Chevron Left
Zurück zu Grammar and Punctuation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Grammar and Punctuation von University of California, Irvine

4.7
Sterne
8,270 Bewertungen
2,430 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

Jul 07, 2019

A very useful course, specially designed for those who either forgot the grammar or did not study English grammar properly in the journey of learning English. It is a path way to good writing skills.

KG

Dec 26, 2016

This is a very useful course even if you are very good in English . This course helps in understanding the type of sentences, proper usage of commas and perfect ways of writing attractive paragraphs.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 2,384 Bewertungen für Grammar and Punctuation

von Ana C R A

Apr 26, 2016

The course is great, but I am very disappointed that after spend 3 hours watching the videos and practicing, I can only submit my answer if I upgrade. This should be said before I enrolled in this course.

von Kriti G

Dec 26, 2016

This is a very useful course even if you are very good in English . This course helps in understanding the type of sentences, proper usage of commas and perfect ways of writing attractive paragraphs.

von Carolina T

Jun 22, 2016

You should tell people before they enroll that, to take the quizzes, they must pay. It was a waste of time...

von Akbar A

Jul 07, 2019

A very useful course, specially designed for those who either forgot the grammar or did not study English grammar properly in the journey of learning English. It is a path way to good writing skills.

von Katherine G

Apr 26, 2019

This course is absolutely amazing by all means. It has good and specific and accurate information regarding punctuation and grammar in English. The focus and the way the information is presented is excellent too. I have no negative comments for this course. Excellent! 5 stars.

von Dragana V

Nov 12, 2015

I am very satisfied with this course. It really helped me to improve my writing skills, and I am feeling more confident than I used to be.

After this course, I am planning to take up the next one.

von Shelli S

May 24, 2019

This course is a great little course. I loved the instructor, who I found to be articulate and engaging.

I found the guidance on sentence structure and parallel sentences, constructive and beneficial. So, thanks!

von Abdul M K

Oct 07, 2016

This course had an outstanding syllabus and i have learned a lot about punctuation rules and regulations in English Language; which will excel my capabilities for my future endeavors and study plan.

von Robert P

Oct 09, 2017

Hi, Learn the basic of the English grammar and the rules on writing, which so important to writing. Enjoyed and learn so much that will help overcome fear writing.

Thank You, Again

Robert Perea

von Valmy P

Nov 23, 2018

This Grammar and Punctuation course should be taken by anyone who is interested in professional writings.

von Sa'adat D

Jul 18, 2019

The course is really great and helpful. I really appreciate everything the professors learnt.

von Simone P F

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent!!!!

von Nikesh D

Jul 27, 2019

this course has helped me a lot before joined this course I didn't know how to use comma but after this course, I can understand how to use conjugation.

von subrat k d

Jul 17, 2019

i like this course

von ZHANG B

Jul 17, 2019

fine

von Humayun M T

Feb 22, 2017

A very intelligently designed, and exceptionally smart program to train learners on grammar and punctuation. I fully admit this course was far more useful than I had initially thought of it to be the kind of, and never in my wildest dreams did I imagine it would turn out to be this much professionally rich. I’m equipped with a masters degree in English, and have a very valuable experience in teaching high school level & college level students. I wanted to brush up my own academic writing skills so I could guide my students more effectively. I’m so happy I joined this course. I must appreciate the quality of the instructions I watched in videos lectures which all had excellent content and had easy-to-follow examples. Practice exercises before the quizzes and the quizzes themselves were all very smartly designed stuff. I truly believe it couldn’t have been any better. My heart goes out to admiring your efforts. In a nutshell, I had a more than wonderful experience. I now strongly intend to going for the next course. Thanks a million, indeed! ndFr�

von Olga R

Mar 05, 2019

This grammar and punctuation course filled the gaps that I had on punctuation. The structure is very efficient and clear; it was easy to remember the rules and practice them. Though I was skeptical regarding the peer reviews, they proved to be a good instrument. I would like to see more participation of the instructors: for example, proofing the peer reviews. I understand that it would increase the cost of the course, though. In addition, I feel like we didn't learn all punctuation cases. I haven't seen anything about the colon or dash uses, not even mentioning the direct speech. However, in spite of said above, I would highly recommend the course to those who would like to know or revisit the punctuation basics. I will definitely look at the other courses by UCI Irvine

von Eneida A M

Nov 02, 2016

I've learned so much in such a small time in this Grammar and Punctuation course, that I'm still processing it in my mind! The videos and texts are concise and creative. It facilitated my understanding of the words, since English is not my first language. Through the exercises and extra resources, I practiced a lot. Here are some of the things that I studied: simple, compound and complex sentences; dependent and independent clauses; comma and semicolon; transition words and adverbial phrases; introductory and interrupting phrases; parallel sentences; variety of sentences.

Thanks to the instructor Tami Chapman, she is the best!

von ankush `

Oct 12, 2018

What an amazing course, I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking to improve their writing skills. This course will not only enhance your written communication but also will boost your confidence. In order to do best in verbs, punctuation, and sentences, you can enroll in this course blindly.

Subsequently, individuals have to complete the assignments, which are part of the curriculum, with full dedication, and they have to spend some time on a regular basis to get the best out of this course.

I wish all the best to everyone for their future endeavors.

PS-If any mistakes in the above sentences, please let me know.

von Trinh L H

Apr 18, 2017

The course did not review all basic English grammar but specify tense, sentence type and punctuation. At first, I thought I would have known how to write a appropriate sentence, but only after took this course I find various way to rewrite my sentence in a more correct and natural as native people. I realised some minor mistakes I have always made before and knew how to fixed it. Now, when it come to writing I feel much more confident. Definitely, I recommend this courses for someone would like to review their grammar, and I will considering studying the next courses about Business writing in this program.

von Farcaster C

Nov 06, 2018

The course help me under standing review helps with writing skill. I am a noob in this web site and this course too. I hope in the future that I master writing as well with the English grammar. My communication required grammar so the listener would understand me saying. Writing is more different than talking because you can see what you wrote. Right now my first lesson is introducing and review other which I don't know the finishing line. Probably two hour long. This course would teach you punctuation and maybe all writing skill to be a writer.

von Dmitry B

Dec 06, 2015

I enjoyed this course very much. Going into this course, my goal was to review English grammar and improve my writing. After finishing it, I feel like I accomplished that goal. I enjoyed concise and clear style of the videos and clarity of examples given in them. Assignments and exercises, although challenging at times, were of comfortable length and fun to do. Personally, this course helped me to become aware of the sentences I write, and gave me the tools to revise and edit my writings more efficiently on my own.

von Mohammed S

Apr 18, 2019

For me, this training course has clarified that how to use correct verb tenses, correct punctuation, good parallel structure, and good sentence variety ,better than before. Really participated in this session makes significant impact in my writing skills. In addition, driven by an awesome constriction of the lesson modules and excellent explanation of the instructor, I have became very passionate to enrolling in any advance classes. thank you very much for making education available for people across the world.

von Sheryl H

Jan 30, 2017

This course was wonderful. I learned new things about grammar and punctuation I don't recall learning in grade school while blending and improving my known knowledge. A tip for those thinking of just enrolling in one or two random courses of the five specialized courses, enroll in all. It is worth it even if you think you know. For instance, some of the papers in Advance Writing expect you to know some of the previous courses info and that could lead to some misunderstandings or struggles on quiz/peer reviews.

von Sameer A B

Oct 24, 2019

I believe this course is simple and straight forward. The learning material is quite good and easy to comprehend. However, I found the topic relating to tenses a bit more confusing. I would request if more practice could be added to the existing list. Also, animating the course materials might add real beauty to the course.

I would like to say thanks to all the course instructors, and I am grateful to the experienced faculties for introducing this short English course.