Chevron Left
Zurück zu History of Rock, Part Two

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für History of Rock, Part Two von University of Rochester

4.8
Sterne
425 Bewertungen
108 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Top-Bewertungen

SH

29. Sep. 2020

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

AP

12. Feb. 2021

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 109 Bewertungen für History of Rock, Part Two

von Carrie F

3. Juli 2017

So much fun! I grew up in the 80s, so this second half of the class has been like memory lane for me. I'm a teacher on summer vacation, and I can't think of a better way to spend it than learning about rock and roll!

von Patrick W

14. Feb. 2022

Really interesting course especially if you have done part 1. Puts the different styles of popular music into perspective and shows links between styles that you may not have thought of. Presented really engagingly.

von susan.hayday@btinternet.com

30. Sep. 2020

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

von Gustavo N S

26. Dez. 2019

I really enjoy with this course, the topics were very informative and interesting, with a lot of good examples and information about bands, styles and ages. I recommend the course 100%.

von Adithya P

13. Feb. 2021

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

von Ammar M H

19. Dez. 2015

Amazing course, very academic and objective and yet extremely enjoyable. I'm very grateful for coursera an Prof Covach who made it available and easily accessible.

von Ray W

16. Aug. 2018

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

von JR L

2. Juni 2020

This was a fun course and motivates to seek out Part One of the History of Rock. The instructor did a great job to take us on this historical journey.

von Ferdinand P

18. März 2018

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

von Randall L

7. Okt. 2015

Very interesting information. I lived through a lot of this material so it was doubly interesting. Very thorough, unbiased and informative.

von jim t

21. Apr. 2020

this is a great course. i learned a great deal about the history and gained a better understanding of the music i enjoy.

thank you

von Gregg H

24. Juni 2016

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

von Christos N

7. Juli 2020

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

von Saeideh A

10. März 2017

Loved and truly enjoyed this course! I kind of feel sad it ended. Huge thanks to John Covach for his great enthusiasm.

von Shirley K

13. Juli 2020

what a fun course! brought me back to the birth of metal and hair bands . thank you so much for doing this course!!

von Carlos

24. Sep. 2021

It was really fun to know all the faces of Rock and Roll, very interesting and amazing

von Koos J

20. Sep. 2017

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

von Melanie L

1. Dez. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned so much. The professor is excellent.

von Andrew G

29. Aug. 2015

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed the content and the teachers style in delivery.

von Travis W

24. Juli 2017

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

von 동현 김

23. Dez. 2017

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

von Fear A

5. Mai 2017

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!

von Joy S

9. März 2016

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

von Emilio V

3. Feb. 2019

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

von Riffka S

17. Okt. 2021

This was perfect, I strongly recommend this course to everyone!