Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
Sterne
1,378 Bewertungen
488 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 482 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Vivek B

Apr 14, 2020

I took this course after taking few other courses in sustainability field on Coursera. In my honest opinion, the net learning at the end is minimal. There are various actors involved from Lund university, WWF etc. but it lacks an overall approach in a planned way. All lectures seems fragmented with no connection among them. While everyone agrees cities are important for global sustainability, there is a lack of proper solutions on how to do that. Few common sentences which repeats 100 times are: cities are important as more people are going to live here, all actors including govt and pvt needs to be involved, bicycling is key to manage mobility etc. If you ask me I will say go for The age of sustainable development course and then Global Environment management.

von Nick T

Jul 12, 2019

Great beginner course, I would love to see an intermediate to advanced level course further explaining some of the specific subject matter more in depth. Fantastic work putting this together!

von Champo N

May 28, 2019

The Course was very enjoyable and interesting. I have learned alot and motivated to undertake similar courses.

von Leonardo M

Apr 12, 2019

The course was interisting and ideal if it's your first approach with the topic of sustainable cities. I do appreciated the class about sharing economy, I found it inspiring and down-to-earth at the same time. However, sometimes the course repeat itself during the weeks. Most of the classes are too introductory and they didn't dig enough deep to give some more insight (not necessarily technical). Finally, be aware of your "bubble": many examples come the north of Europe where cities are working toward sustainability even before the climate crisis we're facing nowadays. In other part of the World, even in Europe itself, it isn't easy implement sustainable strategies and it would have been useful more winning examples about it.

von Ayesha S

May 25, 2019

This course is amazing. It contains so much information and practical examples. The instructors are really good. I love listening to their lectures. This course is an excellent addition to my degree. Thank You all the Professor's and Lund University for publishing this course on Coursera.

von Matthew J

Jul 26, 2019

I believe that it is crucial that more citizens take courses on these issues to help our global goal of a sustainable future. This specific course highlights a lot of ways on which we can do so.

von AYANLOYE S O

Feb 08, 2019

A very exciting Course. I am delighted I was able to complete this course. It provides a broader understanding of urban spaces. I suggest this course for everyone.

von Mohsin A R

Jan 22, 2019

Excellent Course. It helped me a a lot in preparing my research proposal for Master Studies in City and Regional Planning.

von Oduor K K

Jan 25, 2019

Very insightful and helpful to understand environmental and energy and how these two aspects interact with urbanization.

von 曾宇翔

May 05, 2019

很棒的课程~从里面了解到很多国际上前沿的可持续城市规划理念和方案~也了解到当前在技术和规划管理层面上的主流热点和发展趋势。对于一个初学者而言也显得特别友好~一点都不晦涩难懂~特别接地气~课程也比较短~氛围也比较轻松~推荐~

von Angus S

May 22, 2018

This course is an interesting introduction into sustainable initiatives and policy implementation within cities. The structure of a short quiz after each week encouraged me to take detailed notes on the readings and lectures, and I enjoyed conducting my own research for the coursework.

Some of the readings are from several years ago and do not necessarily represent the most up to date information. It would also have been interesting to hear about more projects outside of Scandinavia and Northern Europe, as many of the case studies seemed to focus on these areas.

von Jenny P

Mar 29, 2016

This is an ok introductory course, a compilation of concepts, related to sustainable cities. Mentiones a list of places where one or another practice is implemented. Some educational clips look like they are taken from Youtube or like promo videos for a certain initiative. Some of the "lecturers" are just phd students, introducing their research topics. No step-by-step examples of developed cases are shown.

von Patricia C

May 27, 2019

Overall I have to agree that this course was repetitive and provided no real substance. I feel like i could have learned a lot more. However, I will say that it was a good introductory class. I learned new concepts and definitions. After taking this course, I definitely feel inspired to pursue a masters in city planning. This course is great if u want to get a little taste of urban planning.

von Alex M

Jan 25, 2018

This course is a bunch of overlapping, wannabe TED talk-style videos full of hippie waffle. There is very little actual content, poor structure, and you can save time and pass the quizzes using google. I really struggle to understand how this got 4.6 out of 5 on Coursera. Fake reviews?

von Lasha N

Feb 01, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the content of this course. It seems shallow and disintegrated to me. Its difficult to say that this course provides some practical knowledge.

von DIBYA J P

May 18, 2020

The plus points: The videos are very attractive with sounds and voices. With immense music and photographs it kept me seated despite long hours. Loved the way the chances for reviewing my assignments were given. I could keep learning and trying to do better.

Not so negative points: There could be some illustrations to show how cities adapted all those technologies step-by-step. Agree that Sweden has taken so much effort to bring the city to what it is now. But how did they start and ended with so beautiful city. Taking India as an example, it will be a challenging task. Reading materials are extensive. Time and energy are limited in this world of busy and hectic work atmosphere. So I think video helps a lot to reduce entire amount of reading into summary in speech.

Overall it was a superb experience.

Thank you team, Instructors, Teachers and those who have put up so much hard work in making this course.

von Paul K

Oct 21, 2016

This class was a very global class. It opened my eyes to the sustainable development goals and strategies that are used by a plethora of countries across the vast expanse of this planet. It opened my eyes to the timeline and years of development that certain strategies will take to meet deadlines and targets for meeting global climate change action pacts. I also learned about the workings of a city, how they can become more sustainable, and most of all, I now have a deep and passionate yearning to do action in my community, and to travel to progressive places such as Malmo or Copenhagen and see for myself and wonderful progressive European countries have created, and also other examples in Asia and Australia and across the globe. It was a exhilarating and exciting journey.

von Robert S

May 25, 2020

Excellent presentations, informative and timely. I was challenged by several of the readings and quizzes. (I am 78 years old and haven't been in school for a long time.) I thought that the reading, "Smart and Sustainable Cities? Pipedreams, Practicalities and Possibilities" was particularly insightful. Some day cities in the US will also be rewarded for innovative climate actions, for now we can only envy and hope to emulate the outstanding progress made in Europe, Asia and Canada. A question: can we really achieve our climate goals without major commitments on the part of national governments? This outstanding course will encourage people of all ages to get involved in this critical issue and presents so many ways to get involved. (Robert Stein, AICP)

von Raoul L

Jun 19, 2018

A fun course, however there were some redundancies amongst the speakers which ofcourse is fine, however, it would have made more sense if they could have mentioned these redundancies with the purpose of getting a higher understanding of the relations between the different topics and getting a more holistic view of all these elements. I do understand this was attempted to be solved with talks of Kes, however, I felt this was a bit shortcoming as it was just in the beginnen of the vids. Secondly there are some big things happening in city sustainability e.g. emission monitoring using the global reporting initiative. How does this relate to these topics adressed in this course?

von Roisin O

Dec 17, 2019

I took this course because I wanted to elevate the thinking and opinions I had on climate change and what we can do about it. I participate in community projects but felt helpless in the bigger picture sense. This course has helped me to understand how cities can make a real difference, what kind of projects are underway and how to go about thinking of environmental issues such as consumption, waste, resilience and resource use. I see how they are tied together now and I see how collaboration is the only way we will mitigate climate change and its effects on humanity.

von Deleted A

Sep 17, 2019

The course opened my eyes on the situation with rapidly growing consequences of our actions. In many places people rarely think of the climate change, CO2 footprint and how it impacts the nature. We need to take the responsibility on that. The course showed just how scientists, universities and ordinary caring people try to address the climate change in cities, where the most effect on nature takes place. The number of solutions are presented in the course and explained well. I definitely recommend the course.

von RHemalatha

May 06, 2020

Greetings! Enjoyed the course very much.Lecture videos,reading instructions,assignment submission with rubrics.Also documentary videos taking live example of cities from Europe and other regions, is really worth watching.How action plans among various stakeholders are happening is really worthy. Test assessments and as well peer assessments enjoyed joyfully.Wish Lund University and team members all the very best! in many more Endeavor’s

Thank you Shall join some other course in time to go.

von Nicole

Nov 29, 2016

This class was a GREAT introduction to the world of sustainable cities and taught me a lot about how to work to create climate sustainable cities. I took this course to prep for grad school applications and I feel much more confident now. Especially after the results of the US Election, which will put action on climate change in jeopardy, I think it's important to be as educated as possible about sustainability challenges and how we can meet them without the help of our President.

von Anna Z

Jul 29, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. It hepled me to develop the environmental-friendly way of thinking. I think this course is just a completely necessary thing for every architector. By the way, I guess I will connect my life with these theme when I'll get older.

I also liked the way the course is managed. Quizzes made me think a lot but that's why OI remember almost every video and almost every word of the extra reading. Thank you, Lund University, for such an opportunity!

von Satyam J

Feb 14, 2017

This course was very helpful as it provided us an exposure to the current environment issues and their relation with our economy.It also recommended us to use the alternatives available and briefly described their advantages.Learning the new things from the economies around the world,their development processes and the present scenario their had been shown and explained gorgeously.Overall it was a nice experience with course era and the LUND UNIVERSITY.....;}