Chevron Left
Zurück zu Politics and Economics of International Energy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Politics and Economics of International Energy von Sciences Po

4.7
Sterne
1,101 Bewertungen
279 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

Top-Bewertungen

DP

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ

Aug 03, 2017

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 275 Bewertungen für Politics and Economics of International Energy

von Gabriel L

Jul 22, 2018

It was one of the best course I ever had! It helped me to widely understand the dynamics related to geopolitics, strategies and tactics decided by states to achieve results in the energy sector. On the other hand, it gave me a good range of specific knowledge regarding different resources and types of technologies used.

von Lee R

May 04, 2020

Fantastic Course! Professor Giacomo is very knowledgable and has compiled a course here with a breadth of theory, interviews and discussions to illustrate current thinking and debates, and visualisations to convey key concepts. Youwill definitely be somewhat of an expert if you do this course and take it seriously.

von Caterina D

Mar 08, 2018

I have liked a lot the course. I have appreciated that the professor has divided the course into charters and he has talked about the main energy sources. I have personally enjoyed a lot the classes about nuclear energy, they were very well explained. I enjoyed the intervention of Prof. Bertrand Barré!

von Yusuf A A

May 20, 2020

An excellent course in terms of content and lecturer. Professor Giacomo Luciani has really delivered the message behind the course gracefully and has shown his depth in knowledge in this field. All of the guest speakers were truly experts in their respective fields and have added value to this course.

von Dorian S

Dec 09, 2016

Ce cours est idéal si vous souhaitez apprendre comment fonctionne les marchés des énergies. Il est clair, les sous-titres et la transcription sont très pratiques pour suivre le cours et rendre des notes.

En revanche, j'aurai aimé que le cours aille plus loin, notamment sur les énergies renouvelables.

von Julia V

Jan 15, 2017

A great introductory course for Social Scientists in the interesting world of international energy. The course is not that much about the actual politics and economics of int. energy, rather than about an introduction in to the complex ways in which energy is acquired. Very enjoyable nevertheless!

von Alex S

Mar 06, 2017

A very well organized course that provides a perfect overview of global Energy markets. Professor Luciani has combined a good mix of informative lectures, practical examples as well as specialist views and opinions from academics heavily involved in specific areas of the global Energy industry.

von Imtiaz A

Jun 20, 2017

This is really a great course. I as a Petroleum Engineering undergraduate student get benefit from this, as it is presented in a very basic and simple way with huge precious knowledge that opens my mind how large petroleum field and the technology is. I would recommend you to do this course.

von Simon C

Feb 27, 2020

Excellent course, extremely well taught and chocked full of pertinent information.

Professor Giacomo Luciani is an absolute gent and he presents the material in a clear and coherent manner. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your in-depth knowledge in the form of this course.

von Thomas A

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent course content covering a wide range of elements in the field of International Energy - from the production lines, to the economics and geopolitics, and to future policy aims, this serves well as a comprehensive introductory course from an impressive array of presenters.

von Mark J C

Sep 29, 2017

I wish to extend my sincerest thanks to the fantastic course which is Politics and Economics of International Energy. The course was well presented and informative, and gained a good insight into the energy sector in a global sense. I would recommend this course wholeheartedly.

von Şahin B

May 16, 2020

As this course provides technical, natural, political, and environmental details about energy, I can say that it is fulfilling for those who desire to learn the world of energy. However, the course could have more detailed information or a section about the economics of energy.

von simon d

Jun 20, 2017

Very interresting, well-structured course to learn about energy markets and geopolitics behind. It is well documented, doesn't go too slow nor too fast, also what i liked is that it lists accurate online ressources.

My only remark would be to enlarge the lesson on renewables.

von Luis d A

Apr 22, 2020

A great course with a detailed information and perspectives from the oil & gas industries and that gives a solid background regarding politic and economic in this field of expertise. Thank you professor Giacomo Luciani and his team to bringing this course together.

von Уббиниязов Ж К

Jan 23, 2020

Nice course, easy to understand and answer for questions. I liked especially week 4 because it was for me the hardest one, I have reviewed this week several times before could pass test successfully. Thank you very much Pr. Giacomo Luciani and members of Coursera))

von Mohammed H

Jan 12, 2019

Great course, very beneficial with regard to the explanation of energy sources and how policy making is important with regard to obtaining better energy efficiencies and other crucial factors that would help in providing a better environment for future generations.

von Brian G

May 08, 2017

Great overview of international energy policy. Helpful for an American learner to understand the basics and gain an understanding of the European energy system as a case study in energy policy and economics. Great visuals and well structured lectures.

von Iasón Ó D

Apr 20, 2017

A fantastically well presented course, one that is sure to be of benefit in the future, I think it not only gives a good overview of the current energy situation but paint a fantastically informative picture for moves to watch out for into the future.

von Naomi D

Oct 17, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was very insightful for me. It gave me a more rounded understanding of what appears to be driving infrastructure investment debates, as well as political and economic decisions both globally and in my own country.

von Григорова А А

Oct 27, 2016

It's very interesting to become aware of international affairs between countries based on energy. The course is not difficult to understand. At the same time the information provided by the tutor and by other professionals as well is profound.

von Vivek B

Oct 22, 2017

Firstly, I would like to thank Professor Luciani for creating this MOOC and presenting it in an interesting manner. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and it has greatly enhanced my appreciation of energy issues world-wide.

Thank you once again!

von Andrew W

Jan 08, 2017

Overall an excellent overview of the principal political, economic and policy issues related to international energy. The course is well structured and presented and I would recommend it highly to anyone interested in this important area.

von Ahmad H

Jan 26, 2020

Firstly, the course contents was very functional and crucial for understanding the energy spectrum. I motivated a lot by pursuing that course and want to suggest my fellows to see the diversity of that energy courses. Thank you Coursera

von Stefan R

May 25, 2019

I loved the course. Very detailed, but gave an overall view of the different energy supplies, and international relations which come with it.

I recommend this course to everybody who has even the slightest interest of energy supply!

von Lucian B

Mar 07, 2017

Very good course for persons interested in the energy sector, explaining the basic facts surrounding energy sources. Could do with more insight in how the energy prices are computed and how they are influenced by lots of factors