Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
2,250 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top-Bewertungen

ER

21. März 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

PD

26. Nov. 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

Filtern nach:

451 - 473 von 473 Bewertungen für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

von MARISOL P V

4. Okt. 2017

Great!

von Charudatta J

26. Juni 2020

nice

von DINESH K K

14. Juni 2020

good

von Battina D G

10. Mai 2020

GOOD

von Katie S

14. Sep. 2020

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...

von Samantha F

5. Apr. 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

von Sami L

6. Dez. 2016

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

von Bhavna S

22. Mai 2017

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

von Luis H

3. Juli 2016

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

von Riya A

28. Juni 2021

I found this course boring because there was so much history and so many things have to be remembered.

von Dmitrii P

9. Apr. 2017

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

von Sebastian J M G

13. Aug. 2020

I dont like how classmates grade the work, even if its a good one

von arshla j

24. Sep. 2016

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

von Gary D G

7. Juni 2020

To many videos and reading

von Erick A R A d l S

24. Feb. 2018

The course is very light.

von Tarun V M

1. Mai 2020

purty gud

von Mi Z

2. Aug. 2018

This course is really dry and I feel what I learned in the videos are not necessarily connected with the assignments. This is the 3rd course under Graphic Design certificate and is my least favorite one.The ones about fundamentals of Graphic Design and Typography are both really helpful, but not this one.

von Shahmeer A

24. Apr. 2022

This course is worst about ideas from the history of graphic design and in the history of graphic designing courses. The videos were so long and boring I had to skip them and I just completed this because I wanted to complete the specialization but this course is the worse of all courses

von Ala'a N E

2. Okt. 2019

This course wasn't interesting at all, nor assignments. Please try to enhance the way of presenting the theoretical information.

von Liudmila V

27. Juni 2016

This course is about nothing, it is poor illustrated and uninformative. The lecturer's manner is anno

von Ahmed M

18. März 2022

struck with peer reviews

von Sarah E M

14. Juli 2020

I don't recommend at all

von Kathleen D

11. Sep. 2016

This course is