Chevron Left
Zurück zu GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality von University of California, Davis

4.9
Sterne
1,858 Bewertungen
405 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top-Bewertungen

LT
25. Dez. 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS
30. Apr. 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 400 Bewertungen für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

von Jason W

15. Dez. 2019

This class gets into the really fun topics that got me interested in GIS in the first place like raster manipulation, spatial analyst tools, editing and creating features, and all the neat things you can do with the toolbox.

von Esmaeel A

10. Sep. 2019

Great course. The lectures are clear, informative, well organized and recapitulated with detailed tutorial materials that provide guided practice. The assignments have valuable content and reflect practical applications.

von Nicolas W

15. Apr. 2020

Well laid outcourse with solid instruction and practice opportunities. It is definitely more rigorous than the previous course in the specialization, but should not be too difficult for anyone with familiarity with GIS.

von Hiyas C

4. Juli 2021

T​his course dwells deeper into processing and analyzing vector and raster data. The course pace is good and reasonable for working adults. The exercises and assessments were also good and focused on essential topics.

von James C

28. Apr. 2016

This course was challenging but it really forced you to learn ArcGIS. I really liked every one of the class lectures and found them easy to follow and a perfect in length. I can't wait until the next segment open up!

von Xiyue Z

11. Juli 2020

Leant a ton of new stuff. Very interesting and useful course. I use the skills obtained on daily basis at work. I can't wait to start the next course in this specialization. Thank you so much Nick and your team!

von Keron K

19. Juli 2021

Really good , clear explanations. I loved how the theory was interwoven into real life applications in the software. I really did find it really good and will re-use the material as a reference in the future.

von Deleted A

7. März 2020

Another great course on GIS analysis. It's a bit more in depth and helps teach you how to manipulate data a bit more. It's helpful if you deal with large datasets and need to know how to manipulate them more.

von Natalie B

17. Aug. 2017

A bit more advanced than the first course in the specialization and really interesting! The final assignment allowed for a good understanding of the spatial analyst tools and the reasons behind using them.

von Daniel M

16. Apr. 2020

This course helped me get a better grip on building maps and the managing of geodatabases. It made me more confident in pursuing the building of GIS maps on my own with publicly available geoinformation.

von Leonard E T

25. Dez. 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

von Syed M Z S

1. Mai 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

von Grazyna M R

26. Juni 2021

Brilliant course! Essential knowledge for anyone wanting to become a GIS analyst. Great videos and tutorials, and assignment, which help you to apply and understand what you have learned.

von Pablo G M

13. Mai 2019

The next step into a deeper dive in the world of GIS, giving the first steps in order to start creating, editing and modifying data.

A well planned course with a good level of progression.

von Deva D

23. Feb. 2017

The course provides required knowledge to understand GIS File types, data formats, Design, Spatial Analysis and Creating Web Maps etc., My sincere thanks to the Instructor Mr.Nick Santos.

von Ostap F

18. Nov. 2020

There's a lot of useful information for working with data. You can learn how to clean, manage and create data, which is vital if you want to publish your work online for others to see.

von Abdul R

14. Sep. 2020

Excellent course to have taken. Really enjoyed the course. And the instructor was really helpful throughout the course and explained everything in a really simple and straight manner.

von Allison P

25. Aug. 2019

This course was super fun! It allows your to really get your hands dirty with ArcGIS as it introduces you to creating feature classes, digitizing your own data and creating web maps!

von Rich J

1. Dez. 2020

Teacher does a very nice job at explaining the subject matter. The only drawback to Coursera is that sometimes it is difficult to get anyone to answer a question about the material.

von Adrian J O

9. Nov. 2020

Great Course! Thought it will be difficult learning the course but the course tutor took me through very well and that made my learning very easy. It very interesting to learn GIS.

von Huzaifa M M

20. Dez. 2019

I expected that I have learned GIS in the last two years, but this course realized me that It wasn't even a scratch. Thanks, Nicholas and team Coursera for such a wonderful course.

von henloy A

27. Dez. 2018

Well Structured Course. Gave me a lot of confidence and the teacher was great in explaining all the aspects. Some of the classes had a lot of information but it was worth it

von Andrey S

20. Sep. 2016

The course has opened my eyes to a lot of new concepts, workflows and tools in ArcMap. Challanging, fun, motivating and educating. very pleased with myself for taking it on.

von Abu M A F

20. Apr. 2020

The best thing about this source is I had learned web mapping. This course give me clear concept about GIS data format and how to design correctly with maintaining quality.

von mo'men s

4. Sep. 2020

it helped me a lot in mastering vector data and editing them, gave me an introdustion to how raster data works, also i knew details about the types of databases in detail.