Chevron Left
Zurück zu Fundamentals of GIS

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Fundamentals of GIS von University of California, Davis

4.8
Sterne
4,973 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

A

16. Mai 2021

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM

4. Okt. 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished

I would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com

Why don't answer me?

Regards

Victor Ramon

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 1,518 Bewertungen für Fundamentals of GIS

von dora k

14. Jan. 2021

The best course I had so far on coursera. Nick Santos is great, he goes above and beyond to make sure we get everything right, explains stuff clearly and he is very thorough. the course setup and logical order is also great. Can only recommend and thanks Nick.

von Sofi S

13. März 2020

The concepts were very clearly and concisely explained; the practice assignments (1-3) were very helpful in developing experience working with ArcMap; and Dr. Santos is a great lecturer. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants an introduction to GIS.

von Alexandre M

9. Jan. 2017

Highly recommended! The content is a fascinating introduction to using ArcMap and real-world data to create basic maps. Individual skills are taught in a stepwise fashion and culminate in an enjoyable final assignment. Nick is a terrific teacher - well done!

von Ángel B

19. Feb. 2018

I had previous experience with ArcGIS because I had to learn on my own, but this course taught me a lot more tools than I thought I would get from a "fundamentals" course. The teacher is very detailed and thorough, yet very easy to understand. Great course.

von Huanglei P

27. Dez. 2017

Although it is a fundamental course, Nick illustrated core concepts of GIS and most useful operations and skills on ArcGIS. When finishing this course, you are able to do some primary analysis and draw beautiful and professional maps in ArcGIS! Really cool!

von Katharine S

6. Feb. 2017

Really awesome instructor! He walks you through everything. He assumes you know little about computers and programming, which is great for people trying to gain a deep understanding of why things work the way they do. Really helpful introduction to ArcGIS!

von JCarlos P

12. Nov. 2019

Mr Santos and his team have done a great job in this course. I'd highlight two points that I appreciated a lot: the final assignment closely relates to the course's content and the right balance between depth and breadth of the weekly topics. Congrats.

von Karyn D

30. Juni 2018

I have been using ArcGIS for a long time and I am very comfortable with the program features that I use frequently. I expected this introductory course to be all review, but was very pleased that I learned so much more already. On the the next course!...

von Andrew K

7. Juni 2017

Well paced introduction to GIS - If you don't have a solid background in various windows applications, file management, and basic analytics concepts allow more time to go through the assignments (and revise the course material) and make sure you do them!

von Ben S

14. Feb. 2021

Outstanding course. Nick is a passionate and effective instructor. Great to have the self-guided but still structured format. All lectures and written assignment instructions are thorough and easy to follow. Recommended refresher or first time GIS user.

von Matthew P

18. Apr. 2022

Great introduction to GIS. Does a good job of introducing the topics and allowing you to work through the material on your own either simultaneously or after you watch the videos so you can learn how to use the tool to conduct the appropriate analysis.

von NIPIN K P

21. Aug. 2020

The course is exceptionally wonderful and informative. Almost covered all the basic topics in GIS and the basics of ArcGIS. The Mentor 'Nick Santos' and their team have taken a great effort for this course. Thank you UC Davis for such a great course.

von Mihaela F

11. Sep. 2018

Great course, well structured, and well balanced between practice and theory. I had already worked with GIS in university, but this course brought up some basic details that I until now missed. I am looking forward for the next courses in this suite.

von Ragab Q

12. Jan. 2021

Before I introduce to this course I think its normal course as any course online, but after two or three days I feel I am inside the course lap

really it is a very good course and I hope to complete or course with you

Thank you so much

Ragab Abourokba

von Madeline M

22. Juni 2020

This is a great course for a first time GIS users! The assignments come with tons of helpful detail to help you succeed as you create your first maps. ArcGIS is an intimidating programs where your first steps are made accessible through this course.

von Saubhagya S R

15. Aug. 2017

Very well planned course. The videos and demo materials helped a lot in learning the concepts. The instructions to do the non-graded HWs were very detailed, which I would use as a reference material whenever I have some doubt regarding those topics.

von Catherine R

19. Mai 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was very helpful and I think by the final project submission I was fairly familiar with the fundamentals of GIS. I also used the supplemental reading that was suggested for the course and found it also very useful.

von Vaibhav G

6. Nov. 2017

It is a course that helps you understand the basics of GIS very easily (without any prior knowledge of the Arc software). The assignments at the end of every week is something that helps you a lot so if you are taking this course don't skip that.

von Jegadeesh R

16. Mai 2016

This course gave me a great overview of GIS and in particular ArcGIS.

Big thanks to our instructor Nick Santos, who he was excellent in explaining the concepts

and how the tool works!!

I'd happily recommend this course to anyone interested in GIS.

von Lauren C

15. Okt. 2018

Fantastic course, very well thought out and put together for anyone to understand. I never thought I would be able to grasp GIS concepts but the instructor explains everything so well. This was amazing and I would highly recommend to anyone!

von Asif I

13. März 2021

This course is really fantastic and I'm really out of words to thank Coursera for granting me free of cost opportunity to take this course. Despite delays in course completion at my end, Cousera team was pretty helpful to give me extension.

von S R

3. Aug. 2020

I am currently pursuing a master of technology in GIS and RS, while I thought I knew the basics of GIS and RS fairly well, I realized after taking this course the ocean of GIS has no depth. wonderfully delivered by Prof. Nick Santos:)

Cheers

von Warner B

31. Okt. 2017

I learned to use ArcMap in grad school several years ago, but needed a refresher to learn what new tricks the software could do. This course was an excellent start and I was glad for the opportunity to use ESRI's new cloud sharing tools.

von Shaun J

3. Dez. 2019

As a student intending to pursue a career in epidemiology, the course 'Fundamentals of GIS' opened up a new perspective for me. One that of a spacial analyst. I highly recommend this course for those who want to get familiar with ArcGIS.

von Jessica D

31. Okt. 2016

I really enjoyed this course. It was very thorough and I felt like I got a good grasp on the basics of GIS which was really helpful for the future courses. Definitely a great course to take if you are looking to master the basics of GIS.