Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World von Tel Aviv University

4.8
642 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Top-Bewertungen

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 152 Bewertungen für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

von Caroline P

Jun 02, 2017

I love this class and cant wait to begin part 2

von Pranab B

Jun 14, 2017

I always week when I read or study about the Holocaust but I am happy it got over once for all. Learned so much about how the world shunned them away into darkness. Thank you.

von María F O P

Jun 02, 2017

It was an excellent course, which helped me to get a better understanding about the Holocaust.

von Ricardo P M A

Sep 26, 2017

Excelente curso. Las referencias, los datos, los testimonios, extraordinaria profesora. Un curso totalmente profesional.

von Gemma R

May 23, 2018

Essential course for everyone who is learning about the Holocaust.

von María J U

Jun 29, 2018

This is an excellent course, which provides the students with interesting and profound analysis of Jewish life before, during and after the Holocaust. What I liked the most, is that each part of the course is viewed in a unique perspective, so it provides a wide range of possibilities of how to approach the different aspects of this terrible time in human history. The discussion prompts encourage the exchange of ideas and are guided by excellent mentors with deep knowledge of the Jewish life, Nazi Germany and the Holocaust.

von Ute S

Jan 17, 2018

This course exceeded all my expectations. I was most impressed by the relevant historical analyses and contexts provided as well as the depth and breadth of sources considered. It was illuminating to learn more about how Jews in the other, Nazi-occupied countries were treated and why this differed. I have a much better understanding now, of what happened. I am very thankful for the disciplined methodology of analysis and understanding that the historians from the University of Tel Aviv demonstrated in this course. I am greatly looking forward to part 2! And now, maybe, I'll have the courage to finally visit the Holocaust Memorial Center here in Cape Town...

von Mudassir A

Dec 05, 2016

much needed

von T.Jagalal R S

Dec 21, 2016

The course was presented without. any prejudice.

The wrong doers were not blamed but the humanity as a whole is responsible for the holocaust. The course has very sublimely indicated that the humanity must protect itself from such a holocaust n the future.. One should be cautitous that our fellow human being is not treated inhumanly. the fellowhumanbeing may be yourself!

I am very grateful to educate me to be a good human being to one and all. Dont be discriminative. Respect one's own religion, culture, language, customs and belief. T.Jagalal Ram Sait

von Simone Z

Mar 13, 2018

V

e

r

y

i

n

t

e

r

e

s

t

i

n

g

,

w

e

l

l

r

e

s

e

a

r

c

h

e

d

,

w

e

l

l

presented.

von Elvira G

Nov 21, 2016

Excelent course, with many examples and photos and films, congratulations

von Peter K

Jan 26, 2017

A

von Jordan H

Jan 10, 2018

Very good and the professor knew her topic very well.

von Dietmar K

Dec 28, 2017

C

von Michael L

Jul 02, 2018

Outstanding course! Deeply informative, with excellent lectures.

von Muhammad Z B A M

Feb 27, 2016

Insightful and In-depth introductory of the events leading to the catastrophic events of holocausts coupled with engaging quiz. Additional reading supplements were great as well. Recommended

von Gerlane G O

Jan 15, 2017

Very interesting! With clear and dynamic language, allied to visual resources and relevant readings, we learn more about this tragic and important period of our History. Highly recommend!

von Sheila T

Sep 07, 2017

Loved this class, so interesting and having so many different people to listen to was great.

von Kevin H

Oct 17, 2017

Not having studied much about the Holocaust, but knowing about it, I had questions I've wondered about. This course answers many of those questions, corrects misinformation I've heard or read over the last few decades, and then adds additional questions to my unanswered questions just in time, i.e., at the starting of "The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution." Certainly, after knowing many, many, people in many countries across the world have devoted their life to studying the Holocaust, no one realistically expects quality, nor a simplistic "answer" to the Holocaust in a three week course?

von Домрачев Е В

Dec 22, 2017

meow

von Alessandro R C

Mar 13, 2018

I thank the teacher for her clear explanations and indication of deep material on the subject. This is an excellent course !.

von Fion S

Sep 08, 2016

The lecturers are fantastic in explaining the details and information. Really loved it right from the start of the video lectures.

von Mei-Ling F

Jan 07, 2017

Pretty amazing course that flipped my cognition towards Nazi and Holocaust!

von David H

Aug 26, 2017

This course is a must for the beginner as well as seasoned learners. Having a good understanding and knowledge of the WWII and separately concerning the Holocaust it's a well presented representation of understanding what was happening and why. So many questions can be answered. Well done and look forward to Part Two.

von ROBIN H

Jun 24, 2017

thank you for taking the time to teach me all of the factual events leading up to the worst crime ever in the history of bullys and war lords predjuice and mean single minded people should be so lucky to enjoy the same level of treatment afforded to the Jewish comunnities .for many lifetimes to come.