Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World von Tel Aviv University

4.8
660 Bewertungen
160 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Top-Bewertungen

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 158 Bewertungen für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

von Guilherme B

Feb 16, 2016

Ótimo curso introdutório!

von Shalom E B D

Jan 30, 2019

Excelent!!!

von Yahli K

Feb 27, 2019

Great!

von Phillip H

Mar 16, 2019

This is an excellent class. Professor Dreifuss' lectures were well organized and presented. Being able to hear the lecture and then read the transcript is an excellent learning approach, especially for a poor note taker like me. The topic sequence was logical and led me from the rise of Hitler to the preparation for his final solution. I have read a small number of books on the Holocaust but I found much information that I didn't know I didn't know. I am enrolled in Part II and looking forward to the class. I must also mention the mentor Lilian Zihni. Her critiques of our writing assignments were in many cases detailed additional relevant information.

Most Sincerely, Phil Hawkes Ph.D

von Elizabeth N C

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent and in depth introduction to the Holocaust, explaining much of the background, history, and events of the first part of WWII for European Jews and the years just prior to it. If you have ever asked yourself "How could this horrific event have happened? What were people doing that it wasn't stopped?" then this course is for you. This is a course I think everyone should take so that we truly learn from history.

von Sharath B R C

Jul 21, 2017

Must for everyone who wishes to understand the destructive capabilities of human mind and the bad old days.

von Erika F

Nov 27, 2016

Thank you!

von Vanessa C

Feb 13, 2017

The course lets you access a wide range of resources that help you build a deeper understanding of the mass murder of European Jews. The questions in between videos (lessons) are helpful in processing and synthesizing socio-political events and ideologies that led to the holocaust. Two weeks into the lesson and I have never been bored - it is interesting and engaging.

von D L Z

Mar 23, 2018

Excellent course and really well taught.

von Alisa Z

Jun 03, 2017

Really enjoyed this new information

von Anwita D

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent course, very detailed!

von Vignesh T

Oct 22, 2017

Truly a brilliant course. I recommend this course to anyone who is looking forward to study some topics related to the Jews and Israel.

von Elena K

Mar 11, 2017

One of the best courses! Brief and detailed at the same time, logical and comprehensive, supported with facts, photos, books and videos.

von Angela M B B

Jul 22, 2017

wonderfull

von Erich-Dieter G

Sep 07, 2017

This course was outstanding and was FULL of information that I had never known. Understanding all of the events that led up to the Holocaust helps to make the timing and series of events fall in to place. This course was the best source of information that I have e.

von Sarah M

Feb 12, 2016

Very good course.

von Krista M

Dec 11, 2016

Even if you know a lot about this period of history, this course is useful. The thoughtful and thorough context, the quality of the material and teaching, were excellent.

von Maria I R E

May 06, 2016

Great Experience!! well explained I am loving this course and I am learning a lot

von Debbie S

May 25, 2017

Very clearly explained.

von michael l

Mar 14, 2016

have stayed away from this dark chapter in history. could never understand how the Nazis were able to pull it off - c0ntrol of Europe that is - in such a short timeframe. this course helps in that understanding. \No suggestions.......

von Avel D

Mar 01, 2016

Thanks. This is a heartwarming course, with detailed history of the tragic events of The Holocaust. If you're interested about the Holocaust this is course is a essential course to take. We often and briefly touch upon the horror of the holocaust and the anti-Semitism of our world history. To touch upon the history is not enough the we need to see human experience and suffering at experiential level, and as I see it this course does this. Thanks, for your eloquent research.

von Myra M

Mar 25, 2016

This is an interesting course that gives so much information about not only the Holocaust itself but what led up to it. Fascinating!

von María F O P

Jun 02, 2017

It was an excellent course, which helped me to get a better understanding about the Holocaust.

von Konstantin N

Apr 24, 2017

!!!!

von Ray M

Dec 06, 2016

This course, The Holocaust - An Introduction (l).... was an in depth study of the situation the Jews were facing in most of Europe after the Nazis came into power. The instructors were knowledgeable and came across as having personal feelings about the plight of the Jews during that time. I am very impressed with them and their ability to pass on the information that they did in such a way that it was very understandable while demonstrating their indepth knowledge of the material. Thank you. I come away from the course with a deeper understanding of the problems and horrible life style the Jews had to face.