Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
2,228 Bewertungen
464 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top-Bewertungen

ER

21. März 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

PD

26. Nov. 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 464 Bewertungen für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

von yeliz

27. März 2020

It was a very good class, and the content is very interesting and satisfying. I especially liked the assignments, and I learned a lot while preparing them.

von Tomás G D

6. Apr. 2021

very clear about the birth of design and its evolution, the example of sister Corita Kent fascinated me, thank you for all this education and information.

von Yuliya S

27. Okt. 2019

I really liked the course material and the way teachers provide information. I learned a lot and noted many areas that I will continue to study on my own.

von Rohan S

23. Okt. 2018

This course gives some invaluable insight on the history of graphic design with a ton of examples, something that's often left out on many other courses.

von Celia P M

8. Apr. 2021

It's a pretty great introduction to Graphic Design's history. They tell you where the need for Graohic Design was born and how it evolved into nowadays.

von Rohit N

31. Aug. 2016

I enjoyed studying history for the first time in my life. It is really insightful to see how design has evolved and still has influences from the past.

von Keshab D P

1. Dez. 2020

One of the wonderful platform and means to spread the wings of passion in graphics, Respectful acknowledgement to the Tutors; Cal Arts, and Courseera

von Rosa P M V

26. Aug. 2017

Excellent course. I could understand a general idea from where graphic design comes from. Now I know where to look for references and inspiration.

von namrata d

21. Nov. 2019

This Course history of graphic design was wonderful . It took me back at early history of Graphics design. Thank you and I truly appreciate it.

von S U H

1. Mai 2021

This is awesome. I learnt all the essential fundermentals of Graphic Design from Professsional lectures in this course. Perfect course content.

von Ronald K

9. Okt. 2017

Very informative! I recommend it! =) It helped me to understand a bit more of the world and how the design evolved in modern/contemporary era.

von Juachi O

21. Sep. 2017

Enjoyed learning about the evolution of Graphic Design. I do wish this course covered other countries. Perhaps I'll look that up independently

von Yurshevich A O

15. Jan. 2021

A lot of information. You really immerse yourself in different eras, you study with pleasure. All information is useful and of high quality.

von Muhammad I

17. Juni 2020

Very informative about the history of graphic design. I wasn't aware of so much detail provided in this course, take so much time otherwise.

von Zackary A K

5. Juli 2017

Very interesting, introductory lectures on the history of design. It really helped my get my footing, so that reading further has been easy.

von Ulrich W

21. Dez. 2016

Very nice overview how trends and tastes changed over time, finalizing in a project targeting a particular sub-culture. I learned something.

von Carlos L

11. März 2017

great reviewing of the different trends in graphics design history and the related marketing, great approach. i really enjoyed the course.

von Meghan A

7. Juni 2021

I loved this class, its so fun and the Instructors are awesome! I learned so much about the history of Graphic Design that I didnt know!

von Yana B

27. Apr. 2021

Awesome course, thanks to the creators! I learned a lot about the history of graphic design and consolidated my knowledge in practice.

von Gabriela R

12. Mai 2020

Excellent overview and introduction to graphic design history. The assignments were enjoyable and the lectures were excellent as well!

von Francesca F

31. März 2021

very interesting course, briefly describe the history of graphics touching the principal subject to have a big picture of the origins

von Tomelilla G

19. März 2020

If you want to learn a great overview of the history of design with interesting examples applicable today here is the course for you!

von Asante G

19. Okt. 2018

Thank you for this wonderful course. It really makes you think on a deeper level about design, not only how it was created, but why.

von Magdalena P

13. Sep. 2016

This course is very well explained and very interesting. The assignments are simple and still bring a lot into the learning process.

von Ekaterina D

18. Jan. 2019

Very interesting course. here you can get acquainted with the history of design in different countries, as well as learn the basics