Chevron Left
Zurück zu The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state von Tel Aviv University

4.8
177 Bewertungen
45 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course deals with the Israeli politics, economy, society and culture, since its creation in 1948 till today. It analyzes the construction of the Israeli historical narrative as an identity-building narrative, intending to inculcate a collective memory to a diverse society. We will focus on key events and essential components that shaped the Israeli society from the fifties till the present. We will also discuss the changes that the Israeli society experiences in its almost seventy years of existence and how it affects its politics and culture. Among the topics we will discuss issues such as immigration, economic transformation, political upheaval, religious Zionism and post-Zionism, privatization and Americanization, Holocaust increasing role in shaping Israel's identity, diversity and multiculturalism, as well as the enduring conflict with the Palestinians and the Arab world. This course is a direct extension of the first part "The History of Modern Israel: From an Idea to a State", so if you have not yet taken it, we highly recommend you start your learning from there (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel/). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Top-Bewertungen

MM

Jul 01, 2019

well and in brief explained topics that allows us to understand History of Modern Israel.\n\nI also didn't find the course biased which is a good thing.

AB

May 12, 2018

An excellent course! Great teachers and very interesting interviews. I loved it and learnt a lot. Many thanks and many greetings from Madrid / Antonia

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 44 Bewertungen für The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

von Paccelli J M Z

Dec 19, 2018

Um excelente curso que mudou minha visão sobre o Estado de Israel. Não era nada do que eu pensava e ouvia no noticiário.

von Michael D

Jan 28, 2019

This course has provided me with a window into Israeli History and a great introduction to the contemporary situation in Israel. My suspicions of bias were repeatedly refuted and a great emphasis was put on presenting a factual history and allowing for student consideration as to the benefits or detriments of said events. Mentions of artists and cultural figures lead to an outside understanding of the Israeli people in the early days and how things have changed to become what they are today. Some students offer insightful input in the discussion forums and its great to see dissenting professors debate, as the same debate must go on in the heads of observers around the world, Israeli or not.

von Bryden M

Jan 27, 2019

Very good course, informative and lays out the foundation for anyone wanting to know about the state of Israel.

von Denise G I

Mar 14, 2019

Excelente curso a respeito da cultura e conflitos israelenses

von Celia F C

Feb 04, 2019

Great continuation to the first part - would totally recommend it to learn about this interesting country!

von conchi

Jul 12, 2018

I was looking for something to help me to learn and understand the State of Israel. I find this course very intereseting and higly recomendable. More tan I expected.

von Mahmoud E

Oct 03, 2018

very good .thank you

von Tom B

Nov 12, 2018

Outstanding presentation of the State of Israel's struggle for independence!

von Holly D

Nov 04, 2016

I really enjoyed this honest look at the history of Israel as a country. There's some dirty laundry on display, and a lot of interesting issues to think about. If you are curious about Israel's short and convoluted history, this is a good place to start your studies. (My favourite part was the last debate in week 5! It got a bit fiery...)

My thanks to everyone who made this course possible.

von Jessica B

Jan 06, 2018

W

o

n

d

e

r

f

u

l

von Richard H

Feb 08, 2017

Thank you.

von Bartlomiej R

Oct 14, 2016

I wholeheartedly recommend this course. It was very interesting!

von Huang ( H

Oct 06, 2016

all good

von Sven S

Nov 15, 2017

Very interesting course, I learned a lot and the teachers are great

von Mikolaj R

Nov 05, 2017

I found this course very interesting. It gave me a good background for understnding the complexity of Israeli history, politics and society.

von Antonia T B

May 12, 2018

An excellent course! Great teachers and very interesting interviews. I loved it and learnt a lot. Many thanks and many greetings from Madrid / Antonia

von Orly B

Feb 10, 2018

Very informative course. I would like to have some more detail, i.e. a longer and more profound course. The test are too easy.

von Sebastian G

Sep 02, 2016

A fascinating course, well delivered. I was especially interested in the issues related to the dynamics and development of Israeli society.

von keren K

Dec 05, 2017

Interesting and summerise differet points of view and not taking any side.

von Marcos V M d S

Jun 09, 2018

Excellent course. I learned a lot about Israel's identity, culture and contradictions. In addition, the course clearly addresses the security issues experienced by Israel from its inception to the present day. The current debate on Israeli society about Israel being a Judaic and Democratic state - and what this, in fact means - was a differential in the course. I enjoy every week and lesson.

von Koh, Y H

May 08, 2018

Great course.

von Bryant E

May 10, 2017

Very important course for those who want to learn about Israel

von Romeo T

Jul 10, 2017

Factual Based. Without the bias usually found in course of this subject

von Paul M

Jul 02, 2017

I really enjoyed this course do keep up the good work.

תודה!

von Anastasia X

Feb 28, 2017

This was an amazing and enlightening course. Thank Hebrew University for setting it up in such an all-encompassing manner.