Chevron Left
Zurück zu Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Hadoop Platform and Application Framework von University of California San Diego

3.9
Sterne
3,049 Bewertungen
731 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top-Bewertungen

GM

Feb 01, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

NP

May 16, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 713 Bewertungen für Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

von Pavlos C

Feb 27, 2019

Good course to give you potentially chaotic concepts. Prerequisites, that are not must but will definitelly help a lot: some basic linux command line fluency, basic python knowledge. Without those it still might be doable but might be a total nightmare. Many comments judge harshly some of the instructors. I would disagree on those, especially about class 3 instructor. The guy has a good way to present his concepts. Last week is the best.

von Toby P

Oct 31, 2015

This is a good course for anyone without major experience with Hadoop and/or Spark. Covers high level concepts and architecture, and basic tools of each. In this first iteration of the course, there are several typos in the assignments but fellow students have quickly provided corrections that, I'm sure, will be incorporated into subsequent offerings.

If you want to learn, I would recommend at least trying this course.

von Daniel F

Jan 24, 2017

Pretty interesting course and l now feel reasonably confident starting my own projects using spark. Only issue was with submitting some of the assignments. A lot of the time they would not work when I tried to submit. I eventually got them to submit using a different computer. This may be a problem on my end but from what I could tell from the discussions, many people had similar problems.

von Raymond T

Mar 24, 2016

Hadoop Platform V2 is well explained here including applications. At the end there's more detailed explanation of what Spark technology is compared to MapReduce. Having solid Python experience will help you here. Not having it, will be challenging. Also no support course support from Cloudera or authors o the course. You would get help from your classmates and internet.

von Kai Z

Aug 23, 2017

The content of this course is quite good. I like it very much. However, I still have two suggestions. Firstly, the downloaded slides of the first lesson of week 1 is different from the slides used in the video. Secondly, the oral speed of the last lecturer is so slow. I have to use 1.25X to get a normal speed. Anyway, I would like to recommend this course to friends.

von Soledad G

Dec 05, 2015

Very good overview with practice on programming with python for mapreduce and spark. So far, the best I came across to study the hadoop framework in a way that allows you to interact with the system.

It would be useful if the course had more depth on the different topics so we leave more resourceful to tackle additional problems than the ones presented here.

von Kim K L

Jan 27, 2016

Good solid course with a lot of emphasis on hands-on! It would be great if the teachers (particular in the Spark/pySpark section) could provide setup guidance for iPython Notebook as this will save the students a lot of time in coding/re-coding various examples as well as having a complete and easy to overview trace of the various Python related exercises.

von Fernando d C B

Jan 07, 2016

It is a good course , that gives a wide view of Hadoop platform and tools. Has some good examples .

I just think it could have more exercises to fix the commands and tools and how them can interact with each other.

My suggestion is to create a big project that will be increased on each week or lesson and this way prepare to a more integrated view.

von Chetan R

Dec 06, 2015

Good course overall, learnt a lot, and much more confident about big data technologies. The course asks for heavy system requirements that I didn't have. You can still use a computer with half the specs suggested. Time expectations are incorrect; keep an average 5 hours a week to be able to do MapReduce and Spark assignments along with the videos.

von MUHAMMAD I

Dec 31, 2015

I think, this is very important subject and course material was Excellent and very helpful in understanding the hadoop as a whole and to understand the relationship of other platforms like Spark And Tez.

There are some difficulties in understanding Quiz and Assignments but due to that i read different reference material on Spark and hadoop.

von Kulbhushan B

Jun 12, 2017

A great and easy introduction to Hadoop platform. Instructors explain the concepts that are central to Hadoop platform. Considering the breadth of material in Hadoop platform, the instructors did a good job on conveying the key concepts in an easy to understand manner. The quizzes had about 20% of questions that were not covered in course.

von Gowri S A S

Jun 11, 2017

Assignments and Quiz sections are really good. The step by step hand-holding is quite helpful. I wish some of the instructors spent some more time in explaining the concepts better before jumping around, assuming the learner know what they know already.

I recommend this course to any developer yearning to step into the field of Big Data!

von Gopal K

Jan 23, 2019

The course is well documented, instructors are highly qualified. It covers more theoretical aspects of Big Data Stacks. Once should have some prior knowledge of Big Data to finish this course, specifically to complete the coding assignments. If there were a real world use case of big data world, the course simply would be great.

von Sanjaykumar M

Mar 21, 2016

This course gave a good overview of the hadoop platform and the frameworks. The course would have been more interesting if more examples were covered in the lectures and the assignments. Nevertheless, the map reduce exercises were good and helped understand the lectures better and were confidence boosting. :)

von Michael L

Dec 04, 2015

Speaker partly hard to understand. Quizzes / assignments were not really challenging, rather copy & paste. Algorithms and implementation of tools was not covered thoroughly (not even read up material provided). Anyway - gave a good overview of the framework and its components. Thanks a lot!

von srinivas k s

Jul 24, 2017

Very good course. The material is well covered. The spark assignments were very good. I personally thought the other assignments could have been harder. Still, I strongly recommend this course for anyone wanting to get introduced and get comfortable with programming on the Hadoop stack.

von Chan K K

Jul 04, 2019

The course teaches the most important aspects of Hadoop Platform, especially the MapReduce and Spark programming framework in a consise way.

However, students without technical backgrouds may found it hard to complete the programming assignment with Python and in Linux VM evnironment.

von Juan P A

Dec 18, 2015

Was good and Interesting... But after last Course (Introduction) this is a massive leap and is not suitable for someone who has no Coding Background - I don't and I suffered way too much trying to figure out all taht stuff, I think this is not for Business Professionals by itself.

von Kashyap S

Mar 13, 2016

Gets into the conceptual meat of the topic well and gives detailed enough explanation of each topic. I still feel that it could be improved with a little more examples and conceptual underpinning of HDFS. I like the professor and satisfied with his style of teaching.

von Ganga R

Feb 07, 2016

It was indeed a treat learning this course. It covers hadoop platform using theory as well as practical examples. The coding assignments will boost your confidence and interest. The Course was designed with proper mixture of coding assignments and other quizzes.

von Ram P B

Nov 02, 2016

This course definitely not meant for beginners. But this is a very good course for an intermediate. The best part of it is the quality assignments we do here. If the topics were described elaborately then it is definitely a better place to begin with.

von Olivier M

Jan 21, 2016

Not easy assignments for non-programmers !!! ..... but I am a programmer, so it was ok :-) ....

The quiz on Sparks are quite hard compared to others: I had the feeling that all the info was not in the course...

I learned a lot, so I give it a 4*

von Sagar S

Feb 01, 2016

The HDFS, map reduce explained very well. Since spark is complex , wish more details were discussed but good high level information. The quizzes are even better because it challenges the same concept that one is not might be double mind for.

von Andreza D P

Dec 07, 2017

It was a very interesting course, the way that it is done is not tiring , short videos and different speakers facilitate to have a good understand. I would say that the programming lessons require a minimum of language programming notion.

von Vlad L

Nov 11, 2017

Nice job guys! Thank you for sharing your knowledge! Some of lecturers were better than others. Please don't read a lot when presenting. More eye-contact is great! Programming assignments were great. I'd add one more complicated task.