Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
1,041 Bewertungen
360 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations. 5 hours/week 5 weeks duration 30 films 10 teachers...

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

326 - 348 von 348 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Phoebe B

Apr 04, 2016

Good. One more written assignment would have been good (the one in week 2 was great), and perhaps more incentives or reminders to use the forum. Some of the reading seemed rather hard going and academic and theoretical, but the course was good as an intro to issues related to public policy, getting to know the keywords used, and showing the systemic shifts in cities over the last 2 decades towards a more multi stakeholder approach for a more decarbonated economy.

von Ketaki R

Feb 24, 2016

Nice but I completed 2nd week before last date...but then also it gave as overdue.. Which is not correct

von Marie-Hélène W

Feb 18, 2016

Could be even more details and demanding in terms of content, overall it is a good introduction to the topic

von Mina L

Apr 05, 2016

repeat of the same material and content in multiple videos, the videos were sourced from too many different places leading to 1) decrease of consistent quality and 2) non sequential / logical teaching (each video does not clearly lead to or build on the next one)

von Luca M

Aug 10, 2017

interesting, not all but yes the part about mobility

von Luke H

Oct 24, 2017

a good introduction. the compendium was a good document.

von Stéphanie D

Dec 03, 2017

Le contenu est généralement bon.

Par contre, la matière est redondante et on ne parle pas assez de solutions amenés.

von Angus S

May 22, 2018

This course is an interesting introduction into sustainable initiatives and policy implementation within cities. The structure of a short quiz after each week encouraged me to take detailed notes on the readings and lectures, and I enjoyed conducting my own research for the coursework.

Some of the readings are from several years ago and do not necessarily represent the most up to date information. It would also have been interesting to hear about more projects outside of Scandinavia and Northern Europe, as many of the case studies seemed to focus on these areas.

von Adriana m

May 04, 2019

i think that when we are dealing with cities we should not loose the focus: the humans that live on it, therefore, i think that sustainability is also inside every house, with the products people buy, the amount of thrash they produce and how much they care about whats in their plate.

von Karoline B

Apr 25, 2019

This course is kept very general. Information often repeat. There is no indepth analysis of problems. The course is good as an introduction course to the topic. For students with previous knowledge it is probably too basic.

von Louann S

Jun 20, 2019

I think there is alot of interesting ideas, case studies and information. However, I think there is a lot of repetition in the content e.g. more about laying out the problems and less on tangible solution. There is some content that ads very little to the overall piece. However, I have really enjoyed the course and find the information on learning labs and different actions taken by varied cities very interesting.

von Barbara M P

Aug 03, 2019

The course was rather elementary and only the final week provided the information I thought it would be structured around (more detailed solution examples from many cities). The previous weeks were too theoretical in a consulting/management kind of way. However, this is my first coursera course, so I cannot benchmark it against the others.

von Hannah G

Aug 27, 2019

Good resources and well-structured course, really felt like a very comprehensive coverage of the topic. Some resources don't appear to have been updated for a couple of years and content sometimes repetitive and a little vague in how exactly things might be carried out, what they cost etc. Readings very dense and took longer than indicated. Would definitely recommend for someone looking for inspiration and a broad range of different examples worldwide, maybe not someone looking for the nitty-gritty ins and outs of sustainability.

von Nastia

Aug 27, 2019

I would say, that a lot of videos could be more informative. A lot of them touch some basis, but never talk a lot about the problem, the solution, the government. Didn't really talk about green economy. Expected more.

von Marle F

Sep 13, 2019

The course content was very good. However there is this two month time period (from Mid June to Mid August 2019), where it is impossible to continue/enroll the course! I am very disappointed about the forced break that I have to take. I was about to finish course and now have to wait for two months to complete! Very disappointing!

von Patricia C

May 27, 2019

Overall I have to agree that this course was repetitive and provided no real substance. I feel like i could have learned a lot more. However, I will say that it was a good introductory class. I learned new concepts and definitions. After taking this course, I definitely feel inspired to pursue a masters in city planning. This course is great if u want to get a little taste of urban planning.

von daniel z

Jan 31, 2017

broad overview on

von Digby D

Nov 16, 2017

If you're looking for specific information about particular green technologies or methodologies, this class is not for you.

What you will get instead is largely a number of polished marketing videos of bureaucrats describing how great their future projects will be and how they're going to make such a difference in their local communities alongside a healthy dose of cheerleading for WWF and ICLEI without those organizations making any significant contributions to the educational video content. There was an ICLEI video in Week 1 that was 45 seconds of a man talking about how he'd partnered with ICLEI for an urban agriculture project. He did not describe the project any further than that, nor did he describe any of the following: budget, methodology, proposed time frame, or details of how it would mitigate the effects of climate change. You could imagine this would be frustrating for someone who had interest in urban agriculture and wanted to know more about it.

Many of the videos have varying degrees of overlap or redundancies in their content. For example, Week 3 is about Urban Living Labs. There are four videos in a row which describe what Urban Living Labs are, resulting in almost 40 minutes of borderline identical content that could have been covered solely by the third video "Urban Innovation and Living Labs". The video production quality is good on almost everything but the lengthier lecture videos, which ended up being the most useful in terms of transferring information to the viewer. I would be willing to bet that these lectures (and more) can be found on YouTube, thereby obviating the need for this course.

This class is functionally a pretty, but vapid hippie girl and therefore useless to anyone who doesn't need to be proselytized to and simply wants to have a greater understanding of these technologies and methodologies.

von Sharlene N

Mar 02, 2018

Little new information is presented. As a basic survey course, that would be find except for ---> The quiz questions are irrelevant. Nobody should memorize these useless facts designed to check if the videos were watched or reading completed. e.g. Does it matter what in order bicycle riders cite their reasons for choosing said mode of transport in Copenhagen?

von Manchot P

Jun 04, 2016

Hi,

I'm sorry to say that this course wasn't really useful. I had the impression to see dozens of INTRODUCTION videos about sustainables cities. Because:

1. In 5 weeks you have time to cover in details all the aspects of sustainable cities: energy, transport, waste, building, sharing economy. The condition is to focus each week to a topic.

2. It is too much based on powerpoint presentation and not at all on example. Concepts stay concepts: we didn't visit one single town, a connected building, an innovative waste management system. You quote 300 living labs, let's go !

3. Pictures from the powerpoint are at least for half of them taken from pictures bank. Synthetic images, not concrete. Desapointing.

4.. Always the same example: Malmo, Copenhagen... What about the rest of the world ?

5. Videos from WWH and ICLEI are clearly revolting. Is it some publicity for them ??? This is not the place for that.

In contrast, congratulations to Yuliya Voytenko, for her speech about sharing economy: it was clear, precise, focused.

Please do your best to improve your courses: you have the knowledge, let's spread it.

von Lasha N

Feb 01, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the content of this course. It seems shallow and disintegrated to me. Its difficult to say that this course provides some practical knowledge.

von Steve P

Jan 30, 2017

Mostly fluff with little substance. The videos seemed loosely tied around a common subject, but it might as well have been a YouTube playlist on overall concepts of cities needing to be aware of climate change. The week 4 videos were the same as the week 1 with very vague statements about cities needing to experiment with sustainability to approach the challenges of the 21st century. Only the week 2 video on Copenhagen was actually educational beyond the most superficial concepts.

von Alex M

Jan 25, 2018

This course is a bunch of overlapping, wannabe TED talk-style videos full of hippie waffle. There is very little actual content, poor structure, and you can save time and pass the quizzes using google. I really struggle to understand how this got 4.6 out of 5 on Coursera. Fake reviews?