Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Genetics and Evolution von Duke University

4.8
Sterne
1,186 Bewertungen
308 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

Top-Bewertungen

AT
28. Mai 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH
3. Juli 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 302 Bewertungen für Introduction to Genetics and Evolution

von Styliani P

18. Feb. 2021

This course was so interesting, useful and funny. It is by far the favorite course that I have enrolled in coursera. Dr.Noor is an excellent speaker. He has passion and loves what he is doing, making me love his lessons and trying my best to succeed in this course. I found the course difficult, even though I am a biologist. I say difficult, but in fact this is a compliment, because I learned so many new thing and I am happy about it. I wish that every professor in the world had this passion that Dr. Noor has. Thank you for these past "genetic weeks". It was a pleasure being a part of this course's community!

von CAT’s B

28. Juni 2020

“Introduction to Genetics and Evolution” offered by Duke University is a mandatory course for anyone who wants to have a deep understanding in the fields of Genetics and Evolution from the introductory level, all the way to the advanced. I learnt many new things from this informative course and I recommend this to anyone who wants to have a thorough understanding in the above mentioned fields. I am glad that I utilised my time of lockdown fruitfully with the help of this amazing course. THANK YOU DUKE UNIVERSITY AND COURSERA.

von Jonathan N

9. Aug. 2017

An excellent course suitable for students, novices and amateur experts alike. Prof. Noor gives a comprehensive introduction to the topic and his enthusiasm is infectious. As well as making the technical genetic material much easier to understand than it might otherwise be, he does a great job of explaining clearly and convincingly (in Jerry Coyne's phrase) 'Why Evolution is True'. Plus he seems like a really nice guy, which always helps! Highly recommended for anyone with the slightest interest in genetics and evolution.

von MARCELA B M

3. Aug. 2020

Excellent program. Thanks professor Noor; maybe you could speak a little bit slower... Also, maybe it would be a good idea to include more conceptual exercises, in addition to the "proof" one included? In the quizes, sometimes it is the first time the student is challenged with putting concepts together and driving conclusions; and it is not necessarily that easy, eventhough the student might have watched the videos several times and eventhough the student has read all the additional material...

von Laura M M

13. März 2021

I am very glad I took this course. It is much well explained. It is quiet easy to follow, but you also have to focus and really follow it to pass the tests. At the end of it, you will have a better knowladge of bothe genetics and evolution. The videos also contain invideo questions, to make sure you are understanding, and it also contains examples to make it easier to learn. I really recomend it.

von João G S C

30. Nov. 2020

Awesome! I am a Psychology undergraduate in Brazil and I participate in a research team in Evolutionary Psychology, this course has helped me with many insights for the studies that we are conducting and has helped me to better understand the principles from which Evolutionary Theory operates. Thank you Coursera and thank you Prof. Noor, hope we might work together one day!

von Kim W

27. Dez. 2020

This course was amazing. More difficult and complex than I had anticipated, but extremely well paced with content sectioned off in a very appropriate way. Professor Noor was fabulous—knows the information well and injects humor into the course just when a little lightening is needed.

Thank you to everyone who worked on this course—I thoroughly enjoyed it.

von Isabella D

7. Sep. 2020

I made this course when i still was in my class of evolution on college, thanks to my evolution teacher and that was the best recommendation! I'm very grateful to professor Mohammed who teach the course, he made the most difficult things become the most fascinate ones and show me more approaches for evolution.

Thank you so much professor!

von Ruchi B

3. Sep. 2020

This is one of the best courses on Coursera. Thank you Dr Noor for teaching the subject so well. I would highly recommend this course to everyone who is interested in evolution. I had one of the most exciting experience learning introduction to genetics and evolution. Thank you Coursera.

von Don C

5. Dez. 2020

Prof. Noor is an engaging lecturer and has structured an informative introductory course. The homework is relevant and worthwhile. The weekly quizzes are sometimes challenging but usually stimulating. I recommend this course to anyone interested in the basics of genetics.

von Owais A

17. März 2021

It was a great learning experiene with Prof. Mohammad Noor through this course. Everything related to Genetics and Evolution was very well explained through this course especially, relating and calculating things by the real data and examples.

von Ivan H A

25. Okt. 2020

I really enjoy the experience, Dr Noor is well known authority on genetics and evolutionary processes and have a course with him is a privilege. Also is an amazing theacher, really walk me from the basic topics to principles and aplications in a easy and interesting way. I'm more than satisfy with the course. I'm very glad to find the course on internet and willing to get more. I'm interesting in aplications for species diversity and conservation and I will love to have a more advance course on population genetics. Thanks a lot.

von Withanage D D

3. Sep. 2020

This is the best course I did up to now. I love it. My ambition is to become a genetic engineer and I hope this course is my first step. Professor Noor is one of the best teachers I had in my life. I'm a university student and some theories were hard for me to understand in the university lectures but Professor Noor explained all those things in a simpler way. Even though the evolution part was bit hard I enjoyed this course so much.. Thanks Professor Noor..

von Taim N

11. Feb. 2017

I have just finished this course. This course was a wonderful experience. I would strongly suggest this course to anyone who is interested in the field of evolution. There are many interesting topics that are discussed in this course which will increase your appreciation for evolution. The professor's explanation is excellent. He will keep you interested in the course. The only thing that is wrong about this course is that it didn't last longer.

von Sarthak N S

3. Dez. 2019

Extremely insightful, the way he transitioned from the knowledge that I, as a high school senior am aware of, to ideas that I hadn't ever encountered before was extremely impressive. The instructor was charismatic and insightful. The quality of the course was commendable as well but it has to be noted that the audio quality was a bit off in a couple videos from weeks 1 and 2. Nevertheless, the course remained gripping and exciting throughout.

von Siddharth S

30. Jan. 2017

I absolutely enjoyed the course! The topics are well-explained and tie in together with each other, so you get a broad picture of genetics, speciation, evolution, and other concepts. The videos are backed with interesting supplemental material to read and ponder. Also, the lecturer is really interesting, not like most online courses where they simply read off notes. It's an informational and interactive course, and I highly recommend it!

von Zaneta P N N

24. März 2016

Dr Noor's enthusiasm and relaxed teaching style makes even the more technical subject matter seem interesting. Although not always easy I have been compelled to keep pushing forward as I feel I am learning a great deal about myself and species around me. By far one of the best courses I have taken on this platform. I hope to continue studying the area of genetics as a result of this course. Thanks and keep up the good work!!!

von Vasfi G İ

29. Nov. 2020

The course was perfect, and I can promise those who just enrolled, that you will not regret. As a medical student, I really had hard times to connect things to each other which almost led me to failing. But I can say that this course was the only thing I needed. I, now, can understand far better and it definitely increased my grades as I can see from the results, and I am sure ıt will also help me in my academic career.

von Sikandar Q

19. Apr. 2020

A very interesting course that has taught me the basics of genetics and evolution and has given me a fair direction for carrying out research in future. Dr Mohammad Noor has a wonderful way of delivering the knowledge he has acquired through his research over the period of his brilliant academic career and I recommend this course to everyone who wishes to pursue a career in the research related to Genetics

von Piret V

6. Sep. 2020

Professor Noor is a great instructor and I really enjoyed the course! It gets into Genetics and Evolution on a deeper level and you should be ready to do some math! :D It was very interesting and I learned a lot. Can recommend to everyone who want some insight on this subject or for example don't know much about it and wonder if it is something they would like to study! Only positive feelings :)

von Hamid A

13. Jan. 2018

very interesting and full of knowledge course. I learn this course very much. and Dr. Muhammad Noor is a nice person and the way of teaching is very impressive. many of my concepts about genetics and evolution clear in this course within few weeks. I specially thankful to the coursera team which give this huge platform to the people who are the seekers of knowledge. thank you again team coursera

von Doğa D Ç

29. Dez. 2020

I found this course super fascinating and learned a lot from it. I believe, due to the pandemic, this is one of the safest ways you can spend time at home. Dr. Mohamed Noor has taught me a lot about Genetics. He is both a high profile researcher, a very gifted teacher. For anyone interested in the field of genetics, I highly recommend this course. I'm very pleased to have taken this course!

von Arkady S

24. Mai 2020

Very clear lectures requiring no background knowledge. Everything is super well explained. Now I'm able to read articles about related topics and understand them a little more. I wish the pace was a little faster but at the same time didn't want to skip ahead in case I would miss something cool. When professor Noor presents arguments supporting evolution, he can sound a little biased.

von Herman A

8. Apr. 2018

There are a lot of things to take away from this class, but what struck me the most was Dr. Noor himself. Certainly he is a role model to all his colleagues. His lecture style, slide and quiz designs all show hints of a pedagogic genius at work. He certainly makes learning easy, and I have learned a lot! I feel fully confident in my ability to delve deeper into evolution and genomics.

von leslie l

1. März 2016

Great course for all. I go into a coma when it comes to doing math. I hate it. I like science so was happy to find that this course explains concepts including the math in a clear concise and comprehensible fashion. And Dr Khan is a fun dude who conveys his love of the subject in a snappy interesting manner. I would like more courses in genetics that can do this.