Chevron Left
Zurück zu GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality von University of California, Davis

4.9
1,258 Bewertungen
242 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 235 Bewertungen für GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality

von Jenevra W

Apr 28, 2019

This course is definitely worth your time, especially if you use GIS in your everyday work. There's a lot of information packed in to 4 weeks, but the final assignment is incredibly rewarding. I would recommend anyone who has taken the first course in this specialization to continue on with this course.

von Shwahibu M

Jul 17, 2017

The course is great for the intermeddiate GIS learner......I encourage you guys to get enrolled and discover more about GIS data formats

von Carlos T H

Jun 07, 2018

Tal como el primer curso de la especialización en SIG es excelente, Nick Santos es un gran tutor, la estructura del contenido es apropiada y sigue una secuencia que hace que todo sea mas fácil de entender. Definitivamente recomiendo este gran curso a otras personas interesadas.

von Marit d L

Mar 03, 2018

Excellent course, great final assignment!

von Natalie B

Aug 17, 2017

A bit more advanced than the first course in the specialization and really interesting! The final assignment allowed for a good understanding of the spatial analyst tools and the reasons behind using them.

von Diana D

Feb 09, 2017

Easier than I expected to follow. Great help in forums.

von Amna A M A

May 26, 2018

Excellent course

von Pius A K

Jul 30, 2018

Great course , Prof Nick is really good.

von Saroj U

Sep 09, 2016

Fantastic course and the instructor is also really nice. I would highly recommend this course to my friends.

von Mohammed A

Jan 15, 2019

The course is professional and exactly what I needed to excel at GIS.

von Lydia C

May 14, 2019

The structure of this course is excellent. It is meticulously designed and put together, the videos are straight forward and concise. The professor, Nick Santos, is extremely skilled, passionate and organised. I highly recommend it.

von Sarah V

Sep 12, 2018

Great information and weekly assignments/lectures. The final project, at times, was very difficult and I did not receive much mentor help. It was still a doable assignment and was able to pass.

von Zannis K

Sep 02, 2018

Really nice intro to working with rasters and performing calculations based on them, either to produce new rasters or in comparison with vector data.

von Adam S

Aug 22, 2016

Peer Review system needs an overhaul. I would suggest increasing the number of reviews required by each student so you one incorrect (based on user error) review does not influence your grade so significantly.

Otherwise, this is an informative and useful course.

von Simona B

Nov 18, 2016

Lots of contents, I really enjoyed this course. Good material and videos. Thanks

von Ahmed E A G

Aug 19, 2017

GOOD COURSE

von Holly S

Jan 26, 2017

I didn't love the final project for this. It took a lot of time due to some software glitches. Seems like that is unnecessary and should be better managed in the future.

von HandaShi

May 11, 2017

If you are good at SQL you don't need this course.

von Mathew M

Aug 08, 2017

Content is excellent. It does go by very fast and a lot of key elements of tools are glossed over... so you need to watch many of the lessons more than once in order to complete the final project unless you have done this work before.

von Henry M M

Mar 01, 2017

Good

von Andrew R

Dec 30, 2017

I understand that all the information presented here is valuable but the subject matter was a little more dry than the first course in the specialisation. Nonetheless, it was very well put together and I learned a lot.

von Sean B

Dec 19, 2017

I would have given it 5 stars, but Tutorial Assignment 3 was written as though it was pulled from another course without editing, and contained references to file paths and names that didn't match the reality of the course and required some deduction to sort out.

von Nancy V W

Jun 25, 2017

This is a very good course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning GIS.

von Jesse B

Mar 01, 2017

Introduces some good spatial analysis techniques. You learn how to integrate raster and vector data.

von ANU R

Jul 02, 2017

If you truly want to learn GIS. Just this is perfect platform.