Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
1,041 Bewertungen
360 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations. 5 hours/week 5 weeks duration 30 films 10 teachers...

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 348 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Lexie X L

Apr 14, 2019

The abundance of city initiatives shared in the course are informative and helpful. I would be happy to see more cases analysed in-depth.

von Zulfiqar A

Apr 14, 2019

A very good course. I rated 4/5 because it is just a beginner level course. You can understand the stuff if you have baisc knowledge of basic sciences, but for people like me with professional degrees it somewhat primitive or a basic course.

von Paula C B A

Feb 03, 2019

Realmente me gustó toda la información proporcionada en este espacio, me pareció muy consistente con todos los problemas que el mundo tiene hoy, me hubiera gustado tener ejemplos más específicos de cómo el mundo es más sostenible.

¡Muchas gracias por enseñarnos a avanzar hacia un mundo más sostenible!

von Joshua B R

Sep 29, 2018

The course is great. But given its novelty, it is understandable that the concepts are still vague. I'm hoping to have more courses that are objective. Also, please create modules focused on developing countries. Thank you very much, Lund University. You've inspired me to be a driver of sustainability.

von Isha S

Sep 04, 2018

Few chapters pretty much had the same content. The content could have been more inclusive of different examples from various cities around the world

von Basavaraj H

Sep 04, 2018

Contents, Reading materials and videos are very much relevant and useful. Will refer the learning in my regular works. steps and process followed for the course is user friendly.

von Jorge R

Oct 31, 2018

Good for an Introduction to Sustainability in Urban Areas

von Jose A A G

Nov 01, 2018

Muy interesante, abarca el tema de manera integrada y transdisciplinaria. Sin embargo, en ocasiones sentí que el contenido era redundante, ya se habia tocado ese punto, o se repetía sin profundizar en él

von Sorely C

Nov 05, 2018

I would like to recieve feedback from professor in the debate sections.

von Zoe W

Nov 13, 2018

could use other types of assessment

von william b

Nov 19, 2018

i

von Iulia C

Nov 30, 2017

Very informative course! Would totally suggest if you're looking for a broad approach to understanding what a sustainable city is, how best to form visions on achieving sustainability and how different stakeholders can work together to make the visions a reality. Great examples from around the globe. What's lacking I would say is a little bit more interactivity between the video lessons and assignments to help retain the information better (this may be a Coursera issue though).

von Virginie L

Sep 11, 2016

I enjoyed very much this course as a interdisciplinary topic with many very concrete examples from cities all around the world - especially from Scandinavia and rich partnerships with NGO and other organisations.

I was a bit more time consuming than the previous MOOC I had followed because of the readings in addition to the video, but also what made the course very rich.

von Alina B

Mar 23, 2016

Good course, relevant topics, however they could have been elaborated in a more detailed way.

von vidya b

Jan 31, 2017

very nicely put together the contours of urbanization its challenges and some glimpses into the solution framework.

von Jim M

Jun 17, 2016

I thought it was a very informative course with some great speakers and topics. Each weak gave different topics related to sustainable development of cities. The reason I'm only giving it a 4 was the organisation of the course on the Coursera. The deadlines according to Coursera and the intructors differ, causing some confusion. As well as on the discussion board students from each of the past lessons are put together.

von Jonatan C

Dec 13, 2016

It's a good course to know the actual Green economy activity in the world and the aplications. You can take advantage to implement so many ideas in your life and in your city. Thanks.

von Deleted A

Feb 25, 2016

Comprehensive. You get a firm idea about the direction about the upcoming green urban wave. However, could do with more practical specifics rather than just ideas and guidelines.

von Greeshma B

Dec 05, 2016

very good

von Isabel A R

Feb 04, 2017

Great content! Invites you to go further on the subjects and shows you a different approach on sustainability "design" that the one you are used to see in your company or city's vision.

von Mariam A

May 21, 2017

4.5. Extremely useful, interesting and entertaining! The readings could've had an easier and more concluded rhetoric but nonetheless; I've learnt a lot. I hope I'd be able to use this information to make an impact in the sustainability factor needed in this world!

Thank you.

von Lautaro A

Dec 05, 2016

Very insightful, great lectures, challenging assignments. Highly recommended.

von Paul S

Sep 06, 2016

Lots of great material. Very much enjoyed the course. One challenge, keeping current with all of the new programs and projects around the world. Thanks!

von Hector P

Aug 23, 2016

Excellent

von DHIRAJ K

Feb 15, 2016

Structured course.