Chevron Left
Zurück zu The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state von Tel Aviv University

4.8
Sterne
276 Bewertungen
72 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course deals with the Israeli politics, economy, society and culture, since its creation in 1948 till today. It analyzes the construction of the Israeli historical narrative as an identity-building narrative, intending to inculcate a collective memory to a diverse society. We will focus on key events and essential components that shaped the Israeli society from the fifties till the present. We will also discuss the changes that the Israeli society experiences in its almost seventy years of existence and how it affects its politics and culture. Among the topics we will discuss issues such as immigration, economic transformation, political upheaval, religious Zionism and post-Zionism, privatization and Americanization, Holocaust increasing role in shaping Israel's identity, diversity and multiculturalism, as well as the enduring conflict with the Palestinians and the Arab world. This course is a direct extension of the first part "The History of Modern Israel: From an Idea to a State", so if you have not yet taken it, we highly recommend you start your learning from there (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel/). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Top-Bewertungen

AJ
29. Okt. 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

RM
22. Juli 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 71 Bewertungen für The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

von Rodrigo S M M

10. Dez. 2020

I want to kindly THANK the tutors for this MASTERFUL course. Admittedly I had some reservations at first about some notion of bias that I feared could permeate the course, yet after having done it I cannot express just how unbiased and critical its content was. As someone who has visited Israel and the Middle East (having loved both the country and the region) I earnestly recommend this as a magnificent course to introduce you to the various issues that shape modern-day politics, culture and society in Israel.

von Maria I F

15. Okt. 2020

I was very happy taking the courses about The Fall and Rise of Jerusalem and The History of Modern Israel part I and part II. The professors and their guests were all of them just great.Now I have a better and wieder view of Israel and its sourrandings and problems.

I just hope I can visit your beautiful and interested country, as I have planned, next year.

Best regards and once again thamk you very much

Maria Isabel Fajardo

von Adan D M T

3. Feb. 2021

it is a really good course with excellent teachers who have a neutral point of view and it is good that they work with facts. It is very interesting all the topics of Israel history, I really recomend you this course.

von Annie J

30. Okt. 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

von Raffaele P

27. Nov. 2020

Thanks to this course I know much better what Israel is, their history, their politics, their social and economic problems. An interesting course, with well-developed and complete topics.

von RUTVIK P M

23. Juli 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

von Beatriz m d

13. Jan. 2021

It has been great to study the 2 parts of the course.Israel is more complex than is discussed here.Adiós profesores.Saludos,Bea.

von Chris N

22. Okt. 2020

Very informative and the discussions give great insights to different aspects of the challenges of a modern jewish state.

von Rico B

7. Sep. 2020

Super interesting course! Loved taking it and I gained lots of new knowledge and perspectives! Thank you so much!!

von Lanshu T

1. Sep. 2020

It provides detailed and valuable insights to know Israel and the conflicts in the Middle East.

von Tom B

11. Nov. 2018

Outstanding presentation of the State of Israel's struggle for independence!

von keren K

5. Dez. 2017

Interesting and summerise differet points of view and not taking any side.

von Romeo T

10. Juli 2017

Factual Based. Without the bias usually found in course of this subject

von Sven S

15. Nov. 2017

Very interesting course, I learned a lot and the teachers are great

von Bartlomiej R

14. Okt. 2016

I wholeheartedly recommend this course. It was very interesting!

von Bryant C E

9. Mai 2017

Very important course for those who want to learn about Israel

von Denise G I

13. März 2019

Excelente curso a respeito da cultura e conflitos israelenses

von Paul M

2. Juli 2017

I really enjoyed this course do keep up the good work.

תודה!

von Ekaterina B

25. Okt. 2020

Good course, learned a lot about nowadays Israel

von Miguel A J M

23. Nov. 2019

Una visión muy objetiva del Israel moderno.

von Marcus B

10. Juli 2020

I love this course and the instructors!

von John K

28. Dez. 2020

Very informative and highly relevant.

von esmeralda a

9. Apr. 2020

really enjoyed course, thank you!

von henry h

16. Aug. 2020

very informative well presented

von Elena K

3. Apr. 2017

Thank you for the course!