Chevron Left
Zurück zu General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application von Rice University

4.6
Sterne
760 Bewertungen
188 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Top-Bewertungen

ZK

28. Aug. 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

1. Okt. 2018

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 196 Bewertungen für General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

von DIKSHA S

15. Juni 2020

I enjoyed every minute of this course and I have learnt so much. Thank you Coursera for this opportunity. I'll definitely recommend this course to my friends and colleagues.

von Christophe S

31. Aug. 2015

Excellent course, pleasant to listen to. Definitely improved my understanding of chemistry.

von Anna S

3. Juli 2020

Can I have the certificate of completion?

von Pandimadevi M

26. Mai 2020

The course is really interesting with the concepts and application. I could able to learn many such in the basic chemistry. Since chemistry is one of the subject, which is inter related to our day to day life, the curse is very much useful.

I am really proud to be one of the learner!!! -Dr.M.Pandimadevi, Prof., Department of Biotechnology, School of Bioengineering, SRM Institute of Science and Technology, Chennai, India

von Abatayo, D A

14. Juni 2020

I couldn't wait to take another module everytime i finished one..😍

I love to hear the detailed explanation to each topic's concept..

Thanks Prof. H..God bless you with so much strength and wisdom as you will continue to impart your knowledge to others! 🙏💓😘

von Akinsola B D A

9. Juni 2021

I love the opportunity given to me to learn this course... It explained the basis and really made me understand the harder parts, now i have better understanding and wider knowledge!.

von Deleted A

10. Sep. 2017

Great course!! Very helpful and intresting method of study.

von Tripat S

18. Sep. 2016

The best course to grasp the fundamentals of chemistry

von John H

8. Feb. 2016

Fantastic approach to concepts. Excellent instructor.

von 胡启涛

22. Aug. 2016

Excellent course. There are many questions to think.

von Bartolomemeseguer H

15. Nov. 2017

Good Teacher, good Metodology, recomendated 100%

von Jhon A C

28. Apr. 2020

Awesome. I leraned a lot of this course.

von Dr.Shailashree S

23. Mai 2020

course completed but no certificate

von Alfonso O

10. Okt. 2019

Excellent refreshing class!

von Kelly H

24. Jan. 2017

Nice !! Thank you very much

von jianghui

25. Sep. 2018

it is very important to me

von Dr M R K

10. Mai 2020

Great learning experience

von augustin m k

6. Sep. 2018

it's was good for me

von Andres C P V

11. März 2018

excellent, thank you

von Alma D

8. Sep. 2017

Excellent challenge!

von Abe N

27. Aug. 2015

Very informative

von ABHIJITH S R

5. Sep. 2015

Awesome Course.

von Mohamed A

3. Okt. 2017

Thank you all

von Jaya L

4. Juni 2016

Great course.

von M.R.T.

17. Juni 2019

Perfect MOOC