abigail c

Mar 17, 2018

Very interesting and high level of explanations

von Florie L

Feb 21, 2019

Rich, rigorous and sensitive artistic insight.

von Laura F

Apr 24, 2016

Mind-blowing !!! Thank you from the heart !!!!

von Bernardino A O

Jan 22, 2017

A great course lead by very good teachers.

von Andrea C B

Jun 26, 2020

genial, muy interesante y completo !

von Ayushi

May 26, 2020

I absolutely loved the Course :")

von Rosangela B

Aug 24, 2016

Thank you! Beautiful course.

von Armin D

May 29, 2018

Thank you from Armenia !!!!

von Bart S

Jun 27, 2016

outstanding, do it again!

von Steve B

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent in every way

von Ana F

Oct 23, 2018

Excellent course!