Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design von California Institute of the Arts

4.7
Sterne
2,223 Bewertungen
463 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Top-Bewertungen

PD

26. Nov. 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

ER

21. März 2022

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 464 Bewertungen für Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

von Breen O

3. Aug. 2020

Excellent course. Very interesting . I enjoyed the assignments though the bar is very low to receive a pass.

von Sahara Z F

17. Sep. 2020

A very fun and informative course. Take this course if you are interested in the history of graphic design!

von Mark H

8. Sep. 2020

I found this course to be very interesting and very relevant to anyone who is serious about Graphic Design.

von Daria N

29. Nov. 2018

Excellent insight into history, many interesting examples, it was very informative. Thanks for the course!

von Ahmed M A

11. Sep. 2018

it's very useful course

i learned, how designers are thinking in the past and how it related to the future

von Sofía V d l T A L

25. Nov. 2020

This is a great course! It shows the value of Graphic Design through the years in a very interesting way.

von VALERIO , S R (

12. Feb. 2021

thank you for the learning experience, i know it will really help me throughout my journey as an artist.

von Juliette S

7. Nov. 2016

Great class! learned a lot about the history of design and how the techniques are still being used today

von Oluwaseun O O

23. Okt. 2016

i hatehistory as a subject but i love this course. some great ideas from the past still being used today

von Kyle L

9. Aug. 2016

Really great and thorough content. A wonderful introduction to the dense and exciting history of design.

von Ellie R

24. Sep. 2018

Very interesting and insightful trip throughout the history of graphic design with thorough analysis.

von Tawana D W

19. März 2018

This course is fast paced and very informative. I really like how well organized each lesson appears.

von P Z C

3. Juni 2017

I learned so miuch. Best course of all last 4 in the Graphic Design so far. Let me test the last one.

von Nirav N

21. Okt. 2020

This course teaches me basics and foundation of Graphics design and how it gets improved with time.

von Michael G T

22. Nov. 2021

really very valuable course with fantastic ideas and techniques from the history of graphic design

von Aditi A

24. Nov. 2020

Loved this course. I learnt so much about graphic design and different styles from different eras.

von Anna S

8. Sep. 2019

Amazing course, which helped me to understand the philosophy of graphic design and be open minded.

von Amy B K

6. Okt. 2019

Insightful overview of history and development of design concepts. A must have foundation course.

von Veronika H

11. Mai 2020

Really nice experience to remeber all things and designer from this timelapse courses. Thank you

von Itziar

25. Dez. 2019

Very good course to have a little background about design! Thank you so much. Great instructors

von Alejandro R

3. März 2022

This is very interesting course, with a lot of informaion about the history of graphic design

von Dave L

31. Aug. 2016

Pretty good for such a short course - interesting ideas and exposure to new concepts. Thanks!

von Stephen M H

4. Okt. 2020

A very thorough explanation of various movements and the key individuals involved with them

von AC

7. Okt. 2016

Liked the course. I would love to learn even more about the History of Graphic Design now))

von Le D

20. Aug. 2016

An excellent course for those who know more.

Very well presented, quite easy to understand.