Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
1,064 Bewertungen
366 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations. 5 hours/week 5 weeks duration 30 films 10 teachers...

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 355 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Nicole M

Feb 27, 2019

I loved the content of this course! I wish it had been a bit more current since we know how quickly things change with climate change. It definitely has me thinking in new ways regardless :)

von Luis T

Dec 12, 2018

Muy buen curso, principalmente el hecho de mostrar tantas iniciativas que se estan realizando a nivel mundial me parece muy interesante y sobre todo motivador!

von Stephanie D

Feb 17, 2019

Very interesting, intriguing and informative course with good examples and great learning material. Only downside is that I think the material could be updated, this is a rapidly advancing field and big changes have been happening in recent years with new examples that could be highlighted.

von Andrew R

Feb 18, 2019

Although the case studies and topics were very interesting, some of the short videos briefly describing one thing seemed unnecessary. Course also needs better organization.

von Danilo N G

Jun 11, 2017

Wonderful. Thanks so much.

von Veronika J

Jun 23, 2017

I really liked the course, it was quite eye opening to all the different initiatives that are being developed around the world. In a way I expected that it would continue a bit longer to have more time to dive deeper into the matter.

von fred c

Mar 20, 2017

Great introduction! Lots of details! However, this is just a door to sustainable development, it is more of a conceptual framework instead of something that is tangible, more and deeper study is needed.

von Brian N

Jun 22, 2017

Good introduction to concepts, but repetitive and could dig deeper into technical details

von Rosemarie C

Sep 17, 2017

Would have like 1 more writing/research assignment.

In addition, a requirement to join in 1 forum discussion.

von Bijoy J

Oct 12, 2016

Good understanding on energing concepts, experiences from Scandanavian countries and gets me exploring possibilities in our environment/ cities.

von Fumio S

Jun 30, 2016

I did enjoy this course.

von Kaleb B

Jan 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the course and would highly suggest to anyone interested in sustainable city design.

von Rhaefal J R

Sep 28, 2017

El contenido de cada semana podría abordar temas más amplios y no ser tan redundante en temas que ya se repasaron en semanas anteriores, me gustaría también que abordaran mas casos de estudio y ejemplos alrededor del mundo.

von Frank D R

Mar 24, 2016

Overall good course (the first MOOC I ever took, so inexperienced in grading these courses), but some areas of improvement remain.

I would however suggest less redundancy. Too many papers/videos start with an overview of the problems we are facing, but I would think most students are aware of these problems coming into the course, and if not, they need not be repeated so many times. Also, some of the papers seem to use a very redundant and roundabout way of communicating information, with a lot of repetition and sometimes over-contextualization. Shorter sentences/readability do not make for worse science. :-)

von Helene B

Feb 15, 2016

Very good, however the inclusion of conference talks tend to be less interesting than professeur targeted lessons.

von Greeshma B

Dec 05, 2016

very good

von Lautaro A

Dec 05, 2016

Very insightful, great lectures, challenging assignments. Highly recommended.

von Iulia C

Nov 30, 2017

Very informative course! Would totally suggest if you're looking for a broad approach to understanding what a sustainable city is, how best to form visions on achieving sustainability and how different stakeholders can work together to make the visions a reality. Great examples from around the globe. What's lacking I would say is a little bit more interactivity between the video lessons and assignments to help retain the information better (this may be a Coursera issue though).

von Paul S

Sep 06, 2016

Lots of great material. Very much enjoyed the course. One challenge, keeping current with all of the new programs and projects around the world. Thanks!

von DHIRAJ K

Feb 15, 2016

Structured course.

von Deleted A

Feb 25, 2016

Comprehensive. You get a firm idea about the direction about the upcoming green urban wave. However, could do with more practical specifics rather than just ideas and guidelines.

von Jorge E A P

May 29, 2016

Great introductory course to understand citites as sources of solutions instead of sources of problems.

von Ryan F

Dec 10, 2017

Readings could have included more journal/news articles vs academic dry content.

von RICARDO A S M

May 20, 2016

It is a good introductory course, but I think it should go deeper each week content. Being slightly more technical. I recommend this course.

von Debora S

Oct 13, 2016

It was a good informative course, but at times it gave me the impression that it was more concerned in showcase the research done at Lund than exploring of the subject at hand.