Chevron Left
Zurück zu Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Health Across the Gender Spectrum von Stanford University

4.8
Sterne
1,301 Bewertungen
454 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Top-Bewertungen

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 18, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filtern nach:

376 - 400 von 449 Bewertungen für Health Across the Gender Spectrum

von Valeriia T

Aug 10, 2017

I'm loving it!

von 胡昕萌

Mar 04, 2018

Great Course!

von Noelia

Sep 28, 2017

Great course.

von Ehsanullah I

Jul 06, 2017

It was great!

von Jose M G S

Sep 23, 2018

Excellent!!!

von Carmen G

Sep 25, 2017

great course

von Manav

Apr 12, 2017

very helpful

von Anna K

Nov 16, 2017

very useful

von Francka K

May 19, 2017

Interesting

von Maria d c g

May 05, 2020

Me encantó

von Amanda F

May 08, 2017

Thank you!

von Karla M H F

Oct 07, 2019

Excelente

von Ayelen s

Jan 26, 2019

EXCELENTE

von Jazmín M

Jan 13, 2019

Muy bueno

von Isabel M G M

Apr 25, 2018

Inspiring

von Karla P Q

Oct 25, 2018

Love it!

von Vivian M

Apr 21, 2020

Exce

von Ernesto O M R

Jan 06, 2019

Cool

von Keeley T

Aug 20, 2017

This is a great introduction to understanding gender diversity, how to facilitate gender inclusive environments, and how to support wellness in gender diverse children. The course is short and sweet and the format is easy to navigate, which makes it easily accessible. The use of case examples along with educational information makes it both engaging and useful and allow's the opportunity to understand the perspective of these children, adults, and their families. I'm giving this four stars because as I watched the videos, my impression (which may be incorrect) is that the families and individuals represented a particular socioeconomic subset. While many of the recommendations apply across population and environment, this course did not address the complexities of intersectional issues (race, culture) and the challenges that people and those working with people with fewer resources and/or less liberal worldview may experience. White people working at Stanford and families willing to seek out support through a resource like Gender Spectrum (which is a powerful resource) are just not representative of much of the demographic struggling to feel authentic in their gender and to feel included and supported in their lives.

von Katie S

Mar 29, 2017

I thought this course was mostly very well done. I would love to get in touch with the professor who created the course, and may try to reach out via other means. I am a transgender grad student at Mills College working on gender inclusive early childhood education.

One note specifically for Coursera, though... The honor code validation use of "legal name" on a course about transgender rights/health poses a particular emotional barrier for transgender people taking the course. Many transgender people go by names that are not their legal name and may or may not be able to change their legal names due to complicated laws and requirements. Having folks sign using their legal name is a potentially hostile, if relatively passive, act towards some transgender folks taking this class.

von Venetia P

Apr 14, 2017

Great course, I really liked it. I found it very educating and enjoyed the interviews of the children most of all.

I feel the class would benefit by discussing how gender roles are formed in society, why are pervasive through many aspects of society, how they are historically evolved, comparison in more aspects with the societies mentioned that are more open to gender fluidity etc. That would help us understand whether there is a necessity behind the gender roles or whether it is a natural step to drop them altogether, how they apply to other gender defined groups etc. I see why this would give the class a more society critical and perhaps political dimension however.

von Terezia B

Jun 11, 2017

This course was very interesting and it taught me a lot, but sometimes I felt that it is not always women-sensitive or I just simply wasn't assured that it is, for example in the "What is a girl?" video when the little girls tells that girls should clean while boys should eat and sleep. This scared me a little bit, because in that moment I wasn't totally sure how to understand this, is it literally meant like that or is it just making fun of the gender roles. I mean for me it pretty much reproduced those roles that deprive women from their freedoms (having to cook and clean after a sleeping and eating man).

von 刘俊

Jun 21, 2020

I really appreciate the efforts the whole course team put into this course to try to make a story-based case study. I think it can prepare and aid parents with new tools to nurture their children, also it educates general public about transgender and invites more empathy to people whose gender identity falls between two pole of a diverse and beautiful spectrum. However, I find the course content not so much enriching and deep, it does not cover the neurological function from which our self awareness and gender identity emerges, nevertheless the course is very practical.

von Julianna S

Jun 19, 2020

A very good course that clearly and concisely explains the foundational terms and topics related to gender and individuals who are transgender/non-binary. I already knew much of the information found in this course, but I still found it valuable. I would have preferred if the course went into more depth on some topics (e.g. more information about gender-inclusive health care, more statistics to explain the health disparities between cisgender and transgender people...).

von DORIS I A

May 25, 2020

This course is very good and important to me. I can explain what transgender is and how disastrous it could be for someone when people refuse to accept his or her desired identify.

I have also learned that aside the persons family, schools and hospitals also have important role to play in order to make the decision possible without having to go through so much pains and stigmatization