Chevron Left
Zurück zu Politics and Economics of International Energy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Politics and Economics of International Energy von Sciences Po

4.7
Sterne
1,111 Bewertungen
284 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top-Bewertungen

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 279 Bewertungen für Politics and Economics of International Energy

von MOHAMMAD N

Mar 18, 2019

The course is very helpful for those who wish to learn the Energy scenarios across the globe. The current push towards renewables and the challenges it faces from the conventional sources of energy can be understood quite well. The constrains of Gas energy and the impediments for Nuclear energy is also well explained. The connect of energy demand & supply with Politics i.e. the Geopolitics of energy, has given a new dimension to learning about energy.

The course however may be updated with recent updates across the globe.

I would like to sincerely Thank Prof Giacomo Luciani for this course.

von Merih K

Apr 17, 2020

It really helped me to gain wider perspective in terms of environmental approach. Because as an environmental engineer I only studied how to improve a situation or what's harmful to the environment. Although I started to this course to understand oil products, I found more than that in terms of comprehensive approach for both environment, political, economic and social aspects. The course is beginner level but the more you digging than given resources, the more can be achieved. As a cons, it took longer than I expected.

von Johan B

Sep 10, 2019

Great course!

In the oil section, I would have liked a little more insight into heavy oil (which is abundant in Venezuela for instance) and 'sweet' low-sulfur oil which is used to make Diesel and the implication this has for a particular country. Why this concern? Because we always talk about oil abundant countries but we often neglect that there are different types of oil which can have very different implications ...

von Natasha C

Mar 21, 2020

Very informative and well-explained by the professor. However, there were several resources that were not available (broken links, restricted data), as well as resources that were outdated. It would have been a lot more relevant if the course materials were up to date. Nevertheless, a good course that taught me a lot! The interviews were quite insightful. Thanks to the team who put this MOOC together.

von 郭可中

Jul 07, 2018

Great course! This is recommended for anyone who is looking for courses on energy. This course includes information from oil, natural gas, renewable energy, and nuclear energy. Certain information and data the course provides is outdated; however, this course provides a thorough understanding and additional videos and documents for anyone who is looking for more detailed analysis.

von Alessandro D

Nov 18, 2017

Good introduction to the Energy World and its main pillars. More focused is given on fossil fuels overview which are well explained, and also are the ones more impacting the geopolitics balances. The renewables section could be expanded to explain better the economics. Overall a very good general course and I thanks Professor and Science Po for having it available.

von CHAMPIGNY C

Apr 06, 2017

Hello,

This course is very interesting and content are very usefull.

As improvement points I would like to mention:

1-Some videos are not anymore available

2- A general update is necessary to take into account the last years big chances and evolutions on the energy politics and economics dur to the stabilization of oil price notably and all its impacts.

von Diego A

Jul 22, 2019

I loved it, the only thing is that it would be awesome that they explain deeper the politics of petroleum. The impact of OPEC and an interesting fact is that countries do not say that their oil reserves increase because it would cause a diminish on the oil prices and so on. Great course, thanks Giacomo!

von Sheena N

Sep 08, 2019

Very interesting insight into geopolitics of energy. It would be nice to see a more heavy focus on the application of economic theory - however, given that this is just an introduction, it did well to wet my appetite to continue researching global energy economics and politics further.

von Diana S

Nov 15, 2018

Definitely, it needs to be outdated. There is a lot of relevant events that have happened (or have not happened I would say) since COP21 that are crucial for the energy discussion. Notwithstanding it is a very complete, detailed, well referenced and neutral course. 100% recommended.

von Brian B

Aug 02, 2017

An excellent introduction to the subjects. Perhaps the emphasis on Europe is high in proportion to the rest of the world. Little information about developing countries.

More extra readings and references would be appreciated.

Some of the link to video resources no longer work.

von Brendan H

Feb 07, 2017

Overall a good introduction to the current state of global energy supply and demand. It covers basic information about the controversy of nuclear vs renewables though personally I would have liked a little more detail on this point

von Ignacio M E

May 18, 2017

Excellent introduction to the issue. The only thing I miss is a chapter on the challenges that face developing countries to give their populations access to reliable and preferably non-carbon dependent energy sources

von Timothée J

Jul 30, 2019

Great course to master the energy issues of modern societies, thank you for the quality of the videos. 4 stars only : too many broken link on lectures.

von Garima S B

Apr 06, 2019

It has really helped me understand the energy dynamics. thank you. Giving a 4 star because the data is sometimes old and needs to be upgraded.

von Liliana A

Nov 11, 2018

Great view of the energy environment and policies, would like to have some more updated information (2014/2015 oil prices drop for example)

von Henrique S B

Apr 02, 2017

An excellent overview about the complex issues of international energy, its economic and geopolitical implications. I highly recommend it.

von Rick V

Feb 17, 2019

Some of the videos were not accessible, I think the support materials require an update however over all it is a good course

von Aizat M

Jan 12, 2017

A very informative and concise course that gave a very basic idea on what is going on in the Energy industry today.

von Adrian D

Mar 26, 2020

Overall very good course, however, more would have been gained by being able to see feedback on the quizzes.

von Thomas B T

May 20, 2020

Excellent overview of the different sources of energy including the various policy implications!

von Mamoun B

May 10, 2020

Très bon cours, le prof explique très bien. Quelques longueurs dans les interviews selon moi.

von Robin F

Jun 23, 2018

The course might need to be updated on certain points but it is very clear overall.

von Ricardo C

Feb 23, 2018

A bit outdated and lacking in depth in the political analysis but still useful

von Toufic S

Jul 30, 2018

Great course, although at times it was a bit more technical than political.