Chevron Left
Zurück zu GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality von University of California, Davis

4.9
1,221 Bewertungen
235 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 229 Bewertungen für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

von D. C

Jun 12, 2016

I enjoy this course , Excellent learning resource for Gis Data Formats, Design and Quality that teaches with examples ,

von Ivana B

Jan 30, 2017

This is a really good course, I strongly recommend. In this course we've learned lots of new analysis tools which are very useful in different kinds of work. Thank you UC Davis, thank you Nick Santos and thank you Coursera for this opportunity.

von Diana S

Jan 09, 2017

Excellent course =)!!

von Sara O

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent course. Very clear lectures and assignments. I learned a lot.

von Matheus S B

Sep 01, 2016

I really think that this course is the best specialization already available online.

von Marcos G

Aug 12, 2016

Awesome course! Thanks!

von James M

Aug 17, 2016

Another really good course on GIS. I followed on from the first in the specialisation and I think I would have been quite lost without doing that.

I like to follow the videos with the demo materials in an open version of ArcGIS - this can be quite hard as some of the demo materials are very big and my laptop struggles to keep up with big processing, a slight improvement could be to have smaller demo files.

von Deleted A

Jun 13, 2017

Exceptionally Informative

von April H

Dec 26, 2017

This course continues building on the foundation introduced in the first course in the specialization, providing a good quantity of new information using the same easy-to-follow format. One of the exercises in this class involves going through a tutorial provided by ESRI and, while it's very informative, the comparison makes it clear that the instructions with screenshots for exercises created by the instructor are easier to understand and follow. The instructor clearly put a lot of thought and effort into the content and structure of the class and materials. While the course focuses on ArcGIS specifically, many of the concepts demonstrated can be applied regardless of which computer application is used.

von Laura M

Aug 07, 2016

Another great class in the GIS specialization! The lectures and course materials are very well thought out. This course moves pasts the basics and gets into details for GIS data formats. The tutorial assignments and project are very useful in practicing the concepts learned in the video lectures. Highly recommend!

von karmvir s r

Mar 19, 2017

Takes one step above from Funadamentals of GIS...Must take course!!!!

von Jitan D

Jul 26, 2017

An interactive course! I'm happy to be enrolled.

von Srijita S

Aug 09, 2016

After the Fundamentals of GIS course, this was my second course in the series. This course covers very useful tools that we need to learn. The lectures were short and simple, to the point. The best part was the final peer graded assignment. The course instructors did a remarkable job in designing the problem and it was a great recapitulation of what we learnt during the course. The discussion forum was also a great place to learn. Thanks to my course mates and it actually felt like being together in a classroom. I am thoroughly enjoying being a part of this specialisation and would love to continue. Thank you all.

von Isaiah B

Feb 19, 2017

Excellent course. I'm a current master's student and this course was essential to my understanding of Raster GIS. A must for the GIS-oriented professional!

von Wen H

Nov 12, 2016

Great contents, very wel presented and fun to do assignments!

von V. D

Feb 23, 2017

The course provides required knowledge to understand GIS File types, data formats, Design, Spatial Analysis and Creating Web Maps etc., My sincere thanks to the Instructor Mr.Nick Santos.

von Filip M

Apr 29, 2016

Nice MOOC

von Saroj U

Sep 09, 2016

Fantastic course and the instructor is also really nice. I would highly recommend this course to my friends.

von King V

Jun 10, 2016

Excellence!

von Thrudur H

Oct 25, 2016

So useful! The teacher is also absolutely brilliant. Thank you!

von monikamendoza

Jun 16, 2016

Excellent course. I will take the next one :)

von Cole F

Aug 13, 2017

Wonderful. I found this much more challenging than the first course, and to be honest, my enthusiasm for the course was not as strong as it was for course 1. But, that is normal for me with coursera classes. I'm proud to say this is the first Coursera specialization where I completed TWO of the classes. Normally, I would complete 1, and not finish the second. But I was very determined, and I managed to finish this one. Great job Nick. I love your teaching style, and the clarity of the instructions of your assignments is second to NONE on this website. Congratulations on a job well done.

von MAGGIE G M

Aug 24, 2016

useful course

von Heitor C d S

Jun 01, 2017

Very good professor, with high skills on the subject. I learned a lot in usign ArcGIS.

von Galyna U

Aug 07, 2016

This is a really nice course that lets to go deeper into GIS concepts, at this point one can feel power on the fingertips - ability to create and publish own online maps can not be underestimated!