Chevron Left
Zurück zu The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State von Tel Aviv University

4.5
Sterne
583 Bewertungen
171 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Top-Bewertungen

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DH

Feb 18, 2018

A very thorough learning experience and really showed how the struggle for a sovereign state for the Jews came about and all the differences which needed to be ironed out.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 170 Bewertungen für The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

von Felipe O

Jul 15, 2019

Very good course!!!

von Denny S

Sep 23, 2019

very informative..

von Lucas M G

Jan 24, 2018

Muito bom o curso.

von Francisco G

Jul 11, 2017

muy buen curso!!!!

von RevFaith C

Sep 12, 2017

Excellent Course.

von Steban N

Jun 05, 2016

Excelent Labour!!

von Romelia V

Jan 07, 2016

Excellent course

von Alexis P

Nov 11, 2016

Very well done!

von Eden H

Dec 27, 2015

Great course!!

von Koh, Y H

May 08, 2018

Great course.

von Tal

May 06, 2017

great course!

von Sarah M

Feb 12, 2016

Useful course

von Ryan S

Jan 04, 2020

well done!

von Walter R K N

Jun 21, 2016

AMAZING!

von BILAL A A

Jul 18, 2017

so hard

von TSR K

May 29, 2019

goodd

von Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

good

von John W B

Jan 16, 2017

I

von Daniela N T

Feb 19, 2016

T

von Saphir B D

Sep 06, 2016

The course was extremely informative and managed to explain complex circumstances very simple.

I highly recommend this course therefore. I was able to learn new things about the history of Israel which were never brought to me like that by history teachers. Great opportunity to broaden knowledge.

Suggestions:

Although the course was very good structured sometimes sophisticated history terms in the context of Israel and Palestine occurred in a video and were explained properly one video later. But because they were explained shortly after and it happened only like three times I would suggest to have a little box with terms like Lechi or Palmach, White Paper from thetime they occur first right beneath every video.

The interviews with the experts of each fields had sometimes an odd audio recording and one person therefore spoke louder then the other and I had to turn my speakers on full volume sometimes. If the course gets rerecorded one day I suggest to look into those samples in particular.

Thanks for this great course.

von Alec K

Nov 12, 2015

I found this course to be very interesting. I took this course simultaneously with the one from UCSD on the Holocaust so they enhanced each other. I especially appreciated having a lecture in which Anita Shapira participated - I had already read 'Israel: A History' so it added an extra dimension to that. A couple of small niggles - a) I think a warning for those that don't speak Hebrew that they need to use the subtitles facility(something I've never used before) b) I think some of the English spellings may be ambiguous when translating from Hebrew because of the special use of vowels.

All in all I enjoyed this and hope you provide more courses relating to the Israeli/Palestinian situation. Many ordinary people are very uninformed and vulnerable to misleading propaganda. Courses like this are vital in informing non-Jews.

von Nikola D

Apr 23, 2018

The professor was great, I really enjoyed listening to him. What I found confusing was the questions on the tests, it didn't seem to me that they reflected the lectures previously given, nor I thought they could measure the level of acquired knowledge.

It would be also nice if professor suggested some literature or, why not, movies and documentaries about certain events mentioned in the lectures, so students can research deeper into the subject and gain better understanding of how modern Israel came to be.

von Sarah E P

Nov 12, 2015

This is a great introduction to Israel and Middle Eastern politics. It's not too tough- everything is broken down into very manageable 7 or 8 minute lessons, so it's easy to acquire a general understanding of the factors that led to the formation of Israel. Students looking for an in-depth examination may be disappointed, but if you're curious about this fascinating and very relevant chapter of history, this course will give you a good overview, and leave you hungry to learn more.

von Rachel K

Aug 21, 2018

This was a very good course and taught me a lot about the creation of the State of Israel. One problem I had was that this course seems to assume you have more background knowledge than I had. I often found myself looking up information on my own because I didn't fully understand the different groups or people that were mentioned.

von Mark W

Nov 18, 2016

An excellent course - as an introduction, it covers the material in a logical way, and presents critical views on actions of parties on all sides. Has whetted my appetite to know more about the history of creation of Israel and to explore particular avenues that couldn't be covered in detail due to introductory nature of course.