Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
Sterne
1,535 Bewertungen
539 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 527 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Stefanía T D L R

Oct 07, 2019

I got a much better understanding on how sustainability can be developed in cities and why it is actually essential to do so. This course offers a very complete outlook on all of the areas that encompass urban sustainability and how each of those can be approached, and for that I highly recommend it.

von YADAV N D

May 20, 2020

IT HAVE BEEN A PLEASURE TO LEARN HOW TO GREEN THE CITY AND WHY ARE THEY NEEDED. THE FOLLOWING TACTICS AS SHOWN IN THESE COURSE ARE MUCH APPRECIABLE AND HELPFUL FOR THE LIVING SO I MYSELF WILL HANG UP WITH THESE IDEAS AND TRY TO PROVIDE THE HELP NEEDED TO HE CITY TO THE WORLD FROM MY SIDE, THANK YOU

von Abril G S P

Jun 09, 2020

Its is very interesting all the concepts of sustainable cities that can be understood in this course, and how they defend the idea of colctivity in their documents, certainly innovative and considers real aspects of economic growth and citizens as part of the development of sustainable utopias

von Valeri Y

Feb 16, 2016

Motivating and inspirational. Now I also do have a dream! The week 5 movie: The Sustainability Challenge, especially the part with the Energy & Water Science Center and all the kids exploring sustainability through games - those 30 seconds really are a light in the tunnel! Thanks!

von Fatemeh B

Feb 08, 2020

With the help of the course I took, I got to know some good resources. It has helped me to get better and better visions of the subject. I got to know different points of view. In the research section it helped me get access to the topics I was looking for. Thank you COURSERA :)

von ANDREW S

May 04, 2020

The knowledge gained from this class only scratches the surface of what is out there to learn about creating sustainable cities. This type of class is vital to learning how to become more involved in local communities to input positive social, climate, and environmental change.

von NAGAMALLA . T

Apr 19, 2020

I'm so glad in completing this course, as it enlighten the knowledge on sustainability, urban infrastructure, energy conservation schemes and also ways to reduce carbon foot print. This course provides a pathway for the 'change' in the cities heading to sustainable development.

von Mohit J

Jun 05, 2020

This course explained sustainability and urban planning not just by theory but by using case studies and examples. This made it easier to understand and showed that these practices are already being followed in some cities so why can't they be done in the rest of the world.

von Onu

Jun 05, 2020

The course content were precise, very relatable and made me see how several cities around the world were developing towards green sustainability. furthermore, i learnt of urban living labs and how they can be useful models in deciding how we shape sustainable societies.

von Sebastian S

Mar 29, 2016

Great course, and great lectures! I would make the quizzes and coursework more rigorous for those who'd like to learn a bit more and be challenged. From this course, I'm interested in pursuing an online Master's degree sometime in the near future! Thank you. - Sebastian

von Michelogiannaki P

Mar 02, 2017

Ιt was a very interesting course.You will learn many things in an accesible way ,especially through videos.It is not necessary to have much knowledge on this subject ,to create a general point of view for sustainable cities and to become more sensitive on this matter.

von Pirovich N M

May 25, 2020

This was a great experience! I thank the whole team for their work that has been done well! In this course I've learnt what unfortunately I didn't get in my university but I strongly needed this knowledge to understand what the next step I need to do to reach my goal.

von Christian G

May 30, 2017

Excellent course! I highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in a sustainable future. The transition from polluting to clean energy will be won or lost in the cities. Not in the mega cities but in the smaller ones. The course is very inspiring!

von Niyati C

Sep 09, 2016

Exceptionally good. For those who wish to know the base of sustainable cities and how to make them reality in the future, this is the best course to lookout for.

Good supplementary reading material and good presentations on on-going research in this field.

von Ulrike S

Sep 04, 2017

This was an interesting course with an excellent blend of videos, excersices and peer reviews. Not being in the energy sector, I learned a lot about greening the economy, and the course definitely raised my knowledge and the desire to learn more about

von Leiriane P R

Oct 22, 2017

Now, I can say that I can really think “out of the box”, as I have heard from many recognized and knowleadgeable professors and professionals from all over the world while attending to Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities. Thank you very much.

von Christiane D

Apr 28, 2017

This was a wonderful, inspirational and exciting course! I learned a lot and am keen on learning more and maybe get involved further in one of the many initiatives that were presented. I am genuinely amazed, happy and motivated by this course.

von Juan D P E

Oct 07, 2019

I like the detailed explanations inside this course. It gives you a comprehensive picture on how to make improvements towards sustainability and also it shows you the key areas where to make this improvements. I highly recommend this course.

von Rodolfo P M

Dec 17, 2017

I recommend this course to everyone. EVERYONE. As long as you are a person interest to know more about sustainability and how we (each individual) can do something, it's the right course for you. Thanks a lot to Coursera and Lund University.

von Sirish M

May 24, 2018

This course has driven me to take up Urban Studies for my professional future and has also taught me that there's no going forward without educating ourselves about Sustainability development and most importantly, it's implementation.

von Anastasiia S

Mar 15, 2018

I am really enjoying this course! It is carefully designed, very informative, and introduces you to many great professionals in the field of urban sustainability - academics, urban researchers, bloggers, etc.. I highly recommend it!

von Faturachman

Nov 17, 2016

A very enlightening course. Many cities Government in Indonesia is starting develop their cities with adopting smart sustainable cities and ICT. They realize without that we will loss competitiveness, resilience, and inclusiveness.

von Joseph J M B

Apr 26, 2020

It was a great learning experience..Thank you for all the facilitator for this coarse and to all the cities & people for all their initiatives to provide a better future. Please continue for all your efforts and good luck.....

von Ovie A

Sep 30, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned a lot and i hope to build upon the knowledge i acquired here. I wanna thank the organizers of this course for putting in the energy and effort necessary to make this a reality.

von Carlos O

Mar 17, 2016

Very interesting and thank you for clearly organizing and the topics in which sustainable cities is being studied. Very helpful indeed specially in places where the topic is still not particularly in the policy agenda .