Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
Sterne
1,763 Bewertungen
607 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

526 - 550 von 595 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Dimitrios D

Sep 04, 2020

Maybe a little short to cover the subject matter being discussed.

von Marisa J K

May 10, 2020

A lot of valuable information and interesting content! Thank you!

von Stu Y

Feb 06, 2020

A gentle, easy introduction to a complicated, challenging topic.

von Jorge R

Oct 31, 2018

Good for an Introduction to Sustainability in Urban Areas

von Scott P

Apr 15, 2019

I really enjoyed this class and recommend it to others.

von Marta T F

May 26, 2020

There where some modules quite redundant.

von Uday S

Apr 25, 2020

very interactive and informative course.

von Zoe W

Nov 13, 2018

could use other types of assessment

von james i

Dec 13, 2017

Could have more technical knowledge

von Ankit P

May 05, 2020

Quite a good Learning experience

von Danilo N G

Jun 11, 2017

Wonderful. Thanks so much.

von Fumio S

Jun 30, 2016

I did enjoy this course.

von Mohit G

Feb 18, 2018

Great Experience !!

von DHIRAJ K

Feb 15, 2016

Structured course.

von Nithin S N

Oct 02, 2019

very good course

von Aryan M

Aug 06, 2019

Wonderful

von Greeshma B

Dec 05, 2016

very good

von Hector P

Aug 23, 2016

Excellent

von Mehedi H

May 21, 2020

amazing

von Prabesh S G

Aug 31, 2020

Good

von william b

Nov 19, 2018

i

von James D

May 09, 2020

The course contains interesting content and is firmly rooted in real-world examples. One of the most interesting parts was the assignments where I got to interact with other students and hear about issues affecting their cities.

On the negative side, a lot of the content felt like a series of adverts for organisations involved in the business of smart cities. Also, I appreciate the course is provided by a Swedish university but it would definitely benefit from more examples from outside Scandinavia – at times, it felt like I was watching tourism videos of some of the most affluent cities in the world!

Still, all things considered, it's a thought-provoking course that provides a good introduction to the area. While the weekly reading provides plenty of references to follow up should you choose.

von Jiří N

Jun 12, 2020

Compared to the course Greening the Economy: Lessons from Scandinavia, that I have been doing simultaneously with this one, I was not that amazed. This course did not have a clear structure and it was often unclear, what actually is the learning objective of a specific chapter/lecture. Connected to that, I have often found overlaps and repetition among the lectures/videos in different parts of the course. Nevertheless, I have learnt a good portion of new knowledge and information that I find useful for my future professional life, especially with regard to urban infrastructure.

von Julen A

Jun 05, 2020

The course has indeed several interesting classes and you certainly can learn new concepts in some videos and readings.

The bad part is, as other students have already mentioned, that the class order and relevance of some lessons are sometimes dysfunctional. You could easily switch/change some materials from the first’s classes with the last ones and see no difference whatsoever.

It’s not a waste of time but other Lund’s University courses (such as “Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management”) are way more tastefully designed.

von Hannah G

Aug 27, 2019

Good resources and well-structured course, really felt like a very comprehensive coverage of the topic. Some resources don't appear to have been updated for a couple of years and content sometimes repetitive and a little vague in how exactly things might be carried out, what they cost etc. Readings very dense and took longer than indicated. Would definitely recommend for someone looking for inspiration and a broad range of different examples worldwide, maybe not someone looking for the nitty-gritty ins and outs of sustainability.