Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
2,251 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top-Bewertungen

ER

21. März 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

PD

26. Nov. 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 473 Bewertungen für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

von Megan C

15. Aug. 2016

This was a very interesting and informative addition to this specialization. I loved the lecturer's style, and found this to be one of my favourite offerings so far. Very much looking forward to the capstone course and project.

von Elizabeth O

18. Dez. 2017

Interesting and informative. More historic and research based than creating and doing. The professeur's lectures were bit fragmented and scattered at times which made it more difficult to follow, but great information overall.

von David M

4. Nov. 2019

It was fun and helpful to view other designer's work through different generations. This course was a great way to view references and become inspired with certain techniques and new approaches to graphic design.

von Lauren M

17. Juli 2017

I didn't feel like I learned much from this course that I didn't learn in the intro course. I understand there are a lot of way to make and display images, but I didn't think the assignments were that helpful.

von Joly F Z

8. Aug. 2018

It gives a quick overview of key milestones in graphic design history through examples. It is very enjoyable and I have learnt to analyse the design thinking behind different work and appreciate design more.

von Liangchi C

19. Nov. 2017

Through this course, I have learned many great examples of graphic design and how people convey ideas through image over the last centuries. I would like to develop my own style after seeing others' works.

von Kelly J

5. Dez. 2016

Useful intro to the history of graphic design. The quizzes could have been more challenging though or involved doing more independent research on some of the graphic design periods discussed.

von Nicolle U

22. Apr. 2020

The content of the course is very interesting, it helps you understand the evolution of image making processes and its cultural influence.

Ps: The audio of the videos was a little bit low.

von Hannah M C

21. Aug. 2017

It's a lovely course and the lecturers are great, but it focus mostly on American design or the impact of other designers in the USA. I would love to learn more about non-USA design.

von Randy B

1. Aug. 2020

Really interesting information. I wish there was a bit more hands on assignments, even if they are optional, to really get to play around with the different styles.

von Hector E

29. Aug. 2016

Although this course is rich in content, it lacks a lot of perspective around The History of Graphic Design, since it only talks from the american point of view.

von julieta

8. Mai 2020

Me gusto mucho el curso y sus contenidos. No esperaba igual tener que hacer tantas tareas, era algo que me resultaba engorroso. En general fue bueno.

von Jay N P

17. Aug. 2020

Good Course for learning the History of Graphic Designing. And also to take inspiration from it by understanding the meaning conveyed and how.

von Clara

27. Juli 2016

it gives a good understanding of graphic design evolution from post second WW to contemporary time. Very focused on American design.

von Egle

1. Sep. 2016

Really interesting and useful. Although some more information about the more post-modern approaches would be also great.

von Tigran G

12. Nov. 2017

All was very good, but if after every video put a little quiz it will be better to understand and remember the material

von Nene W

22. Feb. 2017

I learnt quite alot about design luminaries. Would prefer if it was truely global but still a very interesting course

von Joy S

1. Okt. 2018

I am not into art. Nevertheless, this class and the others in this specialty were surprisingly interesting.

von Vijayasundaram M

28. Feb. 2017

The course was well structured; and provided opportunity to seek and learn more on the topics dicussed

von Ibrahim N

18. Juli 2016

Too example based course but indeed very interesting for exploring the ages of graphic design hitory

von Kolya K

30. März 2018

Great Course, got lot of knowledge. A little short and required to continuing studying on your own.

von Camila L

11. Jan. 2017

I would like to have more materials. See more work, read/listen about more design movements.

von Christine

21. Juni 2016

Excellent presentation, engaging content, interesting and relevant assignments and quizes.

von Lucas B V

7. Aug. 2020

O curso é muito bom, particularmente os dois primeiros módulos são bastante instrutivos.

von Nicholas S H

6. Mai 2019

I would like to know about how graphic design occurred in non-US or European countries.