Chevron Left
Zurück zu GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality von University of California, Davis

4.9
Sterne
1,561 Bewertungen
325 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtern nach:

301 - 320 von 320 Bewertungen für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

von Sreenivasan N

Apr 10, 2018

I found the final quiz to be slightly tricky. But could crack it with the support of the members from the discussion forum.

Thank you Coursera

von Pedro P

Jun 02, 2020

Everything great except for the web lesson. Very nice assigments. You can feel how much work is behind this course.

von Jesse B

Mar 01, 2017

Introduces some good spatial analysis techniques. You learn how to integrate raster and vector data.

von Kyle

Jan 08, 2020

Nick is a great and friendly instructor. Assignment was challenging, generally in a good way.

von Nancy V W

Jun 25, 2017

This is a very good course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning GIS.

von Simona B

Nov 18, 2016

Lots of contents, I really enjoyed this course. Good material and videos. Thanks

von Ignacio R G

Jul 15, 2019

The course needs more practice items that does not require to buy a GIS book.

von ANU R

Jul 02, 2017

If you truly want to learn GIS. Just this is perfect platform.

von Andrew B

Jul 06, 2020

Very good course materials and clearly presented videos

von Akhil C

Mar 05, 2018

Overall a good course with a lot of stuff to learn.

von HandaShi

May 11, 2017

If you are good at SQL you don't need this course.

von Ahmed E A G

Aug 19, 2017

GOOD COURSE

von SOUGATA M

May 20, 2020

nice

von Henry M M

Mar 01, 2017

Good

von Charlotte M

May 27, 2020

Major lack in instructor support but a decent intro to GIS. Also, some clunks in hw instructions that slow things down. The first lecture should be on getting your student license bc it takes a few days to receive.

von Paul E

Aug 21, 2016

Scattered and lacking focus. The material is all there, but it feels like a laundry list of miscellany that didn't make it into the previous or next course in the specialisation.

von Giuseppe B

Apr 20, 2020

some confusion arise in some lessons, issue with software well recognized by authors. so and so on the whole

von Mona S

Jul 29, 2017

very hard

von Leo T

Dec 15, 2019

The grading on the final assignment is taking away all my pleasure in taking the course. I should score 100%, but reviewers can't seem to see all layers in the map. And that is while I've checked the online map on multiple computers and in 4 different browsers.

It seems to me that this is an assignment that shouldn;t be structured that way. For me this is grading by chance. Can the reviewer see the map or not? If they can see it, I get a 100% mark, but if they cannot see one of the layers I will flunk.

von Kunjie C

Jan 20, 2017

The final assignment is impossible to finish since I have 10.4 version in my computer. You, as the course provider, should modify the assignment instead of asking the student to make changes. The point is that we are trying to gain some knowledge, not wasting time on solving those bugs.