Chevron Left
Zurück zu GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality von University of California, Davis

4.9
Sterne
1,293 Bewertungen
252 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 245 Bewertungen für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

von Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

von Lydia C

May 14, 2019

The structure of this course is excellent. It is meticulously designed and put together, the videos are straight forward and concise. The professor, Nick Santos, is extremely skilled, passionate and organised. I highly recommend it.

von Sergio E T

May 29, 2017

Great foundation for understanding the value of data and what makes a good data set different from a bad one.

Goes over methods to classify, sort, modify, and organize data for your projects and those you share with other analysts.

von Arnold T

May 23, 2016

Awesome course. Comprehensive content. Great lecturer. Proper labs. I like how this course does not just let you wade through learning GIS, because the technical level is high. You'll be a pro after going through all these courses

von César R P

Aug 07, 2017

Another forward step in GIS learning, starting to use some geoprocessing tools, and understanding how the geodatabases work, and when to use each tipe. Also, great start to learn how to make your own data. Great course overall.

von Jason W

Dec 15, 2019

This class gets into the really fun topics that got me interested in GIS in the first place like raster manipulation, spatial analyst tools, editing and creating features, and all the neat things you can do with the toolbox.

von Esmaeel A

Sep 10, 2019

Great course. The lectures are clear, informative, well organized and recapitulated with detailed tutorial materials that provide guided practice. The assignments have valuable content and reflect practical applications.

von James C

Apr 28, 2016

This course was challenging but it really forced you to learn ArcGIS. I really liked every one of the class lectures and found them easy to follow and a perfect in length. I can't wait until the next segment open up!

von Natalie B

Aug 17, 2017

A bit more advanced than the first course in the specialization and really interesting! The final assignment allowed for a good understanding of the spatial analyst tools and the reasons behind using them.

von Leonard E T

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

von Syed M Z S

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

von Galyna U

Aug 07, 2016

This is a really nice course that lets to go deeper into GIS concepts, at this point one can feel power on the fingertips - ability to create and publish own online maps can not be underestimated!

von Obed M

Jan 27, 2018

Good course, well structured to deliver the invaluable skills, ranging from data management to final output after processing. Good exposure to the toolbox, expecting more in the next course.

von Pablo G M

May 13, 2019

The next step into a deeper dive in the world of GIS, giving the first steps in order to start creating, editing and modifying data.

A well planned course with a good level of progression.

von V. D

Feb 23, 2017

The course provides required knowledge to understand GIS File types, data formats, Design, Spatial Analysis and Creating Web Maps etc., My sincere thanks to the Instructor Mr.Nick Santos.

von Allison P

Aug 25, 2019

This course was super fun! It allows your to really get your hands dirty with ArcGIS as it introduces you to creating feature classes, digitizing your own data and creating web maps!

von Huzaifa M M

Dec 20, 2019

I expected that I have learned GIS in the last two years, but this course realized me that It wasn't even a scratch. Thanks, Nicholas and team Coursera for such a wonderful course.

von Henloy A

Dec 27, 2018

Well Structured Course. Gave me a lot of confidence and the teacher was great in explaining all the aspects. Some of the classes had a lot of information but it was worth it

von Andrey S

Sep 20, 2016

The course has opened my eyes to a lot of new concepts, workflows and tools in ArcMap. Challanging, fun, motivating and educating. very pleased with myself for taking it on.

von Crystal R M

May 01, 2016

Great class for expanding your GIS foundation skills. Learn to create and edit features; determine slope, elevation, and distance; upload your content to ArcGIS web maps.

von Natasha J

Mar 21, 2019

Great course that teaches you the basics of arcGIS. It is obvious that a lot of work has been put into it. I enjoyed the assignments and can hihgly recommend this course

von Angelica B

Jan 17, 2019

its is a great opportunity to get involved into a GIS analysis, and have a wide knowledge about the right way to work with the information make easy the manage of data.

von Huanglei P

Dec 27, 2017

I highly suggest people who have finished the fundamental course to take this course because it is also a really important part to master the basic contents of ArcGIS

von David C

Aug 03, 2019

Assignments and quizzes tie in well with the comprehensive lectures. The instructor is very knowledgeable, and his dedication is evident in the course materials.

von Cort C

Aug 22, 2017

Great overview of common workflows that involve managing and processing various types of data. Prepares the student for more complicated processes in ArcGIS.