Chevron Left
Zurück zu General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application von Rice University

4.6
Sterne
856 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Top-Bewertungen

ZK

28. Aug. 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

1. Okt. 2018

DEMAND

I would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 214 Bewertungen für General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

von Tracy L L

24. Dez. 2022

I learned a lot from the this course, but I found the quizzes were very difficult for a beginner course. However, I do understand that it is college level and part of my issues were that I hadn't taken algebra in over 40 years. It would be helpful, when you pass a quiz, but still get a few answers wrong, if the way to arrive at the correct answer could be given. I did enjoy this course a lot and may listen to it again just for fun!!

von Jeremy V

24. Aug. 2015

Course information is delivered in a new and exciting format. The first half of the course builds up base Chemistry ideals and Laws. The second half takes the student to places they never thought they would end up. Be sure to brush up on your College Algebra before taking. Overall a fun and challenging experience!

von Gary B

16. März 2018

Over all a good intro to chemistry but found it long after a while.Perhaps breaking up the single courses into two courses each covering a semester. Found the math during the last two weeks to be a beyond me and wha tI thought was required for a basic beginner course.

von Jason A

10. Aug. 2020

It was a great course to jump start your foundation in chemistry. Quizzes are nicely tailored from the topic and tests are requires basic to intermediate level of analysis as they are comprised with easy and hard questions.

von Viktor O

24. Aug. 2015

great course! Unlike other courses, this one really helps the student make a deeper understanding of chemistry and the conceptes that built the science!

von Oluwole A O

2. Juli 2021

It is a very educative and good course for moving forward and improving your knowledge in chemistry

von Darren C

25. Juli 2017

Helped me learn Chemistry from a fresh perspective! Highly recommended!

von Dr S M

30. Apr. 2022

great explanation and aswell usefull a lot to review my basics

von Josmar P

3. Apr. 2021

Lectures are quite good but quizzes have not the same quality.

von Mauritius X

17. Juli 2017

Very good. A quite effective way of teaching chemistry

von om p

12. Sep. 2020

This course are very useful in Chemistry subject

von Keith S

16. Dez. 2018

Very clear explanations, well presented.

von Stephen V I S

9. Juli 2021

It was kinda hard though but I liked it

von CHAMPION O A

13. Juli 2021

Great Course. No doubt about that!

von Akinmusire M O

22. Juli 2020

IT WAS EDUCATIVE AND ENLIGHTENING.

von Mohamed Y N

24. Apr. 2022

i had a fun learning experience.

von Tun L A

5. Juni 2016

Very Good Videos for Chemistry!

von Ebubechukwu D N

21. Juni 2021

Very Inquisitive & Efficient

von Emmanuel

13. Juli 2021

A new light on Chemistry!

von Dr. R K

9. März 2022

Very informative

von Ivan M A

24. Nov. 2022

topics are hard

von LILIANA G A

28. Okt. 2015

Muy buen curso

von ODUMO A C

2. Aug. 2020

thanks bro