Chevron Left
Zurück zu GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality von University of California, Davis

4.9
Sterne
1,865 Bewertungen
406 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top-Bewertungen

LT
25. Dez. 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS
30. Apr. 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 401 Bewertungen für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

von Rodrigo p

29. Juni 2020

.

von Litia

11. März 2018

N

von Siskin C S

14. Sep. 2016

G

von Simon D

16. Apr. 2018

The course is very good, but I did find that I had problems with some subjects that were not covered well enough to be able to work out the outcome required. I push myself hard anyway, so pretty happy to get through when I know I could have done better. Thanks again Nick, I will start the 3rd course, once I am happy my computer has all the components I need for ArcGIS to run without wanting files from my other computer. Have a great day.

von Cornelis A G

14. Juli 2020

The course is interesting, especially the part explaining several of the workflows with rasters. There is so much you can extract from a Digital Elevation Model. The part dealing with SQL and queries could be improved upon. I for one, would like to learn a bit more of the basics of the models underlying this part of ArcMap. At lerast give some pointers to a book or a course that deals with the basics of these programming languages.

von Aarthi P

3. Sep. 2019

Great course! Compared to the first course of this GIS specialization (Fundamentals of GIS), this 2nd course has a few minor gaps in the lecture notes/videos. However, some exploration and practice, as well as other readings do help with overall understanding and with completing the assignments successfully.

Thanks very much!

von Meg N

19. Juli 2020

I learned a lot in this course. The only thing that I could say needs improving is to give answers to the open-ended questions posed in the tutorials. I really wanted to know the answers. Overall, I think that I am way more knowledgeable about ArcGIS than I was before I began this course.

von Adam S

22. Aug. 2016

Peer Review system needs an overhaul. I would suggest increasing the number of reviews required by each student so you one incorrect (based on user error) review does not influence your grade so significantly.

Otherwise, this is an informative and useful course.

von Sean B

19. Dez. 2017

I would have given it 5 stars, but Tutorial Assignment 3 was written as though it was pulled from another course without editing, and contained references to file paths and names that didn't match the reality of the course and required some deduction to sort out.

von Timothy R A S

19. Apr. 2021

A lot of good new material. One comment would be to adjust the file name for the directory in the Valmeyer Assignment data given to us, so it does not have the .gdb as part of the directory name. That creates problems deep into the assignment.

von Mathew M

8. Aug. 2017

Content is excellent. It does go by very fast and a lot of key elements of tools are glossed over... so you need to watch many of the lessons more than once in order to complete the final project unless you have done this work before.

von L J

21. Feb. 2021

Great content. Tutorials are well designed and allowed me to practice the theory in preparation for the graded assignment. Thank you to the team for a well-put-together course and delivered in an easy-to-understand manner.

von Andrew R

30. Dez. 2017

I understand that all the information presented here is valuable but the subject matter was a little more dry than the first course in the specialisation. Nonetheless, it was very well put together and I learned a lot.

von Sarah V

12. Sep. 2018

Great information and weekly assignments/lectures. The final project, at times, was very difficult and I did not receive much mentor help. It was still a doable assignment and was able to pass.

von Alex G

18. Juni 2018

This course was more difficult than I expected, but provided good video lectures and plenty of examples to help me better understand some of the many things that can be done with GIS.

von Holly S

26. Jan. 2017

I didn't love the final project for this. It took a lot of time due to some software glitches. Seems like that is unnecessary and should be better managed in the future.

von Jason M

11. Okt. 2016

More in-depth work with ArcMap and associated principles. Redundant to a degree with the intro to the specialization, but good blend of instruction and assignments.

von Zannis K

2. Sep. 2018

Really nice intro to working with rasters and performing calculations based on them, either to produce new rasters or in comparison with vector data.

von Sreenivasan N

9. Apr. 2018

I found the final quiz to be slightly tricky. But could crack it with the support of the members from the discussion forum.

Thank you Coursera

von Aik J R

25. Aug. 2020

A little boring at first in this course, but it become interesting later. A little difficult to doing assignment. But it is cool.

von FRANCISCA P D A

28. Okt. 2020

Muy buen curso. Super clara la información y muy didáctico . Hay que dedicarle varias horas a la semana, pero vale la pena.

von Pedro P

2. Juni 2020

Everything great except for the web lesson. Very nice assigments. You can feel how much work is behind this course.

von Jesse B

1. März 2017

Introduces some good spatial analysis techniques. You learn how to integrate raster and vector data.

von Kyle

8. Jan. 2020

Nick is a great and friendly instructor. Assignment was challenging, generally in a good way.

von Andres F V M

28. Sep. 2020

Buen curso, bastante claro en las lecciones y las multiples aplicaciones que se le puede dar