Chevron Left
Zurück zu Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change von The University of Chicago

4.6
Sterne
294 Bewertungen
118 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

Top-Bewertungen

SL
5. Okt. 2016

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

RC
26. Juni 2020

A detailed and really knowledgable course. The course structure and the knowledge shared by Prof. David made learning simple and interesting. The assignments are also very well structured.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 115 Bewertungen für Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change

von Md. E R

22. Juni 2020

very good course for beginner

von Bastin J

4. Sep. 2017

A really great course!

von Olaleye A

29. Mai 2017

Simply Fantastic!

von John M

13. Juni 2016

SUPERB SUPERB!!

von Murray

26. Apr. 2016

Great course!

von David A D V

3. Jan. 2016

ENJOYING IT!

von Zhu H

22. Juli 2020

Good course

von IRIS L C P

23. März 2019

Excellency!

von Eñaut I E

27. Nov. 2016

Excellent!

von Majid A

9. März 2016

Excellent!

von vigneshwaran

23. Sep. 2017

Excellent

von Natanael O F B

14. Juli 2019

amazing!

von sergii k

6. Mai 2018

best one

von INDLA P K

15. Mai 2020

OK

von Frans S

14. Dez. 2016

Dr. David Archer has succeeded in presenting a didactic course in which complex issues like climate and weather conditions are explained in a highly schematic and clear manner for students who do not have an academic degree in either Earth sciences or physics. The series of short video's show Dr. Archer at the blackboard explaining concepts using highly schematic and easy to understand figures. Teaching in the most elementary way, almost perfect.

Completing this course also is learning by practice: there are multiple problems to solve using a wide array of models that compute the impact of greenhouse gases on temperature, humidity, ice sheets and sea levels. Finally a series of assignments require the student to explain in simple terms 'that can be understood by an 11-yr old' what are basic concepts like heat, negative feedback, fossil fuels, climate change and others. An interesting approach.

Together, this is a recommended course for anyone interested in the science behind one of the most discussed changes of our planet. A Minor comment is that the videos would benefit by some change of perspective, introducing here and there images or video's that illustrate the impact of climate change on Earth systems.

von Merih K

30. Okt. 2020

Thanks to this course, I have learnt many other aspects of environmental science. Although professors' course content was enough, I preferred to study more about each topic because environmental topics are diverse and intense, I recommend that. It may not create a new job opportunity, but it will have been sure developed my point of view. Peer-reviewed assignments actually good, but it was difficult to be reviewed. Reviewing other's assignments were really constructive as you can see other's point of view which some of them were superb. The duration of the course is also pretty long, 12 weeks, to study it as a subtask. On the discussion section, there is no control from the instructors, you are on your own. Frankly, there is not much qualified chatting on the discussion part either for questions or topics, everyone usually asks for the review. Therefore, although the course is excellent, there is no control and you are on your own.

von Adriano R P

21. Apr. 2016

Good points: 1) Great instructor; 2) applicable content; 3) great for physics students.

Bad points: 1) Lacking of a "Formulae booklet" to use as reminder and reference for formulas and constants - when working on the models for this course; 2) The exercises approach should be reviews, making more use of the tools available in the Coursera interface (example: Assigments in text format (discursive) should use the own coursera interface, instead make us upload .TXT or .DOC files).

Extra: I did not finish the course, the format and content do not achieve my personal objectives, as a software developer and environmentalist. But i really enjoyed the general approach and goal.

von Alexandra T

11. Jan. 2020

An eye-opening course on climate and what we all should prepare for. Very well structured and presented, with lots of exercises to test/deepen your understanding

Unfortunately, no help from the instructors on the discussion forums, which leads to a bunch of a very confused students to "guess" the answer sometimes having no idea of what's going on in the model. Clarifying some of the questions from week 8 and perhaps being present on the discussion forums would help a lot.

von Inkoo K

17. Jan. 2017

Excellent lecture for climate change. This lecture give me a deep insight for greenhouse effect and global warming with nice scientific tools and models. However, It's necessary to improve some instruction process to have student understand with more easy. For example, there are various instructions for using models. But sometimes, I have difficulties to understand some model.

Anyhow, I thanks to Dr. David Archer and Coursera staff.

von James G

22. März 2018

This is a great course for the non-scientist to understand the scientific mechanism and models behind climate change. I requires quite a bit of work but the lecturer explains things extremely well. Overall, some of the quizzes could be better thought through but this is a very good MOOC.

von Ulrich R

6. Sep. 2018

Highly interesting, informative, challenging and time-consuming course, which has some frustrations when it comes to the exercises. I wish it was still maintained to iron out remaining quirks.

There appears to be no statement of accomplishment unless you buy the certificate.

von Maximilian H

30. Juli 2020

It was a challenging and demanding online course but you also could learn a lot. The videos where not too long and the questions in between were very helpful. For an online course it was very well structured although I missed the personal contact with fellow students.

von Natasha H

10. Nov. 2020

Overall great course. A couple of assignments were unclear as to what was required. Thankfully there is enough discourse in the forms with other students to help put you on the right track.

von karthikeyan

17. Jan. 2016

The slow pace and the simple language helps to comprehend the climate science very effectively. Thanks a lot for that. Use of fundamentals with very little work load per week is fun!