Chevron Left
Zurück zu Politics and Economics of International Energy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Politics and Economics of International Energy von Sciences Po

4.7
Sterne
1,182 Bewertungen
303 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top-Bewertungen

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 297 Bewertungen für Politics and Economics of International Energy

von Daniel B

Dec 22, 2016

Excellent course. I have no experience in this field so I took it out of curiosity and learned a lot. Very well taught, very well organized, covered just the right amount of material. Does take a bit of a commitment, I would suggest keeping up, it only takes a couple of hours per week. It made me want to learn more about the field.

von Daniel C

Sep 18, 2017

A very good introductory course for anyone willing to get in touch with energy matters in the political and economic areas. Professor Giacomo Luciani handles the classes with confidence and clarity and it allows us to obtain a fair command of basic principles regarding the global energy sector. I definitely recommend this course!

von Zahid A N

Apr 19, 2020

Through this course, I got the knowledge and understanding of different energy sources and the energy scenario of the future. Prof. Luciani has a unique way of explaining things, which makes you binge-watch the course. More than anything, this course has brought in me the enthusiasm for learning more about the energy transition.

von Jerome

Oct 07, 2017

First of all thank you to Pr. Giacomo Luciani and his team for this outstanding course.

Reaching all the goals proposed, fundamentally explaining the World Energy Market and Challenges we are yet to overcome.

Sciences Po is sharing knowledge freely in this MOOC and paving the way for other Universities worldwide.

Thank you.

von Aleksandr S

May 25, 2020

It was a true pleasure to work with Professor Luciani. Many thanks to Sciences Po and all the people who have been a part to production of this course. Program gives complex knowledge in the chosen sphere and will be useful for everyone interested in energy production tendences and international relations in this field.

von Raphaëlle G

May 08, 2020

Très bon cours, simplement le chapitre sur le pétrole est très scientifique et difficile à suivre je trouve s'il on étudie les sciences politiques comme moi. Dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de graphiques/illustrations pour les deux dernières séances. Merci beaucoup c'était mon premier MOOCet j'ai appris énormément de choses!

von Gabriel L

Jul 22, 2018

It was one of the best course I ever had! It helped me to widely understand the dynamics related to geopolitics, strategies and tactics decided by states to achieve results in the energy sector. On the other hand, it gave me a good range of specific knowledge regarding different resources and types of technologies used.

von Nishith k

Jun 24, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. One of the best course to completely understand the energy market scenario. What surprised me the most was, even though I am learning 3 years after the course was shot, everything sir said in the video still makes sense. Thank you Coursera for such a wonderful learning experience.

von Lee R

May 04, 2020

Fantastic Course! Professor Giacomo is very knowledgable and has compiled a course here with a breadth of theory, interviews and discussions to illustrate current thinking and debates, and visualisations to convey key concepts. Youwill definitely be somewhat of an expert if you do this course and take it seriously.

von Caterina D

Mar 08, 2018

I have liked a lot the course. I have appreciated that the professor has divided the course into charters and he has talked about the main energy sources. I have personally enjoyed a lot the classes about nuclear energy, they were very well explained. I enjoyed the intervention of Prof. Bertrand Barré!

von Yusuf A A

May 20, 2020

An excellent course in terms of content and lecturer. Professor Giacomo Luciani has really delivered the message behind the course gracefully and has shown his depth in knowledge in this field. All of the guest speakers were truly experts in their respective fields and have added value to this course.

von Dorian S

Dec 09, 2016

Ce cours est idéal si vous souhaitez apprendre comment fonctionne les marchés des énergies. Il est clair, les sous-titres et la transcription sont très pratiques pour suivre le cours et rendre des notes.

En revanche, j'aurai aimé que le cours aille plus loin, notamment sur les énergies renouvelables.

von Julia V

Jan 15, 2017

A great introductory course for Social Scientists in the interesting world of international energy. The course is not that much about the actual politics and economics of int. energy, rather than about an introduction in to the complex ways in which energy is acquired. Very enjoyable nevertheless!

von Alex S

Mar 06, 2017

A very well organized course that provides a perfect overview of global Energy markets. Professor Luciani has combined a good mix of informative lectures, practical examples as well as specialist views and opinions from academics heavily involved in specific areas of the global Energy industry.

von Imtiaz A

Jun 20, 2017

This is really a great course. I as a Petroleum Engineering undergraduate student get benefit from this, as it is presented in a very basic and simple way with huge precious knowledge that opens my mind how large petroleum field and the technology is. I would recommend you to do this course.

von Simon C

Feb 27, 2020

Excellent course, extremely well taught and chocked full of pertinent information.

Professor Giacomo Luciani is an absolute gent and he presents the material in a clear and coherent manner. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your in-depth knowledge in the form of this course.

von Steven P

Jun 09, 2020

Great course delivered at a comfortable pace. A fantastic grounding and foundation for the Politics and Economics surrounding International Energy. Giacomo Luciani lectures these very well and his passion for a more sustainable and renewable future definitely shows!

Would recommend!!

!

von Thomas A

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent course content covering a wide range of elements in the field of International Energy - from the production lines, to the economics and geopolitics, and to future policy aims, this serves well as a comprehensive introductory course from an impressive array of presenters.

von Mark J C

Sep 29, 2017

I wish to extend my sincerest thanks to the fantastic course which is Politics and Economics of International Energy. The course was well presented and informative, and gained a good insight into the energy sector in a global sense. I would recommend this course wholeheartedly.

von Şahin B

May 16, 2020

As this course provides technical, natural, political, and environmental details about energy, I can say that it is fulfilling for those who desire to learn the world of energy. However, the course could have more detailed information or a section about the economics of energy.

von Fong T H

Jun 11, 2020

It has been a wonderful journey taking this course since 2 months ago and It had been insightful, informative and interesting to learn about what politics and economics as well as technologies advancements have to do with energy world wide. Worth the attending of this course!

von simon d

Jun 20, 2017

Very interresting, well-structured course to learn about energy markets and geopolitics behind. It is well documented, doesn't go too slow nor too fast, also what i liked is that it lists accurate online ressources.

My only remark would be to enlarge the lesson on renewables.

von Luis d A

Apr 22, 2020

A great course with a detailed information and perspectives from the oil & gas industries and that gives a solid background regarding politic and economic in this field of expertise. Thank you professor Giacomo Luciani and his team to bringing this course together.

von Jaksilik U K u

Jan 23, 2020

Nice course, easy to understand and answer for questions. I liked especially week 4 because it was for me the hardest one, I have reviewed this week several times before could pass test successfully. Thank you very much Pr. Giacomo Luciani and members of Coursera))

von Mohammed H

Jan 12, 2019

Great course, very beneficial with regard to the explanation of energy sources and how policy making is important with regard to obtaining better energy efficiencies and other crucial factors that would help in providing a better environment for future generations.