Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender von The University of Melbourne

4.6
Sterne
400 Bewertungen
91 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Top-Bewertungen

EF

20. Mai 2021

Thanks for the opportunity of this course which was interesting and very well presented .The single inconvenience was Quiz # 9 which was not only difficult but very chaotic to understand and follow.

IC

29. Mai 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 93 Bewertungen für Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

von Rose S

26. März 2017

A brilliant course, full of surprises and challenging ideas. I can't recommend it highly enough.

von Tijana V

17. Mai 2017

Excellent course for everyone who is interested in Art, Art History and Gender studies

von Guey-Mei

3. Aug. 2021

I​t's been a wonderful art education for any entry level. I enjoyed it!

von sara

16. Dez. 2017

Great academic approach to the Gender discussion widening my horizon.

von Nataliya

22. Dez. 2018

Very interesting course. I begin to understand art in another way.

von Anne D

24. Juni 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it.

von Elena K

10. Okt. 2020

Very interesting and fulfilling course! I recommend it!

von abigail c

17. März 2018

Very interesting and high level of explanations

von Florie L

21. Feb. 2019

Rich, rigorous and sensitive artistic insight.

von Laura F

23. Apr. 2016

Mind-blowing !!! Thank you from the heart !!!!

von Maghia R

20. Feb. 2021

Merci à vous

Très instructif, très beautiful

von Bernardino A O

22. Jan. 2017

A great course lead by very good teachers.

von Andrea C B

26. Juni 2020

genial, muy interesante y completo !

von AYUSHI 1

26. Mai 2020

I absolutely loved the Course :")

von Rosangela B

24. Aug. 2016

Thank you! Beautiful course.

von Armin D

29. Mai 2018

Thank you from Armenia !!!!

von Bart S

27. Juni 2016

outstanding, do it again!

von Steve B

4. März 2018

Excellent in every way

von J.l. M S

14. Juli 2021

Excelente curso!!!

von Edith L

5. März 2021

Very interesting!

von Ana F

22. Okt. 2018

Excellent course!

von Germán G A

4. Dez. 2016

Great Course!

von aybige t

6. Juli 2016

E

von Olga L P R

11. Dez. 2018

I have learned about the codes of sexuality and gender through this course. Tests are a bit difficult but it depends on which is your best mental trend. You need lots of memory and find the exact words to answer the questions. Some can be tricky, some you can't understand them much well. However, the main conclusion is the world of art has a lot of this sexuality element and you feel the course gets short about it, but you get the ability to find it. I believe you should use it to find the codes in your local art museum.

von silvia e

15. Juni 2020

Un curso interesante, que nos ofrece el conocimiento necesario para poder leer de una manera más profunda obras de arte que, de otra forma, admiraríamos sólo por su apariencia. Excelente excusa, además, para reflexionar sobre el papel que la mujer ha tenido en la historia del arte (reflejo de su papel en la vida) y el papel que queremos tener en la actualidad y en el futuro.